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The Honorable Patrick Page Cortez,
President of the Senate

The Honorable Clay Schexnayder,
Speaker of the House of Representatives

Dear Senator Cortez and Representative Schexnayder:

The purpose of this performance audit was to compare the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries’ (LDWF) hunting and fishing license fees with those of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia,
Mississippi, and Texas.

Louisiana’s license fee structure varies from these states because Louisiana requires users to pay
for separate licenses. The fees are set by state law and regulations. The other states generally consolidate
various hunting and/or fishing licenses into one license. Because each state has a different structure, we
compared the cost of privileges granted by their licenses rather than the individual license fee.

Specifically, we looked at commonly purchased recreational and commercial fishing license fees
and hunting license fees. We found Louisiana charged less for recreational resident freshwater and all
water fishing licenses than the average of the comparison states, while the state’s recreational resident
saltwater and non-resident recreational fishing license costs were comparable or higher.

The most commonly purchased licenses from fiscal years 2016 through 2020 were the resident
basic (freshwater) fishing license and the resident saltwater license, accounting for an average of $6.3
million in revenue each year to LDWF. If Louisiana were to adopt the average of the fishing license fees
of the comparison states and the number of licenses sold remained the same, it might generate an
additional $4.2 million annually.

In addition, we found Louisiana’s resident basic game, resident duck, and non-resident big game
hunting license fees were lower than the average of the other six states, while other Louisiana recreational
resident and non-resident hunting license fees were comparable or higher. The most commonly purchased
hunting licenses from fiscal years 2016 through 2020 were the resident basic hunting license and the
resident big game license. On average, they accounted for $3.7 million in revenue annually.

Non-resident hunters must also be licensed to hunt in Louisiana; they accounted for an average
$6 million in revenue annually. State law allows LDWF to charge more than it currently does for the non-
resident basic, non-resident big game, and hunting with a bow or primitive firearm licenses. If it were to
charge the amount allowed in state law, it could have generated an additional $1.7 million between fiscal
years 2016 and 2020.
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We found as well that Louisiana’s lifetime combination license fees were significantly lower than
the average of the comparison states. The cost of lifetime licenses varies according to the resident’s age at
the time of purchase. For instance, in Louisiana, a lifetime license costs $200 for an infant, $300 for a
child, $500 for an adult, and $50 for seniors. If Louisiana adopted the average recreational fee schedule of
the other regional states reviewed and the number of licenses sold remained the same, it might result in
approximately $3.4 million in additional revenue annually.

We also found that Louisiana does not require youth under the age of 16 to purchase hunting or
fishing licenses, which prevents LDWF from receiving additional federal grant money. The grants are
apportioned according to how many licenses are purchased each year. Louisiana could increase the
amount it receives if it charged a nominal fee for youth hunting licenses or youth combination hunting
and fishing licenses.

In addition, Louisiana’s commercial resident and non-resident fisherman license fees were
comparable or higher than the average of the six states reviewed for this report. The total revenue from
these two licenses accounted for an average of $949,510 annually during fiscal years 2016 through 2020.
Louisiana’s boater registration fees also were lower than four of the six comparison states. If Louisiana
adopted a fee structure similar to these four states, it could result in a $4.4 million increase in revenue
over a three-year renewal period.

Finally, we found that between fiscal years 2016 and 2020, LDWF paid third-party vendors $4.4
million in agent commissions for the issuance of recreational licenses and paid $6.4 million to two
different companies that provided vendor services. Louisiana does not add these fees to the cost of
recreational licenses, unlike Mississippi, which adds an agent fee and a process fee to the cost of each
license it sells.

The report contains our findings, conclusions, and recommendations. I hope this report will
benefit you in your legislative decision-making process.

We would like to express our appreciation to LDWF for its assistance during this audit.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael J. “Mike” Waguespack, CPA
Legislative Auditor

MJW/aa
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to Other Regional States

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries DITOR
May 2021 Audit Control # 40200017

Introduction

The purpose of this audit is to provide information on how the fees the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries’ (LDWF) charges for certain licenses' compare to other regional
states. We conducted this audit because LDWEF’s fees have not changed significantly since
June 2000,% and the department relies heavily on mineral royalties for its funding, which have
decreased since calendar year 2015. Louisiana is known as the “Sportsman’s Paradise,” and
outdoor activities, such as fishing and hunting, bring in revenue into the state. According to
a recent economic study commissioned by LDWF, natural-resource activities contributed
$584.9 million in state and local tax revenues in calendar year 2019.3

Exhibit 1: Funding of Expenditures

Fiscal Year 2016 through 2020 IjDWF 'lssued 85 types of
u Conservation Fund recreational licenses and 92 types of
3.4% commercial licenses from fiscal years

commercial licenses, their current fee,
= Rockefeller Refirge & Game and the number LDWF sold each year
Preservation Fund from fiscal years 2016 through 2020.
® Artificial Reef Development ~ Because LDWF does not receive any
Fund state general fund dollars, it primarily
relies on fees from these licenses and
mineral royalties that are deposited into

9 0.1% .
3.2% 3:2% 0.1 ® Federal Funds 2016 through 2020. Appendices C and
8.8% ‘ D provide lists of these recreational and
= Other Statutory Deductions

= Interagency Transfers

Other Fees & Self-Generated

Revenue* the Conservation Fund, as well as
*Includes disaster assistance funds and funds from the Red River Waterway federal funding. The Conservation
Commission, the Wildlife Management Institute, and from the Louisiana Fund is a constitutionall (La Const
Alligator Resource Fund Account. X y ’ :
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor's staff using information from LDWF. Art. VH, Section IO—A) protected fund

used for the purposes of conservation,
protection, preservation, management, and replenishment of the state’s natural resources and
wildlife. The Fund is used for collections of royalties and license fees not statutorily
dedicated to other specific accounts or funds by statute. Exhibit 1 summarizes the percent of
funding by source from fiscal years 2016 through 2020.

' LDWEF issues licenses, permits, registrations, which grant privileges, such as the ability to hunt small game
with the purchase of a basic hunting license. We refer to these privileges as licenses.

2 LDWEF license fees are set in state law and regulations. Not all fees were increased in June 2000 and some
fees, such as the resident saltwater fishing license fee, were increased after that time.

3 Measuring the Statewide Economic Contributions from Louisiana’s Fisheries, Wildlife and Boating
Resources; Southwick Associates; February 15, 2021.
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However, the Conservation Fund’s balance has decreased by 75.4%, from
$128.8 million as of June 30, 2016, to $31.6 million as of February 10, 2021, due to
decreases in mineral royalties and licenses sold. From fiscal years 2016 through 2020,
recreational hunting and fishing license sales have decreased by $2.8 million (11.1%), and
sales of commercial licenses have increased slightly by $127,520 (4.3%). While not all
proceeds from the sales of licenses go to the Conservation Fund,* recreational and
commercial license sales account for 28.6% of the fund’s revenues. Exhibit 2 summarizes
revenue collected from the sales of recreational and commercial licenses sold from fiscal
years 2016 through 2020.

Exhibit 2
LDWF Recreational and Commercial License Revenues, in Millions
Fiscal Years 2016 through 2020

$30.00
$25.4
$24.2 $23.8
$25.00 $22.5 $22.6
$20.00
« $15.00
=
2
S 510.00
$5.00 $3. $3. $3.1 $3.1 $3.1
$0.00
2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
Commercial License Revenues H Recreational License Revenues

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from LDWF.

To address decreases in funding, LDWF has decreased overall expenditures by

$7.8 million (5.8%), from $135.2 million in fiscal year 2016 to $127.4 million in fiscal year
2020,° with LDWF focusing on decreasing Conservation Fund expenditures. See Appendix
E for a breakdown of LDWEF’s total expenditures for fiscal years 2016 through 2020 and
Appendix F for a breakdown of LDWEF’s expenditures specifically from its Conservation
Fund for fiscal years 2016 through 2020. According to LDWF, it has reduced expenses by
cutting travel, deferring purchases of new vehicles and boats, and not filling all authorized
positions. LDWF stated that, as of April 26, 2021, it had 74 unfilled positions. LDWF also

4 Portions of the sale of some licenses are designated for other accounts or funds. For example, the recreational
saltwater fishing license fee is split between the Conservation Fund and the Saltwater Fish Research and
Conservation Fund.

5> LDWF expenditures increased by $8.6 million (7.2%) from fiscal years 2019 through 2020. According to
LDWEF, the increase was, in part, due to artificial reef projects using funding from the Coastal Protection
Restoration Authority (CPRA), and road maintenance and water control structure repairs in wildlife
management areas with a majority of funding from federal monies.
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stated that it has worked to increase federal grant funds to compensate for the loss of
Conservation Fund revenues.

