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Office of Legislative Auditor

Executive Summary

Performance Audit
Implementation of the Minimum Fee in the
State's Medical Centers

Act 893 of 1991 requires state medical centers (formerly charity
hospitals) to collect a $3.50 fee from patients who are not medically needy or
medically indigent. However, the fee is not being collected. Our study of the
Louisiana Health Care Authority's proposed implementation of the minimum
fee revealed the following:

* Ambiguities within Act 893 of 1991 may have contributed to the
Authority's implementation plan being inconsistent with legislative
requirements. The Authority interpreted the act by:

* classifying the minimum fee as payment on account when the
act says a charge in addition to charges for services received;

including exempt patient groups and excluding non-exempt
patient groups in its revenue estimate; and

providing that medical centers collect the fee at the time of
service when the act does not specify when the fee should be
collected.

Unless the Authority's policy which limits the amount to be charged
to patients eligible to pay the fee is amended, the minimum fee will
generate no additional revenue.

Anticipated revenue from the minimum fee could negatively affect
federal disproportionate share payments.

Data used to estimate revenue from the minimum fee could not be
verified.

The Authority's estimated costs are based upon the presumption that
the fee must be collected at the time of service.

Daniel G. Kyle, Ph.D., CPA, Legislative Auditor
Phone No. (504) 339-3800
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This audit of the implementation of the minimum fee in
the state's medical centers, formerly referred to as charity
hospitals, was conducted by the Performance Audit Division of
the Office of Legislative Auditor. The audit objectives were:

+ How did the Louisiana Health Care Authority develop
the cost and revenue projections associated with
implementing the minimum fee?

+ Is collecting the minimum fee feasible?

+ Will the minimum fee impact other facets of the state
medical center system?

The Authority's interpretation of the minimum fee as
"payment on account" rather than as a “service charge" will not
generate new revenue to the state's medical centers. The
estimates developed by the Authority are not estimates of
revenue, but are estimates of "downpayments.” If classified as a
service charge, the minimum fee will generate new revenue to the
medical centers because it will be collected in addition to charges
for services rendered. (pages 9-10)

We recommended that the Authority classify the minimum
fee as a service charge as required by Act 893 of 1991.

Summary of Agency Response

The Authority did not concur with our interpretation of
Act 863 of 1991. The Authority responded that new revenues
would be generated regardless because the rules extend a
minimum fee (paid at the time of service) to those who owe
nothing under the Liability Limitation Policy and to those who
often do not fully pay bills owed.

Auditors' Comments

Paragraph A of Act 893 of 1991 (The Minimum Fee Act)
exempts free care (medically indigent) patients from paying the
minimum fee. Collecting $3.50 of an amount already due to the
hospitals from patients who pay part of their care does not
constitute new revenue.
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The minimum fee, classified as a service charge, couid
reduce the Medicaid disproportionate share payments. With
nearly 88 percent of the system's budget coming from Medicaid,
the Authority's medical centers have grown dependent on
Medicaid funding. (pages 11-14)

We recommended that the Authority seek the assistance of
the Department of Health and Hospitals to identify the possible
short- and long-term effects of the minimum fee on
disproportionate share payments and show these effects in its
fiscal impact statement,

Summary of Agency Response

The Authority was in full agreement with this
recommendation.

The Minimum Fee Act contains ambiguities which may
have contributed to the Authority's interpretation of the act. The
act requires the fee to be charged for any treatment or service
rendered. However, the act does not state when the fee should
be collected and is unclear on who should be charged or
exempted from the fee. (pages 14-15)

The Authority interprets "service units" as outpatient
visits to clinics and emergency rooms. By excluding inpatient
and other services, this interpretation limits revenue from the
minimum fee and may exercise more discretion than the law
intended. (page 15)

The act provides an exemption for those who are "totally
without funds." Based on the presumption that the minimum fee
should be collected at the time of service, the Authority interprets
totally without funds to mean if a patient comes for services and
says he or she does not have the $3.50 fee, the patient is
considered totally without funds and the fee waived. The
Authority estimates 75 percent of those eligible to pay the fee
would use this exemption. However, the Authority could offer
no empirical basis for this estimate. (pages 16-17)

Also, the Authority intends to charge the minimum fee to
free care patients, when the act exempts this patient group. A
new policy for determining free care eligibility has increased the
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number of free care patients, thereby reducing the number of
patients eligible to pay the fee. (pages 18-19)

We recommended that the Authority expand the definition
of a "service unit” and examine all services provided by the
medical centers to identify areas where the minimum fee could be
assessed to comply with the intent of Act 893 of 1991.

Summary of Agency Response

The Authority responded that it understood the intent of
Act 893 of 1991 was to address outpatient utilization. Authority
officials said to expand the meaning of "service units” by the
Authority would require changing the law or legislative
clarification.

|
Matter for Legislative Consideration 2.1

The legislature may wish to consider amending
LSA-R.S. 46:6(B) to clarify "service units" and "totally
without funds" and state whether the fee is to be collected at
the time of service.

The Authority proposed other exemptions which are not
allowed by the act. Those exemptions include the following:

1. Insured patients were exempted because insurance
paid for some or all of their care;

2. Emergency room patients in an emergent condition
were exempted because of the inhumanity of
collecting the fee at this time;

3. Visits to clinics not staffed by a physician were
exempted because these clinics are preventative in
nature. We acknowledged that not imposing a fee in
this situation might encourage preventative care, thus
curtailing costly acute care in the future.

4. All obstetric and pediatric clinic visits were
exempted because patients seen in these clinics are
primarily Medicaid patients. (pages 19-21)



Page xii Performance Audit of Implementation of the Minimum Fee in the State's Medical Centers

|
Policy Must
Be Amended
to Receive
Additional
Revenue

We recommended that the Authority submit a revised
Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement reflecting the patient
groups which can be charged the minimum fee.

Summary of Agency Response

The Authority responded that its draft rule merely
proposes exemptions that the legislature is free to reject.

|
Matter for Legislative Consideration 2.2

The legislature may wish to consider amending
LSA-R.S. 46:6 to specify all exemptions to the minimum fee
including those which encourage preventative care.

Unless the policy which limits individual liability for
receipt of state subsidized medical care is amended, the minimum
fee will generate no additional revenue to the state medical
centers. The Liability Limitation Policy was implemented
January 1, 1992. This policy currently limits the amount to be
charged to those uninsured and underinsured family units whose
incomes exceed 200 percent of federal poverty income
guidelines. Thus, with or without the minimum fee, affected
family units pay the same predetermined amount annually.

(pages 21-22)

We recommended, to effectively implement the minimum
fee, the Authority should assess the impact of the minimum fee
and this policy on each other prior to amending the Liability
Limitation Policy in order {0 generate additional revenue.

Summary of Agency Response

The Authority responded, under its interpretation of the
act, the Liability Limitation Policy has no bearing on who owes
the minimum fee. The Authority intends to request the fee from
both patients receiving free care and those who pay for part of
their care.
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The data used by the Authority to estimate revenue from
the minimum fee could not be verified as accurate and, in some
instances, was incomplete. Because this data could not be
reconciled by the Authority or by us, we cannot determine how
much revenue the minimum fee will generate. (pages 23-24)

We recommended that the Authority, after expanding its
definition of "service units," identify all services rendered to
patients eligible to pay the minimum fee and base its revenue
estimate on these services to comply with Act 893 of 1991.

Summary of Agency Response

The Authority responded that work is under way to
improve its databases. However, Authority officials say it is not
possible to obtain empirical evidence of the number of individuals
who will avail themselves of the waiver provisions of the act.

Although the Minimum Fee Act does not specify when the
minimum fee should be collected, the Authority presumes the fee
should be collected at the time of service. Based on this
presumption, the Authority has estimated costs of $1,640,449 to
collect the minimum fee. While this amount is supposed to
include 89 collections positions and 9 accounting positions, we
found this estimate to be mathematically incorrect. More
importantly, with a programming change, the Authority could
bill each patient who is eligible to pay the minimum fee through
its billing system along with any other medical charges incurred,
thus saving personnel costs. (pages 25-27)

We recommended that the Authority:

* implement the programming changes necessary to treat
the minimum fee as a service charge as required by
Act 893 of 1991, and

* revise the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement to
show the costs to be incurred by these programming
changes.
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Summary of Agency Response

The Authority responded that this recommendation is
based upon an interpretation of Act 893 of 1991 with which it
does not agree. Authority officials say if this audit's
interpretation of the act is determined to reflect legislative intent,
the Authority would agree with this recommendation.



Glossary

Categorically A group of Medicaid recipients which includes those who receive
Needy Aid to Families With Dependent Children {AFDC) or
Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Federal law mandates
Medicaid coverage of this group.
Disproportionate  Additional payments by Medicaid to hospitals servicing a large
Share Payments  percentage of the indigent patients.

Indigent A person or family unit whose annual gross income is equal to or
less than 200 percent of federal poverty income guidelines. (See
medically indigent.)

Louisiana Health A political subdivision of the state charged with providing health

Care Authority

Medicaid

Medically
Indigent

Medically Needy

and medical services to the indigent citizens of Louisiana through
the state's medical center system.

A state and federal funded entitlement program that pays for
medical services on behalf of certain groups of low-income
individuals. For fiscal year 91-92, the funding percentages were
federal government, 75 percent; state, 25 percent.

