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Report Highlights

What We Found
We answered the following questions:

Question 1: What are the major types of fees established in state law related to driver’s license 
issuance and reinstatement, and how are these fees used?

OMV charges issuance fees for obtaining and maintaining Louisiana driver’s licenses and identification 
cards, as well as reinstatement fees to return licenses to good standing (active status) after they are 
suspended or revoked due to a violation. As of July 
2024, there were approximately 3 million active 
driver’s licenses for personal and commercial use 
in Louisiana. Of the $164 million OMV collected in 
license and reinstatement fees during fiscal year 
2024, approximately $30.2 million (18.4%) was used 
to fund OMV, while the majority of fees collected 
was distributed to fund other programs, including 
several other offices within the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections (DPS). The exhibit to the 
right shows the amount of driver’s license issuance 
and reinstatement fees collected in fiscal year 2024, 
including the amount of reinstatement fees collected 
from insurance cancellation violations.

Question 2: How do OMV fees compare to other states?

Louisiana’s fees for driver’s license renewal are comparable to other states, but Louisiana’s maximum 
reinstatement fees for insurance cancellation are higher than all but one other state reviewed. While 
Louisiana relies heavily on insurance cancellation fees, 10 (43.5%) of 23 responding states do not charge 
fees for insurance cancellation violations. Louisiana’s insurance cancellation fee accounted for  
$103.8 million (83.2%) of the $124.7 million in reinstatement fees collected in fiscal year 2024. In addition, 
Louisiana’s reinstatement fees for first Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offenses, which made up 81.3% of 
DWI suspensions in fiscal year 2024, are 46.5% lower than the average of other analyzed states. We also 
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OMV Driver’s License Fees  
Collected in Fiscal Year 2024
Type of Fees Amount

Driver’s License Issuance $39,256,407
Driver’s License Reinstatement $124,726,141
Total $163,982,548

Insurance Cancellation 
Reinstatement Fees $103,805,277

Percent of Reinstatement Fees from 
Insurance Cancellation 83.2%

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using 
financial reports provided by OMV.
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We made six matters for legislative consideration. 

View the full report, including management’s response, at www.lla.la.gov.

found that, unlike some states, Louisiana does not require OMV fees to be updated on a regular basis. 
Finally, the actual amounts paid by Louisiana drivers for OMV services may be higher than the base fees 
used for our comparisons due to convenience fees collected by third parties that many other states do 
not allow. 

Question 3: How many driver’s licenses are suspended or revoked, and how can the requirement to 
pay OMV fees delay reinstatement of licenses?  

As of June 2024, 255,657 (9.1%) of Louisiana’s 2,811,435 Class E (Personal) driver’s licenses were 
suspended and/or revoked. Reinstatement fees must be paid before OMV can return a license that has 
been suspended or revoked to good standing, which can delay individuals who are otherwise compliant 
from regaining an active license. We found that 58.1% of driver’s licenses that were suspended and/or 
revoked as of June 2022 were still not active as of June 2024, meaning fewer than half of drivers were 
able to resolve their violations and/or avoid committing subsequent violations during the two-year 
period.

Question 4: What factors contribute to the high volume of insurance cancellation violations and fees?

More than three-quarters of the licenses that were suspended and/or revoked in both June 2022 and 
June 2024 had unresolved insurance cancellation violations in both years, reflecting both the frequency 
of these violations and the difficulty some drivers may face in resolving them. Reinstatement fees for 
insurance cancellation violations are more expensive than other violations, the amount owed increases 
the longer a lapse in insurance coverage continues, and one lapse in coverage can result in multiple 
violations. These fees are also the only type of fees that OMV sends to the Office of Debt Recovery for 
collection, which adds 15% to the amount owed.

Question 5: What changes in state law related to license suspension and reinstatement fees could be 
considered to help mitigate the challenges to reinstating licenses after a violation? 

The legislature may wish to consider evaluating several areas in state law to help mitigate the negative 
impacts of license suspension and reinstatement fees. For example, many other surveyed states with 
insurance cancellation fees have longer grace periods before charging fees than Louisiana. In addition, 
although 2024 legislation created a Reinstatement Relief Program for insurance cancellation fees, 
Louisiana could consider expanding this program to all reinstatement fees. Lastly, reevaluating laws 
that require driver’s license suspension and reinstatement fees for non-driving violations could reduce 
negative impacts of suspending driving privileges and reduce OMV’s administrative burden. However, 
according to OMV, if these changes were made in law, OMV, DPS, and other programs that rely on 
funding from reinstatement fees would need to find new sources of revenue.

Question 6: What are challenges for OMV related to collecting driver’s license and reinstatement fees? 

OMV’s outdated computer system, which was implemented more than 50 years ago, limits the number 
of fee transactions that OMV and its vendors can process due to unpredictable outages. According 
to OMV, its system was down more than 50% of each day during January through March 2025. OMV 
entered into a contract with Champ Titles, Inc. on July 10, 2025 to implement, host, maintain, and support 
a replacement system.