For this report, we compared Louisiana’s fees for common licenses to other regional
states including Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Texas. Louisiana’s
license structure varies from other regional states because it requires the purchase of separate
licenses, while other regional states generally consolidate various hunting and/or fishing
licenses into one license. Because each state has a different license structure, we compared
the cost of privileges® granted by their licenses rather than the individual license fee. For
example, an annual Louisiana saltwater fishing license is $13.00, but a person must first
purchase a $9.50 basic fishing license; therefore, the actual cost to saltwater fish in Louisiana
is $22.50. Exhibit 3 describes Louisiana’s common license types.

Exhibit 3

Common Louisiana Hunting and Fishing Licenses
As of April 2021

Type License Description
Basic Fishing
Recreational (Freshwater) Required to fish recreationally in Louisiana waters.
Fishing Required to fish in Louisiana saltwater; required in addition to the
Saltwater basic fishing license.

Required to hunt, take, possess, or transport any wild birds or
Basic Hunting quadrupeds.

Required to hunt deer, turkey, or bobcat; required in addition to the
Big Game Hunting | basic hunting license.

Recreational . . . . .
Hunting - Requlred to hunt waterfowl; required in addition to the basic hunting
Louisiana Duck license.
Required to hunt with a bow during bow season; required in addition
Bow to the basic and big game hunting licenses.
Primitive Firearm Required to hunt during special deer season using primitive firearms
(i.e., muzzleloader) | only; required in addition to the basic and big game hunting licenses.
Lifetime Residgnt L.ife.tirne Resifients may p}lrchgse a lifeti.me. hunting, ﬁshing, or combination
Hunting/Fishing hunting and fishing license. This license is valid for life.
Commercial Commercial
Fishing Fishing License Required to operate a commercial fishing vessel in Louisiana waters.

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information provided by LDWEF.

% Licenses may have additional requirements called “privileges” that authorize certain hunting and fishing
activities.
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The objective of this audit was:

To provide information on how LDWEF’s fees for certain licenses compare to
other regional states.

Our results are summarized on the next page and discussed in detail throughout the
remainder of the report. Appendix A contains LDWEF’s response; Appendix B contains our
scope and methodology; Appendix C contains a list of recreational licenses sold during the
period of fiscal years 2016 through 2020; Appendix D contains a list of commercial licenses
sold during the period fiscal years 2016 through 2020; Appendix E summarizes LDWF’s
expenditures for the period of fiscal years 2016 through 2020; Appendix F includes a
summary of Conservation Fund expenditures for the period of fiscal years 2016 through
2020; and Appendix G contains a list of regional boater registration fees as of May 2021.
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Objective: To provide information on how LDWF’s fees for

certain licenses compare to other regional states.

The fees for LDWF’s commonly-purchased recreational and commercial fishing and
hunting licenses for Louisiana residents and non-residents’ vary when compared to the
average of other states. Specifically, we found the following:

Louisiana license fees are lower than the average of other regional states for the
following licenses:

. Recreational freshwater fishing for Louisiana residents (page 6),

. Recreational all water (both freshwater and saltwater) fishing for Louisiana
residents (page 6),

. Recreational basic/small game hunting for Louisiana residents (pages 7-8),

. Recreational duck/waterfowl hunting for Louisiana residents (pages 7-8),

. Recreational big game hunting for non-residents (pages §-9),

. Lifetime (recreational) combination hunting and fishing for Louisiana
residents (pages 9-10), and

. Boater registration fees (page 14).

Louisiana license fees are comparable or higher than the average of other regional
states for the following licenses:

. Recreational saltwater fishing for Louisiana residents (page 6);

. Recreational freshwater, saltwater, and all water (both freshwater and
saltwater) fishing for non-residents (page 7);

. Recreational big game hunting for Louisiana residents (pages 7-8);

. Recreational bow & primitive hunting for Louisiana residents (pages 7-8);

. Recreational basic/small game, duck/waterfowl, and bow and primitive
hunting for non-residents (pages 9-10);

. Commercial freshwater, saltwater, and all water fishing (commercial
fisherman license) for Louisiana residents (page 13); and

. Commercial freshwater, saltwater, and all water fishing (commercial

fisherman license) for non-residents (pages 13-14).

In addition, LDWF paid a total of $10.8 million in agent commissions and electronic
licensing service fees for recreational licenses from fiscal years 2016 through 2020 that are
not included in the cost of a license. The results of our comparison of the license fees
described above to other regional states is summarized on the following pages.

7 Prices of licenses differ for Louisiana residents and non-residents, but not for boater registration fees.
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Louisiana’s recreational resident freshwater and all water? fishing license costs
are lower than the average costs of other regional states, while its resident saltwater and
non-resident recreational fishing license costs are comparable or higher. Louisiana
resident fishermen must purchase a basic fishing license annually, which costs $9.50 per
year.” In addition to the basic license, a variety of fishing and gear licenses are available at an
additional cost. The most commonly purchased licenses from fiscal years 2016 through 2020
were the resident basic (freshwater) fishing license and the resident saltwater license.
Together, the purchase of these licenses accounted on average for $6.3 million annually
during that timeframe, including an average of $4.4 million in net contributions to the
Conservation Fund.!”

Louisiana’s freshwater fishing license fee for residents is $6.97 less than the average
of other regional states, and the combined freshwater and saltwater fishing fee is $7.60 lower
than regional average. However, the cost to saltwater fish in Louisiana is slightly higher
($1.77) than the regional average. If Louisiana adopted the average fishing licensing fees of
the other regional states reviewed and the number of licenses sold remained the same, it may
receive an additional $4.2 million in revenue annually. Exhibit 4 compares the costs of
Louisiana’s recreational resident fishing licenses to those of other regional states.

Exhibit 4
Recreational Resident Fishing Comparison

Cost of Annual Fishing Licenses by Type

As of May 202

State Freshwater Saltwater All Water
Louisiana $9.50 $22.50* $22.50
Alabama $14.05 $24.35 $38.40
Arkansas $10.50 N/A N/A
Florida $17.00 $17.00 $32.50
Georgia $15.00
Mississippi** $12.29 $12.29 $24.58
Texas $30.00 $35.00 $40.00
Regional Average: $16.47 $20.73 $30.10
Difference between
Louisiana & Regional ($6.97) 1.77 ($7.60)
Average
*To be able to saltwater fish in Louisiana, a $13.00 saltwater license is required in addition to the $9.50 basic
(freshwater) license.
**Mississippi does not license resident hunting and freshwater fishing separately; therefore, fishing cost presented
includes the ability to hunt small game.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’ wildlife and fisheries
agencies' websites.

8 Costs for fishing freshwater and saltwater.

° Residents using a rod or fishing pole, hook and line, without a reel, and without using artificial bait are only
required to purchase the Hook and Line license that costs $2.50.

10 Since the Conservation Fund is LDWF's largest source of funding for its operations, we included the total
amount of revenues and the amount designated for the Conservation Fund.
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In addition, we found that Louisiana’s recreational fishing license fees for non-
residents are comparable or higher than the average of the other regional states, with the
saltwater fee significantly higher. Specifically, the freshwater fishing license fee is $4.97
higher than the average of six other regional states reviewed, and the resident combined
freshwater and saltwater fishing cost is $2.94 higher than the average of five other regional
states. The cost to saltwater fish in Louisiana for non-residents is $38.38 higher than the
regional average because Louisiana’s fee structure requires saltwater fishermen to first
purchase a basic fishing license. Exhibit 5 compares the costs of Louisiana’s recreational
non-resident fishing licenses to those of other regional states.

Exhibit 5
Recreational Non-resident Fishing Comparison

Cost of Annual Fishing Licenses by Type

As of May 2021

State Freshwater Fishing Saltwater All Water
Louisiana $60.00 $90.00* $90.00
Alabama** $60.90 $63.80 $124.70
Arkansas $50.00 N/A N/A
Florida $47.00 $47.00 $94.00
Georgia $50.00
Mississippi $64.29 $34.29 $98.58
Texas $58.00 $63.00 $68.00
Average: $55.03 $51.62 $87.06
Difference between
Louisiana & Regional $4.97 $38.38 $2.94
Average
*This includes $60 for basic fishing plus an additional $30 for saltwater fishing.
**Alabama costs vary by states so we used the regional state average. The state charges Louisiana residents
$62.20 for freshwater and $91.10 for saltwater licenses.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’ wildlife and
fisheries agencies' websites.