A resident of the State of Louisiana whose family unit size and
gross income is equal to or less than 200 percent of the Federal
Poverty Income Guidelines for that size family unit rounded up
to the nearest thousand dollars. (See indigent.)

A group of Medicaid recipients who meet the categorically needy
criteria, except their income and resources exceed the amount
allowed to the categorically needy. Their income and resources
cover their daily expenses, but are insufficient to meet the costs
of necessary medical care. States have the option of covering
this group under Medicaid.
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Chapter One: Introduction

Although legislation was passed in 1991 requiring

Study collection of a $3.50 minimum fee at all state medical centers
Initiation (formerly known as charity hospitals), the Louisiana Health Care
and Authority has not begun collecting the fee. Act 893 of 1991

requires the Department of Health and Hospitals or its successor
agency (Louisiana Health Care Authority) to promulgate rules
implementing the fee in accordance with the Administrative
Procedures Act. The Administrative Procedures Act requires
agencies to publish a notice of intent 90 days prior to
implementing rules operationalizing laws.

Objectives

The notice of intent must include a fiscal impact statement
approved by the Legislative Fiscal Office. Legislative Fiscal
Office staff have not approved the Authority's fiscal impact
statement due to the disclosure that projected implementation
costs exceed anticipated revenues.

As a result, the Legislative Audit Advisory Council
authorized the Legislative Auditor to assess the feasibility of
collecting a minimum fee from clients at the state's medical
centers. In particular, the council was interested in verifying
statements made by medical center administrators that the cost to
implement the minimum fee would exceed the revenue generated.
As part of our audit effort, we addressed the following questions:

+ How did the Louisiana Health Care Authority develop
the cost and revenue projections associated with
implementing the minimum fee?

+ Is collecting the minimum fee feasible?

+ Will the minimum fee impact other facets of the state
medical center system?
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The Louisiana Health Care Authority's proposed
implementation of the $3.50 minimum fee is inconsistent with
the requirements of Act 893 of 1991. The Authority has
interpreted the act by providing that:

¢ patients eligible for free care pay the $3.50
minimum fee when the statute exempts this group
of patients;

+ the minimum fee be classified as a "payment on
account” when the act states a "charge” in addition
to medical charges incurred; and

+ the medical centers collect the fee at the time of
service when the act does not specify when the fee
should be collected.

The Authority chose to include some patient groups in
its revenue estimate while exempting some patient groups not
allowed by the act. No additional revenue will be received
from patients eligible to pay the fee unless a policy limiting
their liability for medical care is amended. In addition,
patient visit data could not be verified. The costs to collect
the minimum fee are dependent upon the presumption that
the fee must be collected at the time of service.

If the minimum fee is implemented as a service charge,
anticipated revenues could negatively affect federal
disproportionate share reimbursements to individual medical
centers.

Access to health care is a historic right in Louisiana.
Louisiana is unique in that the state provides health care for all
individuals who need it whether they can pay or not. Since 1813,
the State of Louisiana has operated a charity hospital system to
provide adequate health care to its medically indigent residents.
Over the last 66 years, determining what constitutes medical
indigency has generated considerable legislative interest.

Act 62 of the 1926 Regular Session enacted Louisiana
Revised Statute (LSA-R.S.) 46:6, which statutorily limited
admission for treatment at state charity hospitals to persons
deemed "poor and destitute.” Patients considered poor and
destitute received health care free of charge. Anyone found
guilty of fraudulently obtaining free care could be fined or jailed.
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Later, Act 534 of the 1975 Regular Session amended the
statute to allow treatment of persons who were poor and destitute
or "medically indigent" (historically interpreted to mean any
patient whose family unit size and gross income is equal to or
less than state eligibility income standards) at the state's charity
hospitals. Also, the provision for penalties was removed.

During the 1975 Regular Session, Senate Concurrent
Resolution No. 47 directed a study of the feasibility of expanding
the state Medicaid Program to include a medically needy
program, as defined in Title XIX of the Social Security Act.
According to the resolution, this program would be designed to
serve those individuals who had sufficient income to meet their
daily needs but not their medical expenses.

To participate in the medically needy program, an
individual's income would have to lie between 100 percent and
133 1/3 percent of the eligibility levels for Aid to Families With
Dependent Children (AFDC). As described in the concurrent
resolution, the additional Title XIX monies received by
implementing this program could improve health services to the
marginally poor and stimulate the state's economy. The
medically needy program made some medically indigent persons
eligible for Medicaid while the state subsidized care for the
remaining medically indigent persons.

In order to ensure federal matching funds for the state's
public assistance programs, LSA-R.S. 46:443 required the
Louisiana Health and Human Resources Administration (now the
Department of Health and Hospitals and the Department of Social
Services) to conform income and resources exemption policies
with federal eligibility determination standards. In addition, this
statute specifies that such income and resources exemption
policies prevail in the event they conflicted with other specified
state laws governing eligibility requirements for public assistance.

Act 669 of 1977 further amended the statute limiting
admissions to state hospitals to allow treatment of any resident of
the state. However, those who were determined not to be
medically indigent or medically needy were to be admitted on a
space available basis and reasonably charged for treatment or
services received. This included those who were not eligible for
Medicaid or free care, but were billed for services received. The
state's medical centers cannot deny emergency treatment to
anyone.
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Ten years ago, an effort was made to collect payments
from patients ineligible for state subsidized care. Specifically, in
March 1983, the Department of Health and Human Resources,
Office of Hospitals, then the state medical centers' oversight
agency, instituted a policy to collect $10 for each emergency
room visit and $5 for each clinic visit from patients who were
not eligible for free care and had no third party payor, for
example, insurance or Medicaid. The payment was applied to
the patient's total bill for services.

Patients who did not pay were given self-addressed
envelopes to remit the $5 or $10 owed or asked to sign a
promissory note for the amount of services rendered. As a result
of state budget reductions and state medical center staff
reorganizations, this effort was discontinued.

In 1991, the statute limiting admissions to state medical
centers was once again amended by Act 893 of 1991 (referred to
in this report as the Minimum Fee Act) to require a minimum fee
of $3.50 for services rendered in addition to the fees and charges
for medical care. Pertinent parts of the amended statute read as
follows:

. . . Those persons who are determined not
to be medically indigent or medically needy
shall be charged a minimum fee of three
dollars and fifty cents for any treatment or
service rendered; and further shall be
charged on a sliding-scale . . .

LSA-R.S. 46:6(A)
The statute goes on to say:

In addition to any schedule of fees or
charges established by the Department of
Health and Human Resources . . . there
shall be charged a minimum fee of three
dollars and fifty cents per service unit to
every patient who is rendered services or
treatment at that hospital, except that such
fee may be waived for a patient who is
totally without funds or if the imposition of
such a fee would violate federal law or
regulations relative to Medicaid or
Medicare.

LSA-R.S. 46:6(B)
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The Department of Health and Hospitals operated the
state's medical center system until January 1, 1992, when Act
390 of 1991 turned this function over to the Louisiana Health
Care Authority. This act requires the Louisiana Health Care
Authority to annually enter into a service agreement with the
Department of Health and Hospitals.

The service agreement emphasizes the provision of
medical care to the medically indigent and uninsured citizens of
Louisiana and reaffirms that providing such care is one of the
primary purposes of the Authority. The Department of Health
and Hospitals maintains programmatic responsibility. In the first
annual service agreement for fiscal year 1992, the Louisiana
Health Care Authority is charged with the responsibility of
implementing the minimum fee. However, the Authority has not
begun collecting the minimum fee because its notice of intent has
not been approved by the Legislative Fiscal Office.

Today, the Louisiana Health Care Authority medical
centers not only provide inpatient care, but also provide
outpatient care through the clinics and emergency rooms operated
at the various medical centers.

Because the Authority's medical centers provide medical
care to a primarily medically indigent population, Louisiana
receives significant Medicaid reimbursements from the federal
government to help pay for this indigent care. These significant
reimbursements, or disproportionate share payments, are intended
to provide additional funds to individual medical centers which
service a large percentage of indigent patients.

For fiscal year 1992-93, the Authority's medical centers
were budgeted to receive over $392 million, or almost 97
percent, of its $405 million budget from Medicaid and Medicare
with the remaining 3 percent coming from fees and self-generated
revenues. No state general fund money was budgeted to these
medical centers for fiscal year 1992-93.

This audit was conducted under the provisions of Title 24
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. All
performance audits are conducted in accordance with generally
accepted government auditing standards as promulgated by the
Comptroller General of the United States, with the limitations
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noted below. Preliminary audit work began in August 1992, and
fieldwork was completed in December 1992,

We obtained data from the Louisiana Health Care
Authority on the number of clinic and emergency room visits to
the state's nine medical centers identified for fiscal years 1984
through 1992. However, we only examined data from fiscal
years 1991 and 1992 and this data could not be verified as
accurate because the billing system is not useful as a management
information system. Consequently, we could not estimate the
amount of revenue to be generated by the minimum fee.

Because of time constraints and limited staff resources, we
made limited tests to assess the reliability of the Authority's
computer-generated data. We tested the reliability of reported
summary data for outpatient visits to the clinics and emergency
rooms, the services for which the Authority will charge the
minimum fee. The tests consisted of comparing computer-
generated information with patient visit data obtained by the
Authority from the nine state medical centers.

