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This informational report provides information related to truck permitting in 
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We would like to express our appreciation to the Louisiana Department of 
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Introduction
 

 
This report provides information on 

Louisiana’s oversize and overweight truck 
permitting fees and revenues, and compares 
these fees to select neighboring states. This 
report also provides the results of our 
analysis that estimates the impact of 
increasing truck permitting fees on the 
demand for permits and on state revenues. 
State law sets Louisiana’s truck permitting 
fees, ranging from $10/year to $2,500/year.  
Primarily, the purpose of permit fees is to 
pay for any road and infrastructure damages 
caused by overweight and oversized trucks.    

 
Permit Types and Fees. Although the 

U.S. Department of Transportation sets size 
and weight guidelines for federal highways, 
states regulate these highways and issue permit fees.  The Louisiana Department of 
Transportation and Development’s (DOTD) Truck Permit Office issues permits that 
govern all oversize/overweight truck movement on state highways.  Some trucks, 
such as farm vehicles and equipment and vehicles used for transporting timber 
cutting or logging equipment, are exempt from permits.  Appendix B summarizes 
the history of truck permitting and federal weight and size standards, and Appendix 
C summarizes all the permit exemptions in Louisiana. 

 
Impact of Oversize and Overweight Vehicles. A report by the 

Government Accountability Office (GAO)1 found that, while commercial vehicles and 
loads are generally of a size and weight that allows them to freely travel on the 
nation’s highways, some vehicles are too large and/or too heavy to operate on a 
highway without posing a safety risk or potentially damaging highway 
infrastructure.  Research also shows that heavy-trucks (five or more axles) have a 
much larger impact on pavement maintenance costs than light-trucks or passenger-
                                                 
1 GAO (2015). Federal Highway Administration Should Conduct Research to Determine Best Practices 
in Permitting Oversize Vehicles. https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-236.pdf  

In 2022, Louisiana’s freight system 
moved 1.4 billion tons of freight, valued 
at $581 billion – the sixteenth-largest 
value of freight moved of all states.  
 
From 2022 to 2050, freight moved 
annually in Louisiana by trucks is 
expected to increase 75% by weight and 
110% in value, the third-largest 
projected increase in the nation.  As 
heavy vehicle freight movement in 
Louisiana increases and impacts the 
state’s operational and maintenance 
costs, additional revenue will be 
necessary to address these impacts. 
 
Source: 
https://tripnet.org/reports/freight-
louisiana-news-release-12-05-2023/     

https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-236.pdf
https://tripnet.org/reports/freight-louisiana-news-release-12-05-2023/
https://tripnet.org/reports/freight-louisiana-news-release-12-05-2023/
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cars.2  Moving large, non-divisible loads can create inconveniences and hazards, 
including the following: 

 
• Traffic congestion: Oversize and overweight vehicles can create 

traffic congestion when they (1) travel at a slow speed to reduce risk 
of damage to bridge infrastructure, (2) are extremely wide and block 
multiple traffic lanes, or (3) are so long that entire intersections must 
close to accommodate them. Rising levels of traffic congestion increase 
the cost of moving freight and reduce the economic competitiveness 
and efficiency of businesses that require reliable, affordable freight 
transportation.   

• Infrastructure damage: High, wide, or long oversize loads can 
damage or destroy infrastructure like bridges, overhead signs, traffic 
signals, and utilities when there is not enough clearance and they 
strike them.  

• Pavement and bridge damage: Overweight vehicles and loads can 
damage or contribute to the failure of pavement and bridges not 
designed to sustain the weight of the vehicle and load. Research shows 
that a 1% increase in overweight vehicle traffic (>80,000 lbs.) may 
cause a 1.8% reduction of pavement life.3    

• Injuries: Oversize and overweight loads can cause injuries to others. 
From 2017 to 2021, an average of 105 people were killed annually in 
Louisiana collisions involving a large truck, the seventeenth-highest 
rate in the nation. 