Louisiana’s resident basic game, resident duck, and non-resident big game
hunting license fees are lower than the average of other regional states, while other
Louisiana recreational resident and non-resident hunting license fees are comparable or
higher. Louisiana resident hunters must purchase a basic hunting license, which costs
$15.00 per year. In addition to the basic license, a variety of other hunting licenses are
available at an additional cost. The most commonly purchased hunting licenses from fiscal
years 2016 through 2020 were the resident basic hunting license and the resident big game
license. On average, the purchase of these two licenses accounted for $3.7 million in revenue
annually, including $3.0 million in contributions to the Conservation Fund.

Non-resident hunters must also be licensed to hunt in Louisiana. Some of the most
common non-resident licenses sold include hunting season licenses, small game/migratory
bird one-day licenses, and one-day deer hunting licenses. On average, non-resident hunting
licenses accounted for $6.0 million revenue annually, including $5.4 million in net
contributions to the Conservation Fund.
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While Louisiana’s resident basic hunting fee is $1.42 lower than the regional average,
the cost for residents to hunt big game in Louisiana is $2.54 higher than the average of the
other regional states. Louisiana’s cost to hunt with a bow or primitive weapon is higher than
all six regional states. Three (50%) of the six states we reviewed do not charge additional
fees for hunting with a bow or primitive weapon, but instead include this cost in the basic and
big game hunting fees.

Louisiana’s cost to hunt duck was $3.80 less than the regional average. If Louisiana
adopted the regional average duck hunting license fee and the number of licenses sold
remained the same, it may generate approximately $94,000 in additional revenue annually.
Exhibit 6 compares the costs of Louisiana recreational resident hunting licenses to those of
other regional states.

Exhibit 6
Resident Recreational Hunting Comparison

Cost of Annual Hunting Licenses by Type

As of May 2021
. Basic/Small . o Bow and Primitive
License Type Game Big Game* | Duck/Waterfowl Hunting**
Louisiana $15.00 $34.50 $20.50 $50.00
Alabama $18.70 $28.20 $29.70 $28.20
Arkansas $10.50 $25.00 $17.50 $25.00
Florida $17.00 $32.00 $22.00 $37.00
Georgia $15.00 $40.00 $20.00 $40.00
Mississippi*** $12.29 $34.58 $24.58 $43.58
Texas $25.00 $32.00 $32.00 $32.00
Average: $16.42 $31.96 $24.30 $34.30
Difference between
Louisiana & Regional ($1.42) $2.54 ($3.80) $15.70
Average
*This cost includes hunting deer and turkey for each state we reviewed. Some states also include additional species such
as bobcat and bear.
**This includes the total cost for archery, crossbow hunting, muzzleloaders, and primitive firearms for each state in
additional to the basic/small game license required. Some states’ basic/small game and big game licenses include bow
and primitive hunting, while other regional states require an additional license.
***Mississippi does not license resident hunting and freshwater fishing separately; therefore, these licenses include the
ability to freshwater fish.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’ wildlife and fisheries
agencies' websites.

While the cost for a recreational non-resident big game hunting license in Louisiana
is lower than the average of the other regional states, Louisiana’s other non-resident hunting
fees are comparable or higher than the regional average. Specifically, this ranges from
Louisiana’s basic/small game hunting license being $2.97 more than the regional average to
$39.00 more for hunting with a bow and primitive weapon. Exhibit 7 compares the costs of
Louisiana’s recreational non-resident hunting licenses to those of other regional states.
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Exhibit 7
Non-resident Recreational Hunting Comparison

Cost of Annual Hunting Licenses by Type

As of May 202
s Basic/Small ] . Bow and Primitive
License Type Game Big Game Duck/Waterfowl Hunting**
Louisiana $150.00 $320.50 $175.00 $352.00
Alabama $106.40 $325.90 $117.40 $325.90
Arkansas $110.00 $350.00 $145.00 $350.00
Florida $151.50 $281.50 $156.50 $171.50
Georgia $100.00 $325.00 $105.00 $325.00
Mississippi $99.29 $356.16 $120.58 $383.58
Texas $315.00 $441.00 $322.00 $322.00
Average: $147.03 $346.59 $161.08 313.00
Difference between
Louisiana & Regional $2.97 ($26.09) $13.92 $39.00
Average
*This cost includes hunting deer and turkey for each state we reviewed. Some states also include additional species, such as
bobcat and bear.
**This includes the total cost for archery, crossbow hunting, muzzleloaders, and primitive firearms for each state in addition to
the basic/small game license required. Some states’ basic/small game and big game licenses include bow and primitive hunting,
while other regional states require an additional license.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’ wildlife and fisheries
agencies' websites.

The cost for non-resident hunters presented above is calculated using the fee currently
charged by LDWF; however, state law'! allows LDWF to charge more than it currently does
for the non-resident basic, non-resident big game, and for hunting with a bow or primitive
firearm. These fees were lowered by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission in February
2001 in response to discussions between Louisiana and Mississippi regarding non-resident
license fees. If Louisiana were to charge the amount allowed in state law, the cost for basic
hunting would be $200, the cost for big game would be $425,'? and additional licenses to
hunt with bow or primitive firearms would be $50 each. This would have resulted in
$1.7 million in additional revenue from fiscal years 2016 through 2020.

Louisiana’s lifetime combination license fees are lower than the average of those
of other regional states. Louisiana residents may purchase a lifetime hunting, fishing, or
combination hunting and fishing license. The cost of lifetime licenses varies according to the
resident’s age at the time of purchase. On average, sales of lifetime hunting and fishing
licenses resulted in $1.9 million annually from fiscal years 2016 through 2020.

Louisiana’s resident combination hunting and fishing lifetime licenses are
significantly lower than the average charged by the other regional states. As shown in
Exhibit 8, Louisiana’s licenses are less than half the average price of the other regional states

11 R.S. 56:104 and R.S. 56:105.
12 Includes $200 basic hunting fee and $225 fee for big game
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for each license category. If Louisiana adopted the average recreational fee schedule of the
other regional states reviewed and the number of licenses sold remained the same, it may
result in approximately $3.4 million in additional revenue annually.

Exhibit 8
Lifetime Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing License Fees
As of May 2021
State Infant Child Adult Senior*
Louisiana $200.00 $300.00 $500.00 $50.00
Alabama** $987.70 $1,148.05 $1,486.35 $0
Arkansas $1,000.00 $35.50
Florida $401.50 $701.50 $1,001.50 $0
Georgia** $500.00 $600.00 $750.00 $70.00
Mississippi $500.00 $1,000.00
Texas $1,800.00
Average $864.87 $958.26 $1,172.98 $484.25
Difference between
Louisiana & Regional
Average (3664.87) ($658.26) (8$672.98) ($434.25)
*Alabama and Florida exempt residents aged 65 and older from purchasing basic fishing and hunting
licenses.
**Alabama also offers additional license for residents aged 50-64, and Georgia also offers additional
license for residents aged 50-59 and 60-64.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’
wildlife and fisheries agencies' websites.

Louisiana does not require youth under the Exhibit 9

age of 16 to purchase hunting or fishing licenses, Youth Licenses by State
which prevents LDWF from receiving additional
federal grant funds. Unl?ke some o‘ther regional State* Hunting Fishing
states, such as Texas, Florida, Georgia, and . ) .

. . . . Louisiana No license required
Mississippi, Louisiana does not offer youth licenses for Alab No li irod
hunters and fishermen under the age of 16. Texas abama 0 1cense require
requires a youth hunting license, while Florida, Arkansas No license required
Georgia, and Mississippi offer voluntary youth hunting | Florida** $17.00 $17.00
and fishing licenses. Florida and Georgia’s youth Georgia** $15.00 $10.00
licenses are multi-year and valid until a person’s 17 Mississippi $5.00
birthday. Exhibit 9 provides the youth license fees for No license
hunting and fishing charged by other regional states. Texas $7.00 required

*Florida, Georgia, and Mississippi’s youth licenses

. . . . . are voluntary.
Requiring a youth combination hunting and *+Valid through person’s 17% birthday

fishing license could result in LDWF receiving an Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff
additional $882,982 in federal funds per year based on | using information from other regional states’
the number of youths who obtained hunting tags in websites.

2020. The Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration Program within the U.S. Fish & Wildlife

10
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Service Department provides grants to states for management and restoration of wildlife.'?
The amount a state is apportioned is partially dependent on the number of individuals who
purchased a hunting or fishing license in that state. Therefore, the number of individual
hunting/fishing license holders impacts a state’s apportionment. As such, LDWF could
qualify for additional federal grant funding if state law would require youth to purchase
hunting and fishing licenses. According to LDWF, it receives an average of $36 per hunting
license sold, $9.20 per fishing license sold, and $45.20 for each combination license sold in
federal funds. In fiscal year 2020, 19,535 youths secured hunting tags.'* Based on this
number, we estimate that the state could increase federal grant funds by $703,260 annually if
it charges a nominal fee for youth hunting licenses, or by $882,982 if it establishes a youth
combination hunting and fishing license.