Documentation was requested and obtained from the
Authority regarding its assumptions and calculations used to
develop the proposed rule for implementation. We analyzed this
documentation and verified the calculations. Later, we obtained
a memorandum from the Authority clarifying the analysis for
assumptions and methodologies used in developing its proposed
rule to implement the minimum fee.

Interviews were conducted of':

+ Officials at the Louisiana Health Care Authority and
the Department of Health and Hospitals regarding fee
implementation, its impact on hospital operations, and
federal reimbursement monies.

+ Administrative staff at Medical Center of Louisiana at
New Orleans and Earl K. Long Medical Center at
Baton Rouge.

* Legislative Fiscal Office, federal Health Care
Financing Administration, and Senate budget staff to
determine (1) the feasibility of assessing fees on state
medical center free care and Medicaid populations and
(2) the impact of such fees on federal Medicaid
reimbursement.

We observed eligibility screening at Earl K. Long Medical
Center at Baton Rouge and Medical Center of Louisiana at New
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Orleans. Current literature relating to cost-sharing strategies for
public hospitals servicing low to moderate income populations
was analyzed.

Regarding clarification of exemption requirements to the
minimum fee found in Act 893 of 1991, we requested the
assistance of the General Counsel to the Legislative Auditor. We
reviewed relevant state and federal legislation on Medicaid/
Medicare and state eligibility determination policies and
procedures regarding individual cost liability for receipt of health
care services at a state medical center. We also examined the
effect of revenue generated from the minimum fee on federal
Medicaid disproportionate share payments to individual medical
centers.

The remainder of this report is organized into two
additional chapters.

+ Chapter Two addresses how the Authority developed
the estimate of revenue to be generated by the
minimum fee.

+ Chapter Three addresses how the Authority
developed the estimate of costs associated with
implementing the minimum fee.

Authority officials were given an opportunity to provide a
written response to this report. The Authority's response has
been inserted in the appropriate text of this report and is
reproduced in Appendix A.
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Chapter Two: Estimate of Revenue

The Louisiana Health Care Authority's revenue

Chapt-er estimating methodology contained weaknesses. Primarily, the
Conclusions Authority has interpreted the minimum fee as "payment on
account" as opposed to a "service charge,” as required by the
Minimum Fee Act. Thus, the minimum fee will generate no
new revenue to the state hospital system. The Authority also
presumed the act required the fee to be collected at the time
of service. The act does not state when the fee is to be
collected.

Some parts of the Minimum Fee Act are ambiguous or
conflicting. This may have contributed to the Authority's
interpretation of the act. The Authority chose to include
exempted patient visits in its revenue estimate. In addition,
the Authority proposed exempting some groups not statutorily
allowed in the act. Also, the policy which governs free care
eligibility and sets medical care liability was amended while
the Authority was developing its revenue estimate. As a
result, fewer patients are eligible to pay the minimum fee.
Further, the minimum fee will generate no additional revenue
unless this policy is amended.

I The Authority has interpreted the minimum fee as
No Increased "payment on account" rather than as a "service charge," as
Revenue to provided in Act 893 of 1991 Minimum Fee Act). The Minimum

Medical Centers Fee Act requires the $3.50 fee to be charged to those not eligible
for free care or other public assistance in addition to charges
incurred for medical services received. Thus, if implemented as
interpreted by the Authority, the $3.50 minimum fee would
generate no additional revenue.

Exhibit I on the following page shows the impact of the
minimum fee on hospital revenue when treated as a service
charge and then as payment on account.
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Exhibit I

Comparison of Minimum Fee's Effects on
Hospital Revenue When Classified as a
Service Charge or as Payment on Account

Asa Asa
Service |Payment on
Charge Account

Minimum Fee - - - - $3.50 $3.50
Balance Due From

Patient - - - - - - - - 35.00 31.50
Total Charges $38.50 $35.00

Source: Prepared by Legislative Auditor's staff

Exhibit I shows that the amount due from the patient
would increase with the minimum fee classified as a service
charge, rather than as a payment on account. As a payment on
account, the patient pays an initial $3.50 and is later billed for
the remaining $31.50. Therefore, the Authority's revenue
estimates are not estimates of new revenue, but rather reflect
estimates of partial payments. In effect, the hospital would be
collecting "downpayments,” not "additional charges."

Recommendation Number 1

The Louisiana Health Care Authority should classify
the minimum fee as a service charge as required by Act 893
of 1991.

Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

While acknowledging the ambiguity of Act 893, the
Authority disagrees with the Legislative Auditor's interpretation
with regard to (1) whom the legislature intended should pay the
minimum fee, (2) when the legislature intended that the fee
should be collected, and (3) what constitutes a "minimum fee"
under the Act. The implementation approach incorporated into
the draft LHCA Rules does not require classification of the
minimum fee as a "service charge”. The Rules will generate new
revenues regardless, because they extend a minimum fee, paid at
the time of service, to those who now owe nothing under the
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liability limitation policy and to those who often do not fully pay
bills owed.

Auditors' Comments

Paragraph A of Act 893 of 1991 (The Minimum Fee Act)
exempts free care (medically indigent) patients from paying the
minimum fee. Collecting $3.50 of an amount already due to the
hospitals from patients who pay part of their care does not
constitute new revenue.

Additional money generated by the minimum fee could be
partially offset by reduced federal payments. Authority officials
determined that collecting this additional self-generated revenue
could result in a reduction in federal funding. This reduction
would occur in the "disproportionate share payments" to the
state's medical centers. Disproportionate share payments are
additional payments to hospitals that serve a large percentage of
indigent patients.

Over the last four fiscal years, the Authority's medical
center system has grown dependent on Medicaid funding. The
amount of Medicaid funding has nearly tripled from
$121,958,624 in fiscal year 1990 to $356,273,589 in fiscal year
1993. Exhibit IT illustrates this growing dependency.

Exhibit IT
Funding Sources for FY 89-90 Through FY 92-93
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Source: Annual Executive Budgets
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In fiscal year 1990, Medicaid was approximately 41
percent of the state's hospital system's budget, while slightly
more than 42 percent of the budget was from the state general
fund. The remaining 17 percent was from payments by patients,
insurance companies, Medicare, and other third party payors.
For fiscal year 1993, Medicaid alone is nearly 88 percent of the
hospital system's budget, while none of the budget is financed
through the state general fund. The remaining 12 percent is from
payments by patients, insurance companies, Medicare, and other
third party payors.

This significant increase in Medicaid funding is due to
disproportionate share payments. Louisiana's statewide hospital
system is designed to provide health care to the state's indigent
citizens. As a result of state medical centers providing health
care services to a large percentage of low-income patients, the
state medical centers qualify for significant disproportionate share
payments. Any amounts of disproportionate share payments
received which exceed the amounts the medical centers are
statutorily allowed to keep is transferred to the Department of
Health and Hospitals to cover any shortfall in the Medical
Vendor Payments Program.

The minimum fee, classified as a service charge, would
enter into the calculation of the disproportionate share
reimbursement as part of total hospital revenue. An example of
this calculation is shown in Exhibit III on the next page. Since
the total hospital revenue (which includes revenue from minimum
fee) is in the denominator of the formula, any increase in
self-generated revenue without a corresponding increase in
Medicaid charges reduces the ratio. Thus, the disproportionate
share rate is reduced, and when this rate is multiplied by the
Medicaid inpatient revenue, the disproportionate share payment
decreases.

Exhibit IIT shows the effects on hospital revenue if the
minimum fee was to generate $35,000 to the hospital. Assuming
the medical centers are able to collect 100 percent of the fees
from patients, the example shows some gain in revenue. Overall
hospital revenue only increases $22,931, because $12,069 of
disproportionate share payments is lost. However, this example
shows a need on the part of the Authority to fully identify in
fiscal impact statements potential federal revenue to be lost
resulting from the imposition of the minimum fee.
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Exhibit 1T
Calculation of Disproportionate Share Payments
Example
Sample Hospital
With $35,000 From
Without Minimum Fee Minimum Fee
Free Care Charges -
Inpatient . . ... $415,566 = 3.78% $415,566 = 3.78%
Total Inpatient
Charges ... .. $10,998,970 $10,998,970
Medicaid Revenue
(In & Outpatient) $9,321,736 = 44.04%| $9,321,736 = 43.97%
Total Hospital
Revenue ... .. $21,164,963 $21,199,963
Sum of Ratios . . .......... 47.82%. .. ... ... 47.75%
Less25% . ... .o ... -25%| . ... ... - 25%
Difference . . ... .......... 22.82%| ........ 22.75%
Standard Multiplier .. ... .. .. X3 ........ X3
Disproportionate Share Rate . . . 68.46%|. ........ 68.25%
X X
Medicaid Inpatient Revenue . . .. $5,628,821f. . ... .. .. $5,628,821
Disproportionate Share
Payment ... ........... $3,853,739). .. . ... .. $3,841,670
Added to Total Hospital Revenue . . $21,164,963|. . . .. .. .. $21,199,963
Adjusted Hospital Revenue . . . . . $25,018,702). . . ... ... $25,041,633
Net Increased Revenue After $35,000 From Minimum Fee $22,931

Source: Example obtained from Department of Health and Hospitals and modified by Legislative Auditor's staff to
show possible effects of minimum fee on federal revenue.
Note:  Method of calculating disproportionate share payments in effect as of December 31, 1992.
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Recommendation Number 2

The Louisiana Health Care Authority should, with the
assistance of the Department of Health and Hospitals, identify
the effects of the minimum fee on disproportionate share
payments in its fiscal impact statement.

Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

The Authority is in full agreement with this
recommendation.

The Minimum Fee Act contains ambiguities which may
have contributed to the Authority's interpretation of the act. The
Authority's revenue estimate is based on the interpretations. The
act does not state when the fee should be collected, nor is it easy
to determine who should be charged or exempted from the fee.
As a result, the Authority included exempted free care patients in
its revenue estimates while excluding some patients who could be
charged the fee. In addition to the Authority's interpretation of
the minimum fee as payment on account, subsequent changes in
free care eligibility requirements make the Authority’s revenue
estimate questionable.

Paragraph A of the act says, in part;

. . . those persons who are determined not to be
medically indigent or medically needy shall be
charged a minimum fee of three dollars and fifty
cents for any treatment or service rendered; and
further charged on a sliding-scale . . .

Paragraph B of the act says, in part:

In addition to any schedule of fees or charges . . .
there shall be charged a minimum fee of three
dollars and fifty cents per service unit to every
patient who is rendered services or treatment at
that hospital, except that such fee may be waived
for a patient who is totally without funds or if the
imposition of such a fee would violate federal law
or regulations relative to Medicaid or Medicare.
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The Authority based its interpretation of who pays the
minimum fee on Paragraph B. Thus, the Authority plans to
charge patient groups which are exempt from the fee while
exempting some patient groups which can pay the minimum fee
in its revenue estimate.

Service Units

The Minimum Fee Act says, "there shall be charged a
minimum fee of three dollars and fifty cents per service unit."
The Authority defined "service units" as outpatient visits to the
clinics and emergency rooms at the medical centers, thereby
excluding all inpatient and other services. Thus, by excluding
inpatient and other medical services from paying the minimum
fee, the Authority has limited the amount of revenue to be
generated by the fee and may be exercising more discretion than
the law intended.

In addition, the Authority exempted second and
subsequent visits to outpatient clinics and emergency rooms in the
same calendar day. While the Authority views the minimum fee
as implementing legislative intent by being a "deterrent to
overutilization of clinic services," the Authority chose to exempt
second and subsequent visits to clinics and emergency rooms in
the same calendar day. The basis for exempting these visits was
that "such a practice would impose an unintended hardship in
some cases.” These statements are contradictory.

Further, the number of second and subsequent visits in the
same day could not be identified by the Authority. When
estimating revenue from the minimum fee, they estimated one
percent of all visits to the outpatient clinics are by patients who
may have more than one visit scheduled on the same day. The
Authority could give no support for this estimate, but made it to
allow for such occurrences.

Recommendation Number 3

The Louisiana Health Care Authority should expand
its definition of a "service unit" and examine all services
provided by the medical centers to identify areas where the
minimum fee could be assessed to comply with the intent of
Act 893 of 1991.
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Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

Since the Authority understood that the intent of Act 893
was to address outpatient utilization, the outpatient visit was
used as the service unit. However, in the context of an acute
care hospital, the concept of a "service unit" could be applied to
an exceedingly broad range of activities, including major services
sich as surgeries, ancillary services such as lab tests, and a wide
variety of nursing care and other services. A single patient
would receive many such services in a single episode of
treatment. Expansion of the meaning of "service units" by the
Authority would require a change in law or a clarification of
intent by the Legislature.

Totally Without Funds

The Minimum Fee Act does not specify when the fee
must be collected. The Authority presumes the minimum fee is
to be collected at the time of service and has based its revenue
assumptions on this presumption.

Paragraph B of the Minimum Fee Act provides an
exemption to those who are "totally without funds.” The
Authority has interpreted this term to mean if a patient comes for
medical services and says he or she does not have the $3.50 fee,
this individual is "totally without funds."

Because the Authority presumes the Minimum Fee Act
requires collection at the time of service, it estimates that 75
percent of those eligible to pay the minimum fee will claim the
totally without funds exemption. The Authority could offer no
empirical basis for this estimate.

Again, if the Authority classifies the minimum fee as a
service charge and uses the billing system to collect it, there will
be no need to waive the fee. However, the minimum fee will
only be collected when the patient pays the bill, thus making
revenue unpredictable. The medical centers have had problems
with collecting accounts.
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Matter for Legislative Consideration 2.1

The legislature may wish to consider amending
LSA-R.S. 46:6(B) to clarify "service units" and "totally
without funds" and state whether the fee is to be collected at
the time of service.

Exemptions for Medicaid/Medicare

The Authority appropriately exempted all patients in the
Medicaid/Medicare group from the minimum fee. The
Minimum Fee Act allows waiver of the minimum fee "if
imposition of such a fee would violate federal law or regulations
relative to Medicaid or Medicare.” Federal Medicaid regulations
prohibit imposing a charge, such as a co-payment, on Medicaid
recipients unless the state's Medicaid plan provides for such a
charge. The state's Medicaid agency (Department of Health and
Hospitals) would have to amend the state's Medicaid plan to
allow such charges and then obtain approval from the federal
Health Care Financing Administration.

Even with federal approval, the $3.50 minimum fee could
not be charged to Medicaid recipients because federal regulations
only allow a maximum co-payment of $3.00 for outpatient
services. A $3.00 co-payment can only be imposed if Medicaid
pays more than $50.00 for the medical service received. The
state’s Medicaid agency could ask the Health Care Financing
Administration for a waiver to assess a co-payment over $3.00.
However, even after obtaining the waiver, this higher charge
could only be assessed on instances where non-emergency
services are furnished in a hospital emergency room. (These
charges are tied to specific services.) Further, the state must
establish to the Health Care Financing Administration's
satisfaction that alternative sources of non-emergency, outpatient
services are available and accessible to Medicaid recipients.

When co-payments are charged, the medical center's
claim for Medicaid reimbursement is reduced by the co-payment
amount. If the co-payment is not collected, the medical center
sustains the loss.

Federal regulations also do not allow charges under any
condition to be imposed on Medicaid recipients in the following
categories:
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1. Children

2. Pregnant women (all services relating to the
pregnancy or medical condition which would
complicate the pregnancy, including postpartum
care)

3. Institutionalized individuals (inpatients in hospitals,
long-term care facilities, or other medical
institutions, which as a condition of receiving
services in the institution, must spend all but a
minimal amount of their income required for
personal needs, for medical care costs)

4. Emergency services
5. Family planning
6. HMO enrollees

If the state's medical centers seek to collect the $3.50
minimum fee from Medicaid recipients, they would not be able to
participate as a Medicaid provider and could lose their provider
agreement. The provider agreement states that those who provide
medical services to Medicaid recipients agree to accept Medicaid
payment plus co-payments required by the state plan as payment
in full. Any hospital which participated as a Medicaid provider
and continued to impose excess charges might also be liable for
criminal penalties.

See Appendix B for reproduction of information received
from the Health Care Financing Administration relative to
collecting co-payments from Medicaid recipients.

Free Care Patients

Although Paragraph A of the Minimum Fee Act exempts
medically indigent, which includes free care patients, from the
$3.50 fee, the Authority’s estimate of revenue from the minimum
fee includes them. As stated earlier, Paragraph A of the act
exempts those who are "medically indigent or medically needy."
Prior to January 1, 1992, medically indigent included all patients
whose income was below federal poverty income guidelines, thus
making these patients eligible for free medical care.

Because the Authority based its interpretation of the
minimum fee on Paragraph B of the Minimum Fee Act, which
requires the fee be charged to every patient, it included the frec
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care patient group as eligible to be charged the minimum fee in
its revenue estimate.

Number of Free Care Patients Increasing

The Authority submitted its proposed rule to implement
the minimum fee in March 1992, based on data as of June 30,
1991. However, effective January 1, 1992, the Department of
Health and Hospitals implemented the Liability Limitation
Policy. This policy changed the definition of indigent to include
those family units whose gross income is equal to or less than
200 percent of the federal poverty income guidelines for that size
family unit. Because of this new policy, some patients who were
formerly responsible for payment of their own care are now
eligible for care free of charge. Also, this policy limited the
amount to be charged to those family units whose income
exceeded 200 percent of the federal poverty income guidelines.

Authority officials say the Liability Limitation Policy
maximizes disproportionate share payments and reduces
collections efforts to patients unable to pay. When this policy
was developed by the Department of Health and Hospitals, the
department estimated that the number of patients eligible for free
care would increase drastically. Department officials estimated
that the number of billable patients would be reduced from
approximately 132,500 to an estimated 38,850, nearly a 71
percent decrease. Conversely, 93,650 more individuals now
qualify to be treated free of charge, thus increasing the number of
free care patients.

The Authority developed other exemptions to the
minimum fee which are not contained in the Minimum Fee Act,
but are predicated on its interpretation of the act. Those
exemptions are:

1. insured patients;

2. emergency room patients in a life-threatening
condition;

3. visits to clinics not staffed by physicians; and

4,  visits to obstetric and pediatrics clinics.
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Insured Patient Visits

Insured patients are not statutorily exempt from paying the
minimum fee. The Authority exempted this patient group
because their care, or the bulk of it, was paid for by insurance.
As stated previously, the Authority has interpreted the minimum
fee as payment on account, rather than as a service charge.

Thus, the insured patients could be charged the minimum fee
provided their incomes exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty
income guidelines.