DOTD’s Truck Permit 
Issuance and Enforcement 
Processes.  DOTD’s Truck Permit 
Office4 issues permits to truck 
owners/operators and trucking 
companies for oversized and 
overweight vehicles. Permits must be 
obtained prior to operating/moving 
vehicles and loads exceeding 
Louisiana’s legal size and/or weight 
limitations. Permits can be purchased 
by mail, by wire/permit service, by 

                                                 
2 Transportation Research Record (1990). Evaluation of truck impacts on pavement maintenance cost. 
https://www.dotd.la.gov/about/office-of-operations/oversized-and-overweight-truck-permits/ 
3 Proceedings of the 9th International Conference on Managing Pavement Assets (May 2015). Impact 
of Overweight Traffic on Pavement Life Using Weigh-In-Motion Data and Mechanistic-Empirical 
Pavement Analysis. https://vtechworks.lib.vt.edu/server/api/core/bitstreams/e3d3755f-da03-4f3f-
ac52-f88c8c4931c6/content  
4 DOTD’s Truck Permit Office is located in Baton Rouge. The online permitting system is called 
LaGeaux (https://www.dotd.la.gov/about/office-of-operations/oversized-and-overweight-truck-
permits/) 

Legal Size and Weight Limitations in 
Louisiana:  
• Gross Vehicle Weight: 80,000 lbs.; 83,400-

88,000 lbs. for vehicles with a tridum or greater 
axle group. 

• Width: 8’6” 
• Height: 14’ 
• Length:45’ (single vehicle); 59’6” (length of 

semi-trailer and load on designated truck 
routes); 65’ (truck/trailer combinations on 
other routes) 

 
Source: https://dotd.la.gov/media/chxdsfee/new-
rules-and-regulations-book.docx  

https://onlinepubs.trb.org/Onlinepubs/trr/1990/1262/1262-006.pdf
https://www.dotd.la.gov/about/office-of-operations/oversized-and-overweight-truck-permits/
https://vtechworks.lib.vt.edu/server/api/core/bitstreams/e3d3755f-da03-4f3f-ac52-f88c8c4931c6/content
https://vtechworks.lib.vt.edu/server/api/core/bitstreams/e3d3755f-da03-4f3f-ac52-f88c8c4931c6/content
https://www.dotd.la.gov/about/office-of-operations/oversized-and-overweight-truck-permits/
https://www.dotd.la.gov/about/office-of-operations/oversized-and-overweight-truck-permits/
https://dotd.la.gov/media/chxdsfee/new-rules-and-regulations-book.docx
https://dotd.la.gov/media/chxdsfee/new-rules-and-regulations-book.docx


Truck Permitting Fees Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development 
 

3 

submitting control number or prepaid oversize permit forms, ok or via the internet 
using the LaGeaux application. Customers must provide all required information 
such as the permit duration, permit type, truck configuration, vehicle dimensions, 
gross vehicle weight, axle information, etc. when applying for a permit. DOTD 
generates a safe route for the customer to drive from the specified origin to 
destination and issues the permit.  

 
In addition to issuing and overseeing truck permits, Act 384 of the 2021 

Regular Legislative Session transferred the operation and maintenance of stationary 
weight enforcement scale locations from the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections to DOTD.5  Enforcing weight limits ensures that commercial vehicles fall 
within state laws regarding weight, size, and registration. DOTD’s weights and 
standards police force oversee operations at the state’s weigh stations. Violations of 
state laws regarding weight and size are subject to penalties under state law.6 In 
addition, vehicles that fail to stop at a weight scale can be fined based on the gross 
vehicle weight rating.  