Louisiana’s commercial resident and non-resident fishing license fees are
comparable or higher than the average of other regional states. During the period of
fiscal years 2016 through 2020, LDWF sold 92 different types of commercial hunting and
fishing licenses. The commercial licenses with the most revenue were the resident
commercial fisherman license and non-resident commercial fisherman license. The total
revenue from the sale of these two licenses accounted for an average of $949,510 annually
during fiscal years 2016 through 2020, including an average of $896,509 annually in net
contributions to the Conservation Fund. Both Louisiana’s resident and non-resident
commercial fishing license includes the ability to fish in freshwater and saltwater.

The cost of a commercial fishing license in Louisiana for residents is comparable or
higher than the average of other regional states. The cost of commercial freshwater fishing in
Louisiana is $16.33 more than the regional average, and its resident commercial saltwater fee
is $6.60 higher. In comparison, the resident commercial all water fishing license is
comparable to the regional average. Exhibit 10 compares Louisiana’s resident commercial
fishing license fees to those of other regional states.

13 Wildlife & Sport Fish Restoration Program funding comes from federal excise taxes on hunting and fishing
equipment (such as ammunition, bows, fishing reels, etc.) as well as fuel and electric motor taxes.
14 There is no similar metric to estimate the number of youth fishermen in the state. A tag is a physical permit
that must be carried while hunting and must be attached to an animal immediately after it is killed.
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Exhibit 10
Resident Commercial Fishing License Fees
As of May 2021
Resident Resident Resident
Commercial Commercial Commercial All-

State Freshwater Saltwater Water
Louisiana $55.00
Alabama $100.00 $110.00 $110.00
Arkansas $25.00 N/A N/A
Florida $25.00 $50.00 $75.00
Georgia $25.00
Mississippi $31.00
Texas $26.00
Average $38.67 $48.40 $53.40
Difference between
Louisiana & Regional
Average $16.33 $6.60 $1.60
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’ wildlife
and fisheries agencies' websites.

Louisiana’s non-resident commercial fisherman license fee is higher than the average
of all other regional states. Louisiana’s non-resident freshwater license cost is $278.70
higher, and its non-resident saltwater license cost is $256.70 higher than the average of other
regional states. Furthermore, Louisiana’s non-resident commercial all-water license cost is
$236.70 higher than the average of other regional states. Exhibit 11 compares Louisiana’s
non-resident commercial fisherman license fees to those of other regional states.

Exhibit 11

Non-resident Commercial Fishing License Fees

As of May 2021
Non-resident Non-resident Non-resident
Commercial Commercial Commercial
State Freshwater Saltwater All-Water
Louisiana $460
Alabama* $209.50 | $219.50 | $219.50
Arkansas** N/A
Florida $100.00 | $200.00 | $300.00
Georgia $205.00
Mississippi $203.00
Texas** $189.00
Average $181.30 $203.30 $223.30
Difference between
Louisiana &
Regional Average $278.70 $256.70 $236.70
* Alabama assesses non-resident licenses based on the state of the resident. The value reported reflects the average of
these fees for other regional states.
**Arkansas does not offer non-resident commercial fishing licenses.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Louisiana state law and other regional states’ wildlife and
fisheries agencies' websites.
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In addition to the general commercial fishing license, some states offer a variety of
species-specific commercial licenses, which increase cost of commercial fishing. These
additional licenses are often sold for species found in these states’ geographic area. For
example, Florida, Louisiana, and Texas offer species-specific licenses that are sold in
addition to, or in lieu of, the general commercial fisherman’s license. Florida offers a resident
stone crab endorsement for $125 that must be purchased in addition to the commercial
saltwater fisherman’s license. Similarly, Louisiana offers a resident oyster harvester license
for $100 that must be purchased in addition to its commercial fisherman’s license.'®
Although Texas does not require a general commercial fisherman’s license for persons that
hold a commercial crab fisherman’s license,!® the fee to fish crab commercially for residents
is $630.

Louisiana’s boater registration fees are lower than four (66.7%) of the six other
regional states. If Louisiana adopted a fee structure similar to these other states, it may
result in a $4.4 million increase in revenue over a three-year renewal period. All owners

of motorized boats!” are required by state Exhibit 12

law'® to be registered to be able to operate Louisiana Boater Registration Fees

in Louisiana waters. This registration must Due every 3 years

be renewed every three years, and the As of

registration fee is dependent on the length Boat Length Amount*

of the bqat. On average, boater. ' 14 feet or less $32
registrations generated $3.9 million Botween 14 and 18 feet 637

annually during the period of fiscal years
2016 through 2020. Exhibit 12 shows 18 feet or greater $42 plus $2 fg:/ :ra(il;g t;(;(;:
Louisiana’s current boater fee schedule. *Includes $3 postage fee and $9 fee for the Aquatic Plant
Control Fund. This does not apply to houseboats, as their

While the boater registration fee registration fees are paid directly into the Derelict Houseboat
. . . Fund Account.

schedules for Louisiana and the six other Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using fees
regional states reviewed are all based on from state law.
boat length, Louisiana’s schedule varies
because its fees are based on different boat lengths than most other regional states. Also,
Louisiana — along with Arkansas, Georgia, and Mississippi — requires boat owners to renew
their registration once every three years, while Alabama and Florida renew annually. Texas
requires registration every two years. Exhibit 13 shows the range of costs for each regional
state we reviewed if they each renewed once every three years. Appendix G provides the
boater registration fee schedules for each state reviewed. If Louisiana adopted a boater fee
structure similar to the average of the other regional states we reviewed and the number of
registrations sold remained the same, it may result in $4.4 million additional revenue over a
three-year renewal period.

15 Gear fees of $25 per scraper and $30 per tong are also required for residents to harvest oysters.

16 Texas does not require the purchase of the general commercial license from persons holding a commercial
shrimp boat captain’s license, commercial oyster boat captain’s license, a bait dealers license and catching bait
only, commercial finfish fisherman’s license, Class A and Class B menhaden boat license, or the crew of a
licensed commercial shrimp boat.

17 Including sailboats over 12 feet and houseboats.

18 R.S. 34:851.19-20
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Exhibit 13
Boater Registration Fee Comparison

Three Year Registration*

As of May 2021

State Lowest Fee Highest Fee
Louisiana $32.00 | $42.00 plus $2.00 for each foot over 18 feet
Alabama $60.00 $300.00
Arkansas $7.50 $105.00
Florida $24.75 $577.50
Georgia $35.00 $210.00
Mississippi $10.20 $47.70
Texas $48.00 $225.00
*We calculated three-year fee costs for all states since Louisiana’s renewal period is
every three years.
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using fees from state law and from other
regional states’ websites.

During fiscal years 2016 through 2020, LDWF paid third-party vendors
$4.4 million in agent commissions for the issuance of recreational licenses. In addition,
LDWEF contracted with two different companies for vendor services at a cost of
$6.4 million during that same timeframe. LDWF currently sells recreational hunting and
fishing licenses'? at its headquarters, on its website, and through third-party vendors (i.e.,
Academy or Walmart). LDWF offers the sale of recreational licenses through third-party
vendors or its website to provide additional access and convenience to their consumers.
From fiscal year 2016 through 2020, less than 1% of recreational licenses were sold directly
through LDWF. When recreational licenses are sold outside of headquarters, state law?°
allows for an agent commission fee, which ranges from $0.50 to $1.00 depending on the type
of license purchased.

From fiscal years 2016 through 2020, LDWF maintained contracts with The Active
Network (Active) and Sportsman Sovereign Solutions (S3)?! to facilitate electronic licensing
services, including providing licensing equipment to third-party vendors, and providing help
desk services to vendors and customers. Additional services such as phone-in availability to
report deer and turkey harvests and boater registration renewals were also included. For these
services, LDWF currently pays an $0.89 electronic licensing service fee to S3 per license and
privilege sold, which is in addition to the agent commissions paid to third-party vendors.??

19 Commercial licenses are not subject to these transaction fees as they are maintained on a separate, standalone
data system.

20R.S. 56:103(F) and R.S. 56:302.5 establish a $0.50 agent fee for resident and military recreational hunting
and fishing licenses, and a $1.00 agent fee for non-resident recreational hunting and fishing licenses.
Recreational hunting and fishing licenses that are sold through LDWF headquarters or through its website are
not charged an agent commission fee.