Emergency Room Patients in an Emergent Condition

Emergency room patients in life-threatening conditions
were exempted by the Authority from the minimum fee. The
Authority based this exemption on the assumption that assessing
the fee at this time was inhumane. Once again, the Authority has
presumed the fee must be collected at the time of service.
Classified as a service charge, the minimum fee could be billed
along with other charges for treatment rendered as long as the
patient has gross income exceeding 200 percent of federal
poverty income guidelines.

Visits to Clinics Not Staffed by a Physician

The Authority exempted visits to clinics not staffed by
physicians. According to the Authority, these clinics are
preventative in nature and wsually staffed by a nurse or other
professional staff. Patients being seen in these clinics are there
for such things as blood pressure checks and dietary suggestions
to maintain good health, The Authority did not estimate the
number of these visits.

While the Minimum Fee Act does not provide an
exemption for services of this nature, we acknowledge that not
imposing a fee in this situation might encourage preventative care
and thus help curtail more costly acute care in the future.

All Obstetric and Pediatric Clinic Visits

The Authority exempted all visits to the obstetric and
pediatric clinics. According to the Authority, patients seen in
these clinics are primarily Medicaid patients or become eligible
for Medicaid. Federal Medicaid regulations forbid assessing any
fees on pregnant women or children.
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The Authority could not say how many patients treated in
the obstetrics clinics were Medicaid eligible. Without this
information, we could not assess the appropriateness of this
assumption. However, those individuals treated in these clinics
whose incomes exceed 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines
could be billed the $3.50 minimum fee along with other medical
charges incurred.

Recommendation Number 4

The Louisiana Health Care Authority should submit a
revised Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement reflecting the
patient groups which can be charged the minimum fee.

Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

The Authority is comfortable with its interpretation of Act
893 and with the prudence of the exemptions that it has submitted
in rulemaking. The Authority's draft Rule merely proposes
exemptions that the Legislature, through oversight, is free to
reject.

|
Matter for Legislative Consideration 2.2

The legislature may wish to consider amending
LSA-R.S. 46:6 to specify all exemptions to the minimum fee
including those which encourage preventative care.

The minimum fee will generate no additional revenue to
the state medical centers unless the limit on the amount to be
charged those patients eligible to pay the fee is amended. The
Minimum Fee Act says:

In addition to any schedule of fees or charges
established . . . there shall be charged a minimum
fee of three dollars and fifty cents per service

unit . . .
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Self pay patients, or those individuals who pay for their
own care and whose incomes exceed 200 percent of federal
poverty income guidelines, are not exempt from being charged
the minimum fee. However, the Liability Limitation Policy,
described previously, sets a maximum annual medical care
liability for each family unit. The scale used in applying this
policy can be found in Appendix C.

To effectively implement the Minimum Fee Act, the
Authority would have to amend the Liability Limitation Policy to
address handling the minimum fee in relation to liability limits.
The Administrative Procedures Act gives specific guidelines for
agencies to follow when amending any rule.

The policy currently limits the amount owed for medical
treatment in the state's medical facilities by those whose income
exceeds 200 percent of federal poverty income guidelines. For
example, an uninsured family of four with an annual income of
$26,000 would be liable annually for the first $200 of the cost of
medical services rendered to members of that family unit. All
other medical costs incurred by this family unit during the year
would be free of charge. Therefore, the family of four would
pay only $200 whether they incurred minimum fee charges or
not. Thus, the medical centers will not receive any additional
revenue unless the Authority amends the Liability Limitation
Policy.

Recommendation Number 5

Prior to amending the Liability Limitation Policy, the
Louisiana Health Care Authority should assess the impact of
the minimum fee and this policy on each other in order to
ensure receiving additional revenue from the fee.

Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

Under the Authority's interpretation of the Act and its
proposed Rules, the liability limitation policy has no bearing on
who owes the minimum fee. Both those who fall into the free
care and those who fall into the partial pay categories will be
requested to pay the minimum fee at the time of service.
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Data

The data used by the Authority to estimate revenue from
the minimum fee could not be verified as accurate and, in some
instances, was incomplete. We received several reports from the
Authority which listed the number of patient visits to the clinics
and emergency rooms. We compared the totals on these reports
to determine if data used to develop the Authority's revenue
estimates was valid. The total number of patient visits on the
reports did not match.

The first report was generated by the Authority's billing
system. This report grouped the number of clinic and emergency
room visit$ into categories of who is responsible for payment of
the patient's account, for example, Medicaid or the patient.

The other reports contained similar information. They
included the number of patient visits to the clinics and emergency
rooms. This data was compiled by the Authority from data
received directly from the individual medical centers. Hospital
staff manually compiled this data from daily logs.

When asked why the numbers did not match, the planning
director at the Authority told us the billing system was not
reliable as a management information system. He also said
the manual numbers generated by the individual medical centers
were frequently updated and constantly changed, but were more
reliable than those generated by the billing system.

An official in charge of the billing system was aware there
were problems with coding within the system. In our
discussions, he said he had identified one problem where the
system was counting ambulatory surgery as a "visit" when it
should not, but he was sure other problems existed with the data.
This official was in the process of reconciling this data during our
audit.

Although Authority officials acknowledged that data from
the billing system was not reliable, the Authority determined the
percentage of visits by patient category from the billing
system-generated reports. These percentages were then applied
to the manual numbers received from the medical centers in order
to estimate the number of patient visits in each category.

Also, we examined the data received from the individual
medical centers and compiled by the Authority to reports for
fiscal year 1991. We compared three reports prepared from the
same source, the individual medical centers. One report was
incomplete, because it contained only ten months of data from the
Medical Center of Louisiana at New Orleans. Some individual
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medical center totals matched to all three reports, while others
did not.

Because this data could not be reconciled by the Authority
or by us, we cannot determine how much revenue the minimum
fee will generate. The Authority's billing system is not designed
to capture data in such a manner as would make estimating the
number of visits eligible to pay the minimum fee easy.

Recommendation Number 6

After expanding its definition of "service units," the
Louisiana Health Care Authority should identify all services
rendered to patients eligible to pay the minimum fee and base
its revenue estimate on these services to comply with Act 893
of 1991.

Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

Work is underway to improve Authority data bases. The
particular utilization data system upon which the cost estimates
for the minimum fee legislation rest does not have significant
problems and is a sound base for planning estimates. The serious
issues in estimating the costs and revenues for the minimum fee
legisiation involve factors for which it is not possible to obtain
empirical evidence, in particular the number of individuals who
will avail themselves of the provisions of the Act that involve
waiver of the minimum fee for those "totally without funds".
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The Authority's estimate of costs to implement the

Chapter minimum fee are based on the presumption that the fee must
Conclusions be collected at the time of service. Because of this
presumption, over 95 percent of the costs calculated by the
Authority for implementing the minimum fee is due to hiring
new staff. Also, the proposed rule developed by the
Authority contains mathematical errors. If the minimum fee
is programmed to be billed to patients eligible to pay it, the
Authority would save personnel costs.

I Based on the presumption that the Minimum Fee Act
All Costs Based on  requires collection at the time of service, the Authority estimated
Presumption of costs to be $1,640,449 to collect the minimum fee during the first
. . year. However, the act does not specify when the minimum fee
Collection a.t Time should be collected.
of Service

Based on its presumption of collection at the time of
service, the Authority has estimated that it will require a total of
98 new positions to collect and account for the minimum fee. In
developing its proposed rule, the Authority used an average of
ten minutes per contact (attempt) to collect the fee from those
required to pay or privately advise those who could not pay in the
clinics and emergency rooms. The Minimum Fee Act says:

. . such fee may be waived for a patient
who is totally without funds . . . Each such
patient shall be privately apprised of such
special treatment . . .

LSA-R.S. 46:6(B)

According to the Authority's proposed rule, the 681,844
estimated contacts with patients eligible to pay the minimum fee
will require 113,641 staff hours with each staff person devoting
1,550 hours per year. Thus, the Authority calculated 73 staff
will be required to collect the minimum fee.
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Cost Estimates
Contained
Mathematical
Errors

The Authority goes on to say due to logistical problems
involving the location of clinics and for accounting functions, an
additional 16 collections positions and 9 accounting positions will
be necessary, bringing the total new staff needed to 98.

The Authority's calculation of total personnel costs
contained mathematical errors. The Authority estimated the total
personnel cost to be $1,560,449 for 89 Clerk 3 positions and 9
Accounting Specialist 2 positions. However, we could not verify
its calculations. Our calculations in Exhibit IV below show that
the total cost for these 98 positions would be $1,853,789.

Exhibit IV

Legislative Auditor's
Computation of Personnel Costs Identified by Louisiana
Health Care Authority

Clerk 3 $18,391 89| Not given | $1,636,799

Accounting
Specialist 2 $24,110 9| Not given $216,990
Totals}: 98| $1,560,449| $1,853,789

Source: Louisiana Health Care Authority and OLA staff's calculations
Note:  The Authority's proposed rule only gave an overall total; therefore, no sub-totals
appear in this exhibit.

In addition to the $1,560,449 estimated for personnel, the
Authority also estimated another $80,000 would be needed for
equipment and operating expenses for total costs of $1,640,449,

Costs Could Not Be Verified

We were unable to verify the costs to collect the minimum
fee at the time of service as estimated by the Authority. The
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Using the Billing
System Would
Avoid Additional
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Authority developed this information from discussions with
medical center administrators. No documentation of these
discussions was available for our review.