2l LDWF contracted with The Active Network from May 2006 to January 2018 and contracted with S3 from
February 2018 through November 2024.

22 The Active Network charged LDWF $0.78 per transaction.
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LDWEF has paid a total of $10.8 million in commissions and fees from fiscal years
2016 through 2020 related to the sale of recreational hunting and fishing licenses. Of this
amount, LDWF paid $4.4 million in agent commission fees and $6.4 million to Active and
S3 for electronic licensing services. While third-party vendors withhold the agent fee from
their payments to LDWF, S3 invoices LDWF for the transaction fees separately on a monthly
basis.?* Louisiana does not add the agent commission fees or electronic licensing service
fees to the cost of recreational licenses, unlike Mississippi, which adds an agent fee and
process fee to the cost of each license it sells. Exhibit 14 shows the electronic licensing

service fees and agent commissions paid by year and type from fiscal year 2016 through
fiscal year 2020.

Exhibit 14
Electronic Licensing Fees and Agent Commissions by Year and Type
Fiscal Years 2016 through 2020

$2,500,000
$2,000,000

$953,387 $868,959 $827,621 $838,567
$1,500,000 $908,189
$1,000,000

1,306,660 1,309,253 1,297,786 $1,332,144

SO
2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
Electronic licensing service fees Agent commissions

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information provided by LDWF; including unaudited information.

2 For online license purchases, (S3) charges a $2.00 service fee to the customer.
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MATTERS FOR LEGISLATIVE CONSIDERATION

Matter for Legislative Consideration: The legislature may wish to consider
increasing fishing and hunting license fees for those commonly-purchased licenses
that are lower than the average of other regional states when evaluating LDWF’s
license fees.

Matter for Legislative Consideration: The legislature may wish to consider
charging a nominal license fee for youth hunting and fishing licenses, or a youth
combination license in order to increase Louisiana’s federal grant funding.

Matter for Legislative Consideration: The legislature may wish to consider
allowing LDWF to add agent commission fees and electronic licensing service fees to
the cost of recreational fishing and licenses to ensure that the full amount of license
fees goes toward the state’s wildlife and fisheries programs.

16






APPENDIX A: MANAGEMENT’S RESPONSE







JOHN BEL EDWARDS
GOVERNOR

JACK MONTOUCET
SECRETARY

PO BOX 98000 | BATON ROUGE LA | 70898

19 May 2021

Mr. Mike Waguespack, CPA
Louisiana Legislative Auditor
P.O. Box 94397

Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Dear Mr. Waguespack:

The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (Department) appreciates the Legislative Auditor reviewing our
current recreational and commercial license fee structure. The Department agrees with the
recommendations offered for legislature consideration; however, we would like to provide additional
information that is relevant to this audit. As stated in the report, Louisiana has not had an increase in
recreational hunting and fishing license fees since 2000, The report compares the license fees of Louisiana
to that of the surrounding southern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Texas; it
should be noted that all other states in this comparison have had increases in their fees since 2000. Unlike
many of the southern states used in the comparison, this Department has not historically received general
fund monies in order to operate; rather, it relies on various sources of self-generated revenue, including
mineral royalties from Department-owned property and license sales.

The Department has been able to avoid increasing license fees due to the mineral revenue derived from
Department-owned or managed Wildlife Management Areas and Refuges. However, in recent years these
mineral revenues, which were once as high as $70 million per year, have been reduced to less than $12
million annually. With mineral revenue on a rapid decline, the Department has been forced to evaluate
all revenue sources and expenditures in order to provide programs and services critical to the
Department’s mission and attempt to maintain independence from receiving general fund money. The
audit report references the Department’s decrease in overall expenditures of $7.8 million from fiscal years
2016 to 2020. This amount accounts for approximately 6% of the Department’s overall budget, but
undervalues the expenditure reduction efforts of the Department. While the Department has reduced
expenditures overall, we have focused those reductions on Conservation Fund expenditures and not on
federal funding or grants that would otherwise be forfeited is not expended. To clarify and for context,
the Department has reduced discretionary expenditures in the Conservation Fund by 38% over the past
five years. These cost savings measures include eliminating 81 non-permanent positions, holding 77
vacancies for fuli-time equivalent positions, and reducing expenditures for travel, operating services,
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supplies, major repairs and contracts. Unfortunately, these aggressive measures to reduce expenditures
are insufficient to fill the ever-widening gap left by the decrease in revenues.

In order to address the deficiencies caused by decreases in the Department’s revenue and recognizing the
increasing costs of goods and labor, the Department has proposed an adjustment to its current license
fees and structure. This restructure will help provide the means for the Department to be able to continue
to manage the State’s natural resources, as well as simplifying and streamlining the licenses available for
Louisiana citizens. It is being presented in the 2021 Regular Session as House Bill 691 authored by
Representative Tony Bacala. We helieve HB 691 addresses several key issues outlined in this audit.
However, we would like to clarify some additional points as it relates to the recreational licensing aspect
of the audit report:

The audit report notes that the Department sold 85 different recreational licenses between fiscal
years 2016 and 2020. Though only 85 different licenses were sold, the Department actually offers
115 different recreational licenses. HB 691 will combine privileges along with offering more value
through fewer licenses. This change will provide for a more intuitive purchasing experience and
minimize confusion for resident and nonresident consumers.

Pages 5 and 6 of the audit report offers contradictory analysis of existing license fees as compared
to surrounding southern states in regards to the price of current recreational saltwater fishing
privileges. For clarification, Louisiana does not offer a standalone saltwater license, which was
improperly included in the comparison, and we are significantly cheaper than the Regional
average in the Freshwater and All water license categories. HB 691 will increase these fees and
bring the Department’s license fees to slightly above the average. Additionally, Louisiana’s
estuaries provide for abundant fisheries habitat, as a result Louisiana anglers enjoy much more
liberal bag limits for many popular recreational species for the cost of the license as compared to
other Gulf states.

Pages 7 and 8 of the audit report identifies the current hunting structure as being above the region
average when considering big game, bow and primitive hunting licenses. It should be noted that
the big game license conveys privileges to hunt deer and turkey, and that an examination of those
species separately would provide a more accurate cost comparison. Nevertheless, HB 691
removes the big game requirement and combines the bow and primitive licenses with a deer
license that will be comparable to the regional average at $35.

The Department agrees with the comparison of lifetime licenses and youth among the other
states. HB 691 does have a limited youth licenses and addresses the disparity of the lifetime
licenses offered in Louisiana.

The Department has concerns that the report was not able to fully capture the intricacies of the
commercial licenses in other states, or provide perspective on the value of Louisiana commercial fishing
in comparison to the landings of the other states. Commercial licenses are difficult to compare across
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multiple states, as each state handles their commercial industries differently. Some states have lower
commercial fees, but have very high barriers to entry. One such example is Florida; their commercial fees
are much less expensive than Louisiana; however, a person cannot become a licensed shrimper unless
they provide 5,000 pounds in trip ticket landings. Individuals in Florida also cannot become a licensed crab
fisherman unless they buy the license from an existing licensed fisherman. Additionally, Florida has a
moratorium on crab licenses.

In comparison, Louisiana has a relatively open commercial industry. Of all Gulf seafood landed in the U.S.,
67% is landed in Louisiana. That is more than ail other states mentioned in the report combined. The
audit report noted that the Louisiana commercial license is higher than Texas. The Department would
like to add that every species commercially harvested in Texas is more expensive than Louisiana, once all
gear and license fees are considered.

The Department recognizes that an increase of fees is always a concern for the user group, especially
given the length of time between the last license fee adjustment. Like this audit report, we examined the
prices of other states for comparable licenses when developing HB 691. While some of the proposed
license fees in HB 691 may be slightly higher than the regional average, the proposed costs are well within
the range of what neighboring states offer for similar privileges.

Again, the Department appreciates the time and scale of this audit report. We believe that HB 691 will
be able to provide exceptional value to our users and align Louisiana’s license fees with surrounding
states, simplify our license structure as a whole, reinvest revenue into those activities and industries that
have paid for relevant privileges and provide adequate funding such that the Department can provide
programs and services consistent with our mission.

Sincerely,

Bryan McClinton
Undersecretary
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APPENDIX B: SCOPE AND METHODOLOGY

This report provides the results of our performance audit of the Louisiana Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). We conducted this performance audit under the provisions of
Title 24 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. This audit covered fiscal years
2016 through 2020. Our audit objective was:

To provide information on how LDWF’s fees for certain licenses compare to other regional
states.

We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally-accepted Government
Auditing Standards issued by the Comptroller General of the United States. Those standards
require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide
reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objective. We believe the
evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our
audit objective. To answer our objective, we reviewed internal controls relevant to the audit
objective and performed the following audit steps:

. Researched and reviewed applicable state law and regulations to identify
Louisiana’s fishing and hunting license fee structure and the last period they were
changed.

. Interviewed agency staff throughout the audit to gain an understanding of
LDWEF’s fee structure, staffing, budget concerns, expenditures, and sources of
funding.

. Obtained and summarized information from LDWF’s annual reports from fiscal
years 2016 through 2020 to present LDWEF’s sources of funding.

. Obtained Conservation Fund balance information from the Department of
Treasury and analyzed trends in the fund balance from fiscal years 2016 through
2020.

. Obtained and summarized cross-year expenditure reports from Business Objects

to document LDWF expenditures for fiscal years 2016 through 2020.

. Obtained and analyzed LDWF recreational, commercial, and boater registration
fee data for fiscal years 2016 through 2020 to determine the revenue associated
with recreational, commercial, and boater registration fees and the number of
these licenses sold.

. In our review of LDWF recreational data, we identified 9,448 records in
which data fields did not contain the correct type of data, such as customer
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IDs that reflected license types, date issued fields with license prices
included, agent fees that reflected customer IDs, and other errors. As these
records accounted for 0.06% of the original 15,605,237 records, we chose
to exclude them from our analysis as they would not significantly impact
our conclusions.

. Boater registration data had 78 boats with a length listed as less than two
feet in length due to issues during data migration to LDWEF’s current
system. To account for this issue, we classified these boats as in the lowest
length category as a conservative estimate. In addition, boater registration
revenues may be underreported by up to $481,420 due to adjustments that
may or may not correspond to boater registrations.

Identified common Louisiana recreational and commercial licenses, and
compared the associated license fee to those of other regional states (i.e.,
Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, and Texas). Because states’
license structures vary, we compared the cost of a privilege rather than the
individual license fees. For example, an annual Louisiana saltwater fishing license
is $13.00, but a person must first purchase a $9.50 basic fishing license; therefore,
the actual cost of a Louisiana saltwater fishing license is $22.50. When
Louisiana’s fees were lower than other regional states, we determined the revenue
that LDWF may collect if the number of licenses purchased remained the same.

. In making comparisons between Louisiana’s fees and those of other states,
we considered any license fee within plus or minus five percent of the
average as “‘comparable.”

Obtained the amount of federal funds received per license from LDWF, and based
on the number of youth who were issued hunting tags in fiscal year 2020, we
calculated potential federal funding available to Louisiana with the addition of
youth licenses.

Compared boater registration fees in Louisiana to those of other regional states
and determined the revenue that LDWF may collect over a three-year registration
period if the number of registrations purchased remained the same.

Using agent fees contained in the recreational license data, calculated the amount
paid to third-party vendors from fiscal years 2016 through 2020.

Obtained copy of contracts with The Active Network and Sovereign Sportsman
Solutions, examples of invoices from LDWF, and LDWF expenditure data to
determine total amounts paid for duration of these contracts.
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APPENDIX C: NUMBER OF RECREATIONAL LICENSES SOLD

FISCAL YEARS 2016 THROUGH 2020

License e e 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

FEDERAL DUCK STAMP $27.22 84,388 80,171 77,707 75487 71,398
FEDERAL DUCK STAMP-
ORIGINAL STAMP $25.00 00 0 0 0 256
FISH/SALTWATER —
DISABLED $0.00 451 452 390 404 432
HUNT — DISABLED $0.00 117 111 133 235 285
HUNT/FISH — DISABLED $0.00 6,330 6,619 6,700 6,934 7,122
LOUISIANA DISABLED
FISHING $2.50 2,260 2,354 2,206 2,053 2,117
LOUISIANA DISABLED
SALTWATER $2.50 1,513 1,669 1,526 1,433 1,460
LOUISIANA NATIVE BIG
GAME 5 DAY $14.00 2,572 2,554 2,493 2,339 2,376
LOUISIANA NATIVE BOW | ¢, 5, 204 206 153 194 195
5 DAY
LOUISIANA NATIVE
DUCK 5 DAY $5.50 1233 1,179 1,001 855 722
LOUISIANA NATIVE
HUNT 5 DAY $15.00 4395 4274 3,824 3,596 3,494
LOUISIANA NATIVE
PRIMITIVE FIREARMS 5 $10.50 118 126 121 126 120
DAY
LOUISIANA NATIVE
TURKEY 5 DAY $5.50 97 69 51 56 49
LIFETIME COMBINATION
(AGE 5 - 13) $300.00 1,099 999 1274 1,132 895
LIFETIME COMBINATION
(AGE 14 AND UP) $500.00 1,739 1,692 2,053 1,718 1373
LIFETIME FISHING
(AGE 5 13) $200.00 29 32 55 34 35
LIFETIME FISHING
(AGE 14 AND UP) $300.00 221 263 357 274 236
LIFETIME HUNTING
(AGES - 13) $200.00 20 14 20 18 23
LIFETIME HUNTING
(AGE 14 AND UP) $300.00 182 170 210 185 120
LIFETIME HUNT/FISH
(AGE 0 - 4) $200.00 2,022 2,020 2,762 2,298 2,040
LIFETIME NON-RESIDENT
HUNT/FISH $3,000.00 4 5 7 8 10
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License e 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

LIFETIME NON-RESIDENT
NATIVE DISABLED $300.00 1 9 5 2 3
VETERAN COMBINATION
LIFETIME SENIOR
COMBINATION $50.00 1,068 1,050 1,643 1365 1,130
NON-RESIDENT
ALLIGATOR SPORTS $150.00 850
HUNTER
NON-RESIDENT BIG
GAME SEASON $150.00 1278 1257 1,244 1,281 1,304
NON-RESIDENT BOW
HUNTING $26.00 332 362 342 340 351
NON-RESIDENT CHARTER
SKIFE 3 DAY $30.00 3,041 3,498 3,594 4,031 3,339
NON-RESIDENT DEER 1 $36.00 5,350 5,607 5714 5,496 5,735
DAY
NON-RESIDENT DUCK $25.00 3,617 3,713 3,686 2,651 2,532
NON-RESIDENT FISH
SEASON $60.00 30,267 30,171 30,380 27.511 27,550
Ifgi?ESIDENT FISHTRIP | ¢ 4 86,294 86,833 82.231 71,818 71,521
NON-RESIDENT HUNTING
PRESERVE $15.00 894 895 911 265 308
NON-RESIDENT HUNTING
SEASON $150.00 4.458 4,588 4511 4341 4386
NON-RESIDENT
PRIMITIVE FIREARMS $26.00 247 233 227 258 273
NON-RESIDENT
SALTWATER FISH $30.00 25351 24,811 23,953 22.473 21,793
SEASON
NON-RESIDENT
SALTWATER TRIP | DAY $17.50 64,130 61,798 58.432 58,982 53,048
NON-RESIDENT SMALL
GAME/MIGRATORY BIRD | $29.00 20,523 21,605 21,626 21,344 20,948
1 DAY
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
BASIC FISH $9.50 111 133 130 121 110
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
BASIC HUNT $15.00 94 103 104 95 91
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
BIG GAME $14.00 62 62 71 61 58
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT | ¢ o ) 20 ’g 57 ”
BOW
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
DUCK $5.50 78 87 82 87 69
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
PRIMITIVE FIREARMS $10.50 ) > 8 8 8
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
SALTWATER FISH $5.50 84 100 103 99 87
NON-RESIDENT STUDENT
TURKEY $5.50 22 31 28 31 16
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License e 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