If the $3.50 fee is treated as a service charge as the
Minimum Fee Act requires, the Authority, with a programming
change, could add the fee to each patient's bill who is eligible to
pay the fee. Using this option, the Authority would incur no
additional personnel costs, only the costs of the programming
change.

Recommendation Number 7

The Louisiana Health Care Authority should
implement the programming changes necessary, treating the
minimum fee as a service charge as required by LSA-R.S.
46:6. Also, the Authority should revise the Fiscal and
Economic Impact Statement to estimate the costs to be
incurred by these programming changes.

Louisiana Health Care Authority's Response

This recommendation is based upon an interpretation of
Act 893 with which the Authority does not agree. Should the
Audir interpretation be determined to reflect legislative intent, the
Authority would agree with this recommendation.
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CARE AUTHORITY

March 4, 1993

Dr. Dan Kyle, CPA
Legislative Auditor
1600 N. Third

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Dear Dr. Kyle:

Enclosed are LHCA comments on the Audit Report on the Minimum Fee Legislation. We
appreciate the opportunity to respond to the study.
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Chief Operating Officer
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Don Elbourne
Shirley Smith
Jack Edwards
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LHCA Response to the Minimum Fee Audit Study

The Office of the Legislative Auditor has conducted a legal analysis of Act 893 of 1991
and assessed proposed LHCA Rules prior to oversight review by the Legislature. The Audit
analysis leads to two principal points in response:

i Key language of Act 893 is so unclear and prone to conflicting inter-
pretation that implementation probably should not proceed further
until the Act's meaning is clarified by the Attorney General and/or the
legislature,

. The draft LHCA Rules to implement the Act are based upon an un-
derstanding of legislative intent that was developed by listening to the
debates and discussing the legislation and its implementation with key
legislators. We remain confident that the interpretation of the Act re-
flected in the draft LHCA Rules is correct and consistent with the in-
tent of the legislature. We acknowledge that the construction of Act
893 can lead to other interpretations and that the law is exceedingly
ambiguous.

While the Authority has proceeded with plans to implement Act 893, it agrees that wheth-
er implementation is "feasible” is a valid matter for the scrutiny of the Legislative Auditor. Un-
fortunately, because there are conflicting interpretations of the Act, a clear-cut answer to this
question was not developed in the Report.

Principal Provisions of Act 893
The relevant provisions of Act 893 are contained in two sections of the law:

A "Those persons who are determined nof to be medically indigent or medi-
cally needy shall be charged a minimum fee of three dollars and fifty cents
for any treatment or service; and further shall be charged on a sliding scale
according to the financial status of the patient and the size of the family for
which the person is responsible (emphasis added)."

B. "In addition to any schedule of fees or charges . . . , there shall be charged
a minimum fee of three dollars and fifty cents per service unit to every pa-
tient . . ., except that such fee may be waived for a patient who is totally
without funds or if the imposition of such fee would violate federal law or
regulations relative to Medicaid or Medicare . . . [If a waiver is given]



such patient shall be privately apprised of such special treatment . . .
(empbhasis added)."

The meaning of these two sections has been a major source of confusion about the Act.
Since Section B is inclusive and imposes the minimum fee on "every patient" (with the exceptions
specified), what is the meaning of Section A, which appears to impose the fee on the non-
indigent? Is it merely redundant, or does it have some other meaning? From the unclear and con-
fusing construction of the statute, the Office of the Legislative Auditor has interpreted Section A
as exempting the indigent, since the section applies the charge only to the non-indigent. While
we feel that the central meaning of the Act is reflected in Section B, it is not difficult to see why a
case can be made for Audit position.

Interpretation of Act 893

There are several significant areas in which the Act requires interpretation: Who should
pay? For what do they pay? When do they pay? What is the nature of the payment?

Audit Implementation Scenario

Based upon its interpretation of the Act, the Office of Legislative Auditor recommends
that it be implemented as follows:

. The medically indigent (currently, those below 200 percent of poverty) and the
Medicaid eligible are exempt.

. Thase who have conventional insurance or who have incomes over 200 percent of
poverty are subject to the minimum fee.

. A "service charge" of $3.50 should be added to the bills of those who have in-
surance or who have incomes over 200 percent of poverty.

Thus, under this interpretation, $3.50 would be added to
the bills of those already billed, and those who pay nothing
would continue to pay nothing.

Under this interpretation, important questions are raised with several other provisions of
the bill. What should be the operational meaning of "totally without funds", since only the insured
and those above 200 percent of poverty would be charged. There would appear to be no patient
who could owe the fee but be "totally without funds”. Similarly, it becomes difficult to interpret
the requirement to "privately advise” a patient of the fee waiver if the $3.50 charge is added to
their bills. The phrase "minimum fee", contained in the Act, is not consistent with the concept of
a new charge that is added to a bill that is already owed. If a patient owes a bill of, say, $200, an
increase to $203.50 would not seem to represent the imposition of a "minimum" fee.



LHCA Proposed Rule

The Authority has interpreted Act 893 as an attempt by the legislature to assure that all
patients pay something for services rendered, even when they are otherwise exempt from payment
under the sliding scale/liability limitation policy. This was proposed both as a matter of principle
and with the expectation that there would be some deterrent effect that would reduce a perceived
(but empirically nonexistent) overutilization of services in emergency rooms and clinics.

Consistent with this interpretation, the Authority has prepared proposed rules which:

. Apply the $3.50 minimum charge to all outpatient visits, with certain specified ex-
ceptions (see below) which must be subjected to legislative scrutiny under the Ad-
ministrative Procedures Act oversight process.

. Provide for collection of the minimum fee at the time of service.

. Conceive of the minimum fee as a payment on account rather than as a new charge
for some hypothetical service.

The Authority Rule provides that, when those who have arrived for service assert that, at
the time, they are "totally without funds" to pay for those services, Medical Center personnel will
"privately apprise” them that the minimum charge is waived. The patient will continue to owe
whatever amount that his or her position on the sliding scale indicates, and will be billed
accordingly.

Exceptions Under LHCA Proposed Rule

Act 893 specifically charged the Authority to engage in rulemaking to implement the legis-
lation. No definitions of key terms were included in the statute, leaving the Authority to opera-
tionally define (subject to oversight) all of the following: "medically indigent", "medically needy",
"service unit", "totally without funds", and "privately advise". In exercising this considerable lati-
tude, the Authority also invoked rulemaking discretion to propose for legislative review the fol-

lowing exemptions to the minimum fee provisions:
° Medicaid and Medicaid eligible patients
These categories cannot be charged under federal regulations. The Audit Report

correctly analyzed the Medicaid requirements that necessitate this exemption,
which were also anticipated explicitly in Act 893.



Persons making obstetric or pediatric visits

Under federal Medicaid-SOBRA rules, almost all mothers and children in our hos-
pitals fall into an income range (up to 133 percent of poverty) in which they are
potentially Medicaid eligible. Special efforts are made to complete the eligibility
determination process for these individuals. If a person were to pay the fee and
were later determined Medicaid eligible retroactive to the date of the clinic visit,
we would be obligated under federal rules to refund the payment. To comply with
this requirement would require a special tracking and monitoring system. Accord-
ingly, the application of the minimum fee to this category of patients would result
in significant new costs and virtually no revenue.

Persons judged by medical personnel to be in an emergent condition.

A relatively small percentage of patients in any emergency room are true emergen-
cies. Studies have shown that from 6-10 percent of the LHCA Medical Center ER
patients are so classified through a triage process. In such cases, it is both impracti-
cal and inhumane to attempt to extract a $3.50 payment on account at the time of
service. These patients most often are trauma and heart attack victims. Overuti-
lization of services is not an issue in such cases. Even though not exempt under
Act 893, the draft LHCA Rule proposes to exempt these patients under the discre-
tion implicit in its rulemaking authority, and subject to legislative oversight. Such
patients would still be billed according to the sliding scale.

Persons with conventional insurance

Persons who pay insurance premiums already pay for health care far in excess of
the $3.50 minimum, They are considered to be in compliance with the minimum
payment already, since their insurance carriers will reimburse the Medical Centers
for roughly their cost of care.

Persons making their second or subsequent visit during the same day

Since the intent of the legislation is to achieve a deterrent effect by making every-
one pay something for care, this objective presumably is accomplished if the mini-
mum payment is made. If a patient is referred on to a second clinic in the same
day, then no additional deterrent effect is achieved by subsequent charges. Pa-
tients in such cases will be billed according to their position on the sliding scale.



Persons receiving services in a clinic not staffed by a physician

Such clinics are generally run by nurses for preventative or educational purposes.
We generally try to encourage attendance as a means of helping the patient avoid
costly complications. An example might be nutritional counseling or blood pres-
sure monitoring. Subject to legislative review, the Authority proposes that these
non-physician visits not be considered a "unit of service" under the Act.

Remaining Issues

There remain important but unanswered questions about the minimum fee legislation that
will be of concern to the legislature during oversight and in the longer term.

Is implementation of the "minimum fee" feasible? Will collection of the
minimum fee in a manner consistent with the intent of Act 893 generate more
revenue than it costs?