NON-RESIDENT TRAPPER | $200.00 32 36 33 28 30
g?;'RESIDENT TURKEY 11 ¢3¢ 00 600 700 397 383 382
NON-RESIDENT WILD
TURKEY $20.50 143 166 139 125 132
OUTDOOR PRESS FISH 3
DAY $0.00 4 7 1
OUTDOOR PRESS HUNT 3
DAY $0.00 2 1
RESIDENT DISABLED
BASIC HUNT $5.00 1,522 1,486 1,358 1,241 1,187
RESIDENT DISABLED BIG
GAME $5.00 1.421 1.405 1,270 1,140 1,079
RESIDENT DISABLED
BOW HUNTING $5.00 596 583 532 481 476
RESIDENT DISABLED
PRIMITIVE FIREARMS $5.00 784 760 723 663 676
RESIDENT FACILITY
FISH/SALTWATER $0.00 10 87 10 82
PL{E\%DENT HOOK AND $2.50 8.306 8,190 6,946 5.795 6,408
RESIDENT LOUISIANA
GUARD HUNT/FISH $50.00 89 77 62 50 45
RESIDENT LOUISIANA
SPORTS PARADISE $100.00 7.952 8,230 8,375 9,766 10,381
RESIDENT TRAPPER
(AGE 14 AND UNDER) $5.00 96 64 96 217 256
RESIDENT TRAPPER
(AGE 15 AND UP) $25.00 2,282 2,031 2,223 2242 2372
RESIDENT WILD TURKEY $5.50 9,529 8,783 7,745 7,105 7.427
RESIDENT/NATIVE
RETIRED MILITARY $5.00 319 464 473 570 518
HUNT/FISH
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT CHARTER PASS | $10.00 57.850 58,913 63,938 71,339 57,084
3 DAY
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $10.50 182 158 131 236 203
PRIMITIVE FIREARMS
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY BIG | $14.00 1,432 1338 1210 1,543 1,404
GAME
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $10.50 542 496 435 617 536
BOW
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $5.50 715 668 611 803 721
DUCK
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $9.50 7434 7,266 7112 7,754 7273
FISHING
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License e 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $15.00 1,997 1,891 1,768 2310 2,173
HUNTING
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $5.50 4231 4,157 4,064 4,621 3,911
SALTWATER
RESIDENT/NON-
RESIDENT MILITARY $5.50 283 221 163 231 245
TURKEY
RESIDENT ALLIGATOR
SPORTS HUNTER $25.00 639
RESIDENT BASIC FISH $9.50 404,508 373,062 344,888 319,659 371,762
RESIDENT BASIC HUNT $15.00 164,174 152,163 143,406 131,175 125,689
RESIDENT BIG GAME $14.00 120,898 113,022 108,213 99,727 96,473
RESIDENT BOW HUNTING | $10.50 30,662 27.969 26,625 25328 24,299
RESIDENT DUCK $5.50 59,834 54,011 49,807 43,864 39,545
RESIDENT PRIMITIVE
FIREARMS $10.50 31,386 29.226 27.296 26,923 26,090
RESIDENT SALTWATER $13.00 249,256 227,670 211,289 194,805 212,370
RESIDENT SENIOR
HUNT/FISH $5.00 120,450 120,372 124,255 125,146 136,942
SUBSTANCE ABUSE
PISHING $9.50 10 6 6
SUBSTANCE ABUSE
SALTWATER $5.50 10 4 4
WILD LOUISIANA STAMP $2.00 295 1,555 2,398 1,489
1 DAY
WILD LOUISIANA STAMP $9.50 977 859 853 2,071 785
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT
ARBA HUNTING PERMIT $15.00 40,515 36,824 34,254 31473 29,752

Total 1,687,357 | 1,595,535 | 1,524,428 | 1443907 | 1,481,136

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using recreational data provided by LDWF.
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APPENDIX D: NUMBER OF COMMERCIAL LICENSES SOLD

FISCAL YEARS 2016 THROUGH 2020

License Price Per | 016 | 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

RESIDENT COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN | $55.00 | 11,668 | 10,791 10,061 9,771 9.422
RESIDENT VESSEL LICENSE $15.00 9642 | 9,097 8459 | 8,170 | 8,026
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT SEAFOOD
TRANSPORT WHOLESALE/RETAIL $30.00 2,995 | 3,061 2801 | 2.874| 2,79
DEALER
RESIDENT FRESH PRODUCTS $20.00 1,958 1,603 1,479 1,392 1,463
RESIDENT SEAFOOD WHOLESALE/
RETAIL-BUSINESS $250.00 | 1,179 1,138 1,128 1,127 1,123
Z%TISR COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN & 1 ¢5) 0 1,029 1,005 996 988 950
RESIDENT OYSTER HARVESTER $100.00 1 s 174 961 924 818 704
NON-RESIDENT COMMERCIAL
PISHERMAN $460.00 949 962 819 761 678
NON-RESIDENT VESSEL LICENSE $60.00 916 929 817 766 714
RESIDENT SEAFOOD RETAIL DEALER-
BUSINESS $105.00 865 834 849 811 776
RESIDENT CHARTER BOAT GUIDE 6
PASSENGER $250.00 765 738 799 760 739
RESIDENT SEAFOOD WHOLESALE/
RETAIL-VEHICLE $250.00 447 405 405 414 430
NON-RESIDENT SEAFOOD RETAIL
DEALER .BUSINESS $405.00 202 235 267 272 779
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT SHARK
PERMIT $0.00 377 362 362 294 262
TRIPLOID CARP POSSESS/TRANSPORT
PERMIT<500 $50.00 317 297 301 339 326
RESIDENT REPTLE & AMPHIBIAN
COLLECTOR $25.00 337 325 308 274 256
RESIDENT OYSTER SEED GROUND
VESSEL PERMIT-2 SCRAPER $500.00 333 365 327 282
RESIDENT /NON-RESIDENT
ALLIGATOR PARTS RETAILER $5.00 290 182 183 173 126
NUISANCE WILDLIFE CONTROL
OPERATOR $0.00 171 157 157 179 161
WHOLESALE OUT OF STATE CRAB
SHIPPING LICENSE $100.00 154 158 146 152 180
RESIDENT GAME BREEDER $25.00 178 162 143 136 127
NON-RESIDENT SEAFOOD
WHOLESALL/RETAILL -BUSINESS $1,105.00 128 139 138 142 143
NON-RESIDENT OYSTER HARVESTER $400.00 175 154 138 129 84
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License Fees

Appendix D

License Price Per | 016 | 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT SEAFOOD
TR ANSPORT-RETAIL DEALLR $30.00 126 121 120 130 129
NON-RESIDENT CHARTER BOAT
GUIDE 6 PASSENGER $1,500.00 112 126 119 131 125
RESIDENT SEAFOOD RETAIL DEALER-
VEHICLE $105.00 131 126 104 108 122
RESIDENT OYSTER SEED
GROUNDVESSEL PERMIT $15.00 566 6
RESIDENT FRESH PRODUCTS-SPOUSE $5.00 128 112 97 95 101
RESIDENT /NON-RESIDENT NON-
GAME QUADRUPED EREEDER $25.00 106 102 106 105 100
CALCASIEU LAKE OYSTER HARVEST
PERMIT $0.00 135 136 74 59 86
RESIDENT OYSTER SEED
GROUNDVESSEL PERMIT-1 SCRAPER $250.00 117 126 107 130
RESIDENT /NON-RESIDENT
TRANSPORT COMMERCIAL $30.00 82 88 97 101 106
FISHERMAN
NON-RESIDENT SEAFOOD
WHOLESALE /RETAIL-VEHICLE §1 ’ 105.00 67 82 7 81 85
RESIDENT MULLET PERMIT $100.00 77 76 61 65 42
IS{IEIS;FDENT/N ON-RESIDENT CHARTER $50.00 63 69 57 64 65
RESIDENT COYOTE TRAPPING PERMIT | $25.00 46 57 63 83 66
SPECIAL BAIT PERMIT $110.00 54 62 57 62 61
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT WILDLIFE
REHABILITATOR/NO DEER $0.00 64 49 S0 64 7
NON-RESIDENT REPTILE &
AMPHIBIAN WHOLESALE/RETAIL $405.00 43 49 45 45 47
DEALER
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT NON-GAME
QUADRUPED EXHIBITOR $10.00 45 39 35 48 37
NON-RESIDENT OYSTER SEED
GROUND VESSEL PERMIT-2 SCRAPER $2’000'00 46 45 42 32
RESIDENT REPTLE & AMPHIBIAN
WHOLESALE/RETAIL DEALER $105.00 40 35 36 28 26
RESIDENT FUR BUYER $25.00 24 41 28 37 25
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT
TRAVERSING PERMIT $0.00 32 42 30 22 19
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT
ALLIGATOR PARTS DEALER $50.00 18 37 30 35 14
NON-RESIDENT OYSTER SEED
GROUND VESSEL PERMIT-1 SCRAPER $1’000'00 20 36 40 33
NON-RESIDENT 4-YEAR SEAFOOD
RETAIL DEALER -BUSINESS §1 :620.00 9 61 34 22 2
NON-RESIDENT OYSTER SEED
GROUND VESSEL PERMIT $60.00 104 9
RESIDENT FUR DEALER AND DEPOSIT $650.00 14 22 16 16 11
NON-RESIDENT DOMESTIC AQUATIC
ORGANISM $400.00 16 17 15 14 17
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License Fees