The "minimum fee" could be implemented regardless of cost, of course. But
the best information indicates that it will not be cost effective.  Driven al-
most entirely by personnel requirements, costs are expected to exceed reve-
nues by a considerable amount in each of the first three years.

Costs. The cost estimates, detailed in the Fiscal and Economic Impact
Statement accompanying the draft Rules, reflect the added time required for
a very large number of patient encounters on a matter that is not presently
necessary.

First, it is estimated that there will be nearly 700,000 clinic visits by persons
who are not exempt under the provisions of the proposed rule (aside from
being "totally without funds" at the time of service). This represents a very
large volume of new or additional patient contacts during which the fee must
be explained and paid, a receipt issued, and instructions given, or during
which the person must be "privately advised" that the fee is being waived, if
they have made a claim to be "totally without funds". The time required for
such a process for 700,000 individuals will require a substantial number of
new positions. In the current structure of clinics there simply are not any
significant number of staff available to whom the collections/counseling
function can become added duties. In fact, there already are insufficient
personnel in these clinics for the existing patient volume.



Second, the Audit Report has raised the serious additional concern that
minimum fee implementation will reduce the disproportionate share reim-
bursement rate, diminishing by around one-third the net revenues from the
minimum fee. The Authority had not understood that this would be the case
when the draft Rules were prepared.  The Authority agrees with the Audit
Report that this is a factor which it should explore more fully.

Revenues.  Although since the minimum fee has not been previously charged
and there is no hard empirical evidence available, it is estimated that revenues will
be greatly diminished over the potential maximum by the provision allowing those
"totally without funds" to claim waiver from payment.

Will imposition of a minimum fee charged at the time of service deter over-
utilization of services and thus reduce costs?

It may deter utilization, but there is no reason to believe that it will deter overuti-
lization. One of the most widespread and pernicious misunderstandings of the
LHCA Medical Center operations is that there is a pattern of overutilization. This
misperception is based on anecdotal evidence frequently repeated, and on a misun-
derstanding of the dynamics of patient flow.

First, no one closely familiar with Medical Center operations believes that well
people come to our waiting rooms simply to "hang out" or to seek care when they
are feeling fine. Frequently, the families and friends of patients who have no
transportation will bring them to the hospital and wait for them while they are
there. Sometimes children will be brought when there is no one to care for them
at home. The fact that there are well people in the building does not indicate over-
utilization of services, but it does generate misleading anecdotes.

Second, empirical evidence on this point has recently been developed. A recent
Legislative Audit of LHCA Emergency Rooms drew a random sample of ER pa-
tient records and calculated the percentages of diagnoses that were for emergent,
urgent and routine care. The auditors who conducted this analysis were asked in
the exit conference with Authority personnel whether there were any cases in the
sample whose diagnosis indicated that they did not in fact require medical treat-
ment. The answer was '""no". When asked if any patients in the sample, had they
been deterred from obtaining that care, would have been denied treatment that
their medical diagnosis indicated that in fact they needed, the answer was "yes".

Third, the lower income population that uses the LHCA Medical Centers fre-
quently underutilizes health care services to the detriment of their long term
health. For example, the lack of sufficient prenatal care by mothers in out hospi-
tals has been the cause of premature and low birthweight babies and of more



serious problems with newborns. Underutilization of services undoubtedly is a
major factor that increases costs that are associated with more serious medical
conditions.

Conclusion

Staff of DHH and the Authority held several conversations with the principal authors of

the Minimum Fee legislation and extensively monitored legislative deliberations both in 1991
when it originally passed, and in 1992 when an attempt to repeal certain provisions was extensive-
ly debated on both the House and Senate floors. The general approach reflected in the draft Rule
to implement the Act was based in large part on the understanding of legislative intent that this
close observation provided. However, we fully agree with the Legislative Audit Report that the
actual language of the Act itself is exceptionally vague, apparently contradictory and often mis-
leading. It is possible that new legislation is need to clarify the statutes before implementation
should proceed further.
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Baltimore, MD 21207

Sharon B. Johnson
Auditor-In-Charge

Office of Legislative Auditor
State of Louisiana

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9397

Dear Ms. Johnson:

I am responding to your guestions concerning co-payments
and the application of recent legislation enacted in
Louisiana. Your questions and my responses are as follows:

QUESTIiION

Since the code of Federal regulations gives the Medicaid
agency authority to levy co-payments, can the State
legislature authorize another State agency to collect the
minimum fee from Medicaid recipients?

RESPONSE

Yes. Federal law and regulations do not preclude the
Louisiana Health Care Authority, which operates the State's
charity hospitals, from collecting any deductible,
coinsurance, or co-payment required by the State Medicaid
plan to be paid by the individual. However, only the State
Medicaid plan can authorize a copayment requirement for
Medicaid recipients. Any copayment imposed on a Medicaid
recipient under the State plan must be deducted from the
State's claim for medical assistance.

QUESTION

Can this fee be charged to Medicaid recipients?
RESPONSE

It appears it can be charged for institutional services.
For ocutpatient services, it cannot be charged. For
institutional services, the regulations at 42 CFR 447.54
require the maximum copayment for each admission may not
exceed 50 percent of the payment the State agency makes for
the first day of care in the institution. This applies



only to inpatient services and not outpatient hospital
services (even though provided by an instituticnal
provider). A $3.50 copayment would probably be acceptable
under these circumstances.

Copayments for outpatient services would be subject to the
regulations at 42 CFR 447.53 which allow the State to
impose a nominal deductible, coinsurance, co-payment, or
similar charge upon categorically and medically needy
individuals. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447.54 specify
the maximum co-payment chargeable to a recipient be based
on the State's payment for the service. Any co-payments
the State plan imposes cannot exceed the amounts specified
in the regulations. (42 CFR 447.54(a)(3)) The maximum co-
payment that can be charged under the regulations is $3.00,
except that a waiver may be obtained from HCFA under
certain circumstances to charge higher amounts for services
received at a hospital emergency room as explained below.
The $3.50 co-payment enacted by the Louisiana legislature
"in addition to any established fees or charges" exceeds
the nominal co-payment permitted by Federal regulations for
outpatient services and cannot be charged to Medicaid
recipients for these services.

QUESTION

what sanctions could the State suffer from your agency as a
result of charging this fee to Medicaid recipients?

RESPONSE

If the State charges a co-payment that exceeds the maximum
amount allcwed, then the State would be out of compliance
with its State plan. Under Section 1916 of the Social
Security Act, HCFA could invoke compliance remedies under
section 1904 of the Act to terminate federal funding of the
State plan, or to limit federal funding to part of the
State plan not affected by the State's failure to comply.
Additionally, a State charity hospital that charges the
recipient more than the amount permitted under the State
plan is violating the requirements under 42 CFR 447.15,
which the State must enforce. A State charity hospital
which sought to collect excess recipient charges would not
be able to participate as a Medicaid provider and could
lose its provider agreement. Furthermore, a hospital which
did participate, but continued to impose excess recipient
charges as a condition of admission or continued stay,
might be liable for criminal penalties under section
1128B(d) of the Act.



QUESTION

Can the minimum fee be limited to Charity hospitals and not
other providers of indigent care? If it is limited to the
Charity hospitals and not charged by other Medicaid
providers, would the State suffer any sanctions from your
agency?

RESPONSE

Yes, the fee can be limited to Charity hospitals as long as
the State can demonstrate that the copayments do not affect
the freedom of choice of Medicaid recipients, and all
recipients have sufficient and equal access to Medicaid
providers who do not charge the copayment. Access to
providers who do not charge the copayment is necessary in
order to comply with the requirements of Section
1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act. This provision
requires that the services for all categorically needy
recipients and all recipients within a covered medically
needy group be equal in amount, scope, and duration.

QUESTION

Is there a way that those excluded from co-payment under
the Federal regulations can be charged the minimum fee?

RESPONSE

No. Section 1916 of the Social Security Act and
implementing requlations at 42 CFR 447.53 are very specific
about those individuals who are exempt from co-payments.

QUESTION

Can the minimum fee be a flat fee or must it be on a
sliding scale as listed in the Federal regulations?

RESPONSE

The Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447.55 allow the State
plan to provide for a standard, or fixed co-payment amount
for any service. For non-institutional services, the
standard co-payment amount may be determined by applying
the maximum co-payment amounts specified in 42 CFR
447.54(a) and (b) to the agency's average or typical
payment for that service. However, the $3.00 maximum may
not be exceeded,



QUESTION

What must the State do in order to cbtain the necessary
waiver to assess co-payment in excess of those in Federal
guidelines?

RESPONSE

The requirement that cost sharing charges must be nominal
may be waived only with respect to nonemergency services
furnished in a hospital emergency room as specified in
section 1916(a)(3) and (b)(3) of the Act and implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 431.55(g). Under this
requirement, the Secretary may by waiver permit a State to
impose a co-payment of up to double the "nominal" co-
payment amounts as specified in 42 CFR 447.54(a)(3). The
State, however, must establish to HCFA's satisfaction that
alternative sources of nonemergency, outpatient services
are available and accessible to recipients.

I hope that you find this information helpful.

A (Llak

Rozann Abato
Acting Director
Medicaid Bureau
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RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, is adopting, effective January 1, 1992, the following rule
to be contained in LAC 48:1.Chapter 21. This replaces the existing
Chapter 21.

Title 48

PUBLIC HEALTH--GENERAL
Part 1. General Administration
Subpart L. General

Chapter 21. Liability Limitation Schedule for DHH Provided
Services
§2101. Statement of Purpose, Scope and Eligibility

A. The Department of Health and Hospitals' {DHH) Liability
Limitation Schedule will standardize the method by which DHH will
limit the annual amount which the client/patient is responsible to
pay by using the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines as a basis for
determining what portion, if any, of a patient’s/client's charges will
be billed.

B. Any bona-fide resident of the state of Louisiana shall be
eligible for services or treatment by any facility owned and operated
by the DHH. Those persons who are determined not to be indigent
shall be billed in accordance with this policy for any treatment or
services received. However, in no event shall emergency treatment
be denied to anyone. Persons seeking treatment shall furnish all
information requested by the facility or program office providing
the service. Eligibility established in one office may be used for
service/treatment in any facility or program throughout the DHH.

C. The DHH Liability Limitation Schedule will apply to all
offices of DHH exclusive of the Office of Public Health, which
provide services for which there is a charge to the
patient/recipient/client except as expressly prohibited by federal or
state statutes, rules or regulations,

D. This policy will apply, but not be limited to the following
DHH programs and getvices.

1. Inpatient and outpatient services provided by state
general hospitals.

2. Inpatient and outpatient services provided by the
Office of Human Services.

3. Residential facilities and out-of-home care (See
definition below).

E. Nothing in this policy is intended to be in conflict with
federal or state law, rule or policy pertaining to the provision of

services to the indigent.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:259.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 15:92 (February
1989); repealed and repromulgated LR 17: (December 1981).

§2103. Definitions

The following definitions shall apply to the DHH Liability
Limitation Schedule for pattent billing:

A. Indigent - as used herein means any client, patient, or
recipient whose family unit size and gross income is equal to or less
than 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines for that
size family unit rounded up to the nearest thousand dollars,

B. Gross Income - as used herein means income as determined
under Federal Title XIX (Medicaid) guidelines. Gross income as
determined shall be rounded down to the nearest thousand dollars
when applied to the DHH Liability Limitation Schedule.

C. Dependent - as used herein means all persons dependent on
the household income as accepted by the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) for federal income tax purposes. In case of a minor not
claimed as a dependent or income tax purposes, the parents are still
responsible for payment based on the Liability Limitation Schedule
but may increase the dependent deductions by the client(s} in
question. (See Appendix A for IRS definition).

D. Family - for purpose of establishing liability limitations under
this policy, the basic family unit is defined as consisting of one or
more adults and children, if any, related by biood, marnage,
adoption, or residence in the same household.

E. Responsible Persons - as used herein means the client’s
parents or guardians if the client is under the age of 18, unless
someone else claims the client as a dependent, in which case it is
that person. If the client is over 18, the client is responsible for
his/her contribution based on his/her gross family income and
allowed deductions, unless claimed as a dependent, in which case
the claimant becomes responsible for the fee toward the cost of care
based on the claimant's family income.

F. DHH Residendial Facilities and Oui-of-Home Placements -
state mental hospitals and schools for the mentally retarded or
developmentally disabled, inpatient treatment faciliies, and
out-of-home placement programs operated or partially funded by the
Office of Human Services.

G. Third-Party Payor - as used herein shall mean any party
other than the service recipient and/or family unit and the state who

is or may be legally liable for payment of incurred expenses.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:259.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 15:92 (February
1989); repealed and repromulgated LR 17: (December 1991).

§2105. Regulations

A. Billing for services rendered shall be meade to the
client/recipient/patient or responsible party in accordance with this
policy.

B. A person responsible for the payment of charges for services
rendered who refuses or fails to supply the information necessary
for an accurate determination of the liability limitation on services
rendered shall be presumed to pay the full charge for services
rendered and shall be billed accordingly. Any person who is
potentially eligible for medical assistance benefits from any federal
or state program who refuses to provide evidence of application for
said benefits shall be presumed to be able to pay the full charge for
services rendered and shall be billed accordingly, or in the case of
voluntary, nonemergent services, may be refused DHH assistance,
dependent upon individual program policies.

C. Eligibility will be good for one year. Periodic checks may
be made with the responsible person to make charge adjustments as
necessary. The responsible person shall be advised of his
responsibility to report any change in the family unit income,
employment, composition, etc.

D. If the responsible person refuses to assign insurance benefits
to the treating facility to cover the charges for services/treatment
received, the responsible person will be presumed to be able to pay
full charges for services/treatment and shall be billed accordingly.

E. Wherever applicable, billing for services rendered shall be
sent monthly to the client or responsible person in accordance with
the Liability Limitation Schedule. When a recipient/client becomes
delinquent in his account, the delinquency shall be handled in
accordance with DHH Policy #4300-76, regarding collection
procedures for patient bills.

F. All insurance companies or any other third party payor
which the responsible person claims has issued & policy or contract
covering the charges for treatment/ services, or who is otherwise
legally responsible for payment, shall be liable and billed the full
charge for services rendered, Billings shall be made directly to the
insurer or other third-party payor by the treating facility after
securing execution of the necessary forms (including an assignment
of benefits to the treating facility) by the respon- sible person. The
responsible person shall be liable for the amount of charges not
covered and/or paid by insurance or other third-party payor up to
the amount that the responsible person would have been obligated if

no third-party had been involved. In the case where Medicare is the

third-party payor, charges cannot exceed the amount of coinsurance
or deductible allowed by Medicare.

G. The following procedure applies to those hospitals without
designated counsel for ligbility intervention appointed by the
attorney general under R.S., Title 46. For liability cases only, upon
receipt of a letter from an attorney or an insurance company or
other third-party payor requesting a patient's records, the attorney
or company shall be sent, within 30 days from receipt, a bill for full
charges applicable to that patient. At the same time as the mailing of
that bill, a copy of that patient's file pertaining to charges for
treatment/services and their collection, as well as a copy of the
requesting letter, shall be forwarded to the Division of Fiscal
Management. Patient's records are not to be released until a
properly executed consent by the patient, parent or guardian (as
applicable) is received and the fee for copies of records is paid in
advance, except to any office of the DHH for the purpose of
facilitating the meeting of its responsibilities.

H. Whenever a service is requested, in addition to an eligibility
card, one of the following shall be checked to verify identity:

1. Medicaid card;

2. a valid driver's license;
3. voter's registration card;
4. a recent utility bill;

5. birth certificate;

6. picture identification;

I. The secretary of DHH or his designee will be authorized to
approve exceptions to the Liability Limitation Schedule Policy.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:259.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 15:92 (February
1989); repealed and repromulgated LR 17: (December 1991).
§2107. Liability Limitation Schedule

A. Each office shall develop internal management procedures
for billing. A copy of these procedures shall be housed in the Office
of Management and Finance, Division of Policy and Program
Development,

B. Family income shall be determined in accordance with
Federal Title XIX (Medicaid) guidelines.

C. Any individual or family unit who is "indigent" as defined
herewith shall be eligible for treatment/services in any state facility
or through program offices at no cost to the family unit.

D. Any family unit whose gross income exceeds 200 percent of
the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines for that family unit rounded
up to the nearest thousand dollars shall be liable for treatment/

service in accordance with the DHH Liability Limitation Schedule.
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E. The DHH Liability Limitation schedule is used as follows:

1. The Federal Poverty Guidelines are multiplied times
200 percent and rounded UP to the nearest thousand dollars.

2. The family unit income rounded DOWN to the nearest
thousand dollars is compared to the scale.

3. For each $1,000 over the Federal Poverty Income
Guidelines for the appropriate family unit, the responsible person is
liable for $200 of the total cost of services provided.

F. The secretary of DHH shall have the authority to adjust the
Liability Limitation Schedule to the same extent that changes in the
Federal Poverty Income Guidelines are published annually in the
Federal Register.

G. When documented medical bills, incurred within the 12
months prior to treatment/service equals to or exceeds 20 percent of
the annual gross family unit income, treatment/services shall be
provided at no cost to the family unit. The period of eligibility
begins at the date at which liability reached the 20 percent figure
through the end of calendar year. Such patients with third-party
payors or potential third-party payors shall be provided no cost
medical services or only that portion of their bill for which no
third-party payor is or may be lisble.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:259,

HISTORICAL NOQTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 15:92 (February
1989); repealed and repromulgated LR 17: (December 1991).
§2109. Reglations for Services and Facilities Other Than State
General Hospitals

A. Long-term Inpatient Clients Receiving Social Security

1. Facilities treating patients who receive Social Security
funds shall arrange to have those funds, less a personal needs
allowance, paid directly to the treating facility.

2. Upon receipt of the Social Security payment, the treating
facility shall apply those payments to the hill. The excess of those
Social Security payments over the charges for treatment shall be
deposited into an account maintained by the facility/program on
behalf of the patient/client. Upon discharge of the patient/client or
upon his demand, the balance of funds remaining in that account
shall be paid to the patient/client or the responsible person as
provided by law.

3. If payment of Social Security funds directly to the treating
facility/program is not made, billing shall be in accordance with this
palicy.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:259.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 15:92 (February
1989); repealed and repromulgated LR 17: (December 1991).

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

Reproduced from the Lonisiana Register, Vol. 17, No. 12;
December 20, 1991 (pages 1208-1210)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HOSPITALS

ANNUAL LIABILITY LIMITS FOR SERVICES PROVIDED
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