Appendix D

License Price Per | 016 | 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT OUT OF
STATE OYSTER LANDING PERMIT $100.00 13 16 7 14 14
RESIDENT HUNTING PRESERVE $200.00 10 15 15 15 16
RESIDENT DOMESTIC AQUATIC
ORGANISM $15.00 16 16 14 14 10
NON-RESIDENT SEAFOOD RETAIL
DEALER “VEHICLE $405.00 12 12 10 17 18
RESIDENT SPOTTED SEA TROUT
PERMIT $100.00 14 19 13 9 8
SENIOR BUTTERFLY TAG $0.00 17 14 10 11 11
RESIDENT OYSTER CARGO VESSEL
PERMIT $250.00 18 17 10 7 7
RESIDENT CHARTER BOAT GUIDE 6+
PASSENGERS $500.00 11 8 14 11 9
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT CHARTER
MOTHERSHIP-WITH 6 SKIFFS $1’000'00 10 11 9 11 12
RESIDENT SALTWATER ROD & REEL $250.00 12 14 10 8 7
RESIDENT REPTLE/AMPHIBIAN
TRANSPORT $30.00 11 9 9 6 5
TRIPLOID GRASS CARP- SALES
PERMIT $250.00 9 8 7 7 8
NON-RESIDENT FRESH PRODUCTS $120.00 11 8 7 6 6
POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS
QUADRUPED PERMIT $0.00 1 8 4 9 6
3-DAY NON-RESIDENT REPTILE &
AMPHIBIAN WHOLESALE/RETAIL $75.00 1 4 10 10 7
DEALER
RETAIL OUT OF STATE CRAB
SHIPPING LICENSE $100.00 7 7 6 6 S
RESIDENT 4-YEAR SEAFOOD RETAIL
DEALER -BUSINESS $420.00 1 15 4 2 4
NON-RESIDENT 4-YEAR SEAFOOD
WHOLESALE/RETAIL DEALER - $4,420.00 1 21 1
BUSINESS
RESIDENT POMPANO PERMIT $0.00 22
NON-RESIDENT REPTLE & AMPHIBIAN
COLLECTOR $200.00 5 6 3 2 3
TRANSPORT SENIOR COMMERCIAL
FISHERMEN $30.00 4 3 5 4
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT WILDLIFE
REHABILTATOR/DEER-ALLOWED $0.00 3 3 3 3 3
NON-RESIDENT OYSTER CARGO
VESSEL PERMIT $1,105.00 4 5 2 2 2
Zl;{)l:)LOID CARP POSSESS/TRANSPORT $50.00 1 b 3 7
SENIOR SALTWATER ROD & REEL $0.00 3 4 1 2 2
RESIDENT 4-YEAR SEAFOOD
WHOLESALE/RETAIL DEALER - $1 ,000.00 4 1 1 5 1
BUSINESS

D3




License Fees Appendix D
. Price Per
License . 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
License

NON-RESIDENT REPTLE/AMPHIBIAN
TRANSPORT $120.00 2 3 1 2 3
RESIDENT APPRENTICE $27.50 5 2 1 2
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT 4-YEAR
SEAFOOD TRANSPORT $120.00 3 1 3 2
WHOLESALE/RETAIL DEALER
NON-RESIDENT MULLET PERMIT $400.00 2 2 1 1 1
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT WILD $0.00 | 1 1 1 1
REHABILITATOR-NO DEER RVS
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT CHARTER
MOTHERSHIP > 6 SKIFFS $2,000.00 ! 1 ! 1 1
NON-RESIDENT CHARTER BOAT
GUIDE 6+ PASSENGERS $2,500.00 1 ! ! 1
NON-RESIDENT FUR DEALER AND
DEPOSIT $1,300.00 2 1 1
NON-RESIDENT POMPANO PERMIT $0.00 3
RESIDENT 4-YEAR SEAFOOD
WHOLESALE/RETAIL DEALER - $1,000.00 2 1
VEHICLE
RESIDENT REPTLE/AMPHBIAN $10.00 | 1
COLLECTOR UNDER 16
RESIDENT 4-YEAR SEAFOOD RETAIL $120.00 1
DEALER -VEHICLE
NON-RESIDENT FUR BUYER $100.00 1
I;gg]:RESIDENT SALTWATER ROD & $1,000.00 1
RESIDENT/NON-RESIDENT 4-YEAR
SEAFOOD TRANSPORT RETAIL $420.00 1
DEALER
NON-RESIDENT SPOTTED SEA TROUT
PERMIT $400.00 1

Total 38,241 36,058 33,799 32,870 32,271

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor's staff using LDWF commercial license data.
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APPENDIX E: DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

TOTAL EXPENDITURES
FISCAL YEARS 2016 THROUGH 2020

. Fiscal Year FY 2016 —
Expenditure 2020

Category 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 Difference
Capital Outlay/ | ¢ 335910 | $5245.015 |  $5.563.061 | $5.433.677 |  $5.592.235 -40.1%
Acquisitions
Inter-Agency $8,208,476 |  $8216,156 |  $8,515,717 | $10,419,532 | $11,023,667 34.3%
Transfers (IAT)
Major Repairs $13,040,962 | $7,901,875 |  $3,970,181 $1,447975 | $3,616,435 72.3%
(s)é)ririi?slg $9,807,255 | $10,895,811 | $10,544,096 |  $6,694,193 | $11,565,968 17.9%
Other Charges $10,555,224 | $8,079,523 | $8,958.276 | $8,597,850 |  $7,520,480 28.8%
Other $4.620,231 $3,684,794 | $3,276,055 $2,468,375 |  $1,648,363 -64.3%
Compensation
Professional $1,741,048 $1,035,001 $766,046 |  $1,297,845 $2,159,619 24.0%
Services
Related 0
Bonefits $28,280,989 | $28,012,523 | $29,899.245 | $29.972,151 | $31,017,729 9.7%
Salaries $42,585318 | $44367,675 | $45,017,536 | $45.945.886 | $46,249.558 8.6%
Supplies $6.567.517 |  $6,225,533 | $6,427374 | $6,197.293 |  $6,731,987 2.5%
?a.ve.l & $470,119 $628,991 $408,357 $331,424 $278,621 -40.7%

ralnmg

Total $135,208,050 | $124,292.896 | $123,345,944 | $118,806,201 | $127,404,662 5.8%

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from data in Business Objects Cross-Years
Expenditures Reports.
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APPENDIX F: DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

CONSERVATION FUND EXPENDITURES
FISCAL YEARS 2016 THROUGH 2020

Expenditure Fiscal Year FY2(2)(2)(1)6 }
Category 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 Difference
Capital Outlay/ $2,166,268 | $2,795,581 | $1,921,617 | $1,852,992 | $2,666,074 23.1%
Acquisitions
Inter-agency $5,613,476 | $6,783,488 | $7,163,937 | $8,708,005 | $9,521,972 69.6%
Transfers (IAT)
Major Repairs $2,890,133 | $2,859,085 | $1,387,898 | $260,561 $813,358 -71.9%
Operating Services | $5,682,263 | $6,672,811 | $5,849.850 | $3,011,083 | $3,037,531 -46.5%
Other Charges $1,725,529 | $1,624,429 | $1,971,800 | $1,747,661 | $1,345487 22.0%
Other $2,348,235 | $1,886,640 | $1,334,856 | $927,584 | $619,742 -73.6%
Compensation
Professional $448,923 $92,300 $158,688 | $126,884 | $163,505 -63.6%
Services
Related Benefits $20,577,347 | $20,970,363 | $22,176,571 | $21,033,835 | $21,538,516 4.7%
Salaries $28,452,426 | $29,967,236 | $30,910,141 | $29,364,336 | $28,844,235 1.4%
Supplies $2,928,842 | $2,932,755 | $3,033,406 | $2,373,823 | $1,905,156 -35.0%
Travel $223,503 | $340,517 | $129,409 $93,688 $72,014 -67.8%
Total $73,056,945 | $76,925,207 | $76,038,172 | $69,500,452 | $70,527,590 -3.5%

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff from unaudited information provided by LDWF.
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APPENDIX G: REGIONAL BOATER REGISTRATION FEES

AS OF MAY 2021

State Less than 16’ 16’ but less than 26’ | 26’ but less than 40° | Greater than 40'
Alabama $60.00 $75.00 $225.00 $300.00
Arkansas $7.50 $15.00 $51.00 $105.00

$391.50 — 40' but
$24.75 — Less less than 65'
than 12' $466.50 — 65' but
Florida $9450 $24300 less than 110'
$57.00 — 12' but $577.50-110'
less than 16' feet or greater
Georgia $35.00 $70.00 $140.00 $210.00
Mississippi $10.20 $25.20 $47.70 $47.70
Texas $48.00 $79.50 $165.00 $225.00

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data provided on other regional states' agency websites that
collect boater registration fees.
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