 
All permit fee revenues are deposited into the Transportation Trust Fund 

(TTF), with the exception of revenues exceeding $20 million collected from the 
overweight single-trip permit, and $250 of the $375 fee for the Containerized Cargo 
Class II semi-annual permit, both of which are deposited into the Construction 
Subfund within the TTF.7  In addition, payments for fines related to violations on 
state roads are also deposited into the TTF.8  The TTF is the main funding source 
used to meet the state’s transportation needs and was established on January 1, 
1990. The TTF provides funding for the costs associated with construction and 
maintenance of roads and bridges of the state and federal highway systems. The 
TTF also provides funding for the Statewide Flood Control program, ports, aviation, 
transit, and the Parish Transportation Fund.  A subsequent report will evaluate 
DOTD’s permit issuance and enforcement process. 

 
The objective of this review was to answer specific questions regarding 

Louisiana’s truck permitting fees, how these fees compare to neighboring states, 
and how changes to fees can impact state transportation revenues.  It is important 
to set fees high enough to mitigate hazards and inconveniences such as damage to 
roads.  According to the Tax Foundation, weight is an exponential factor in road 
damage.  For example, an 80,000-pound, five-axle tractor trailer causes the same 
damage to the road as 9,600 cars.  

 
  

                                                 
5 Mobile enforcement of state laws [Louisiana Revised Statute (R.S.) 32:380-32:388.1, R.S. 32:390, 
R.S. 47:718] remains with Louisiana State Police. 
6 R.S. 32:388 
7 R.S. 32:387 and 32:387.20 
8 R.S. 32:388 
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This report contains the following appendices: 
 
• Appendix A contains our scope and methodology. 

• Appendix B provides information on the history of truck permitting and 
federal weight and size standards. 

• Appendix C provides information on exemptions from truck permitting 
laws in Louisiana. 

• Appendix D contains Louisiana’s overweight single-trip permit fee 
schedule.  

• Appendix E provides the results of our comparison of oversize and 
overweight truck configurations and the resulting truck permit fees in 
Louisiana and select neighboring states. 

• Appendix F contains the year of origination and last update, and the 
number of years since the last update for each truck permit type in 
Louisiana.  

• Appendix G contains the Federal Highway Administration’s vehicle 
classification. 

• Appendix H provides information on the number of permits issued and 
fees collected by DOTD from fiscal year 2020 through fiscal year 2024. 

• Appendix I contains our analysis of current and with various increases 
of the overweight single-trip permit fee pricing in Louisiana. 

• Appendix J provides information on the estimated price differences 
between Louisiana routes vs. next best non-Louisiana alternative 
routes, by interstate corridor.   

Informational reports are intended to provide more timely information than 
standards-based performance audits.  While these informational reports do not 

follow Government Auditing Standards, we conduct quality assurance activities to 
ensure the information presented is accurate.  We incorporated DOTD’s 

 feedback throughout this informational report. 
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Objective: To evaluate Louisiana’s truck permitting 
fees, how these fees compare to neighboring 

states, and how changes to fees can impact state 
transportation revenues.

 
 
We answered the following questions:  

 
1. What types of truck permits does DOTD issue and what are permit 

fees used for? 

DOTD issues 31 different types of truck permits through the LaGeaux 
system.  These types of permits include permits for overweight and oversized 
trucks.  Permit durations can be annual, bi-annual, monthly, or single-trip, 
and permits need to be renewed at the end of this duration.  In fiscal year 
2024, DOTD issued 197,217 permits and collected $33.8 million in revenue. 
Primarily, the purpose of permit fees is to pay for any road and infrastructure 
damages caused by overweight and oversized trucks. 

 
2. How do Louisiana’s truck permitting fees compare to neighboring 

states? 
 

Of the four most common permit types we evaluated, two—oversize single-
trip and overweight annual—were lower than neighboring states, while the 
other two—overweight single-trip and oversize annual—were comparable.  
Louisiana’s oversize single-trip permit cost is $10, where Texas’ is $61.61, 
Arkansas is $17, and Mississippi’s ranges from $10-$35.9 Louisiana’s 
overweight annual permit fee is $2,500, where Texas’ is $4,090.26 and 
Mississippi’s is $4,500. Arkansas does not have this permit type. According to 
research, truck weight and height allowances in Louisiana are among the 
highest in the nation.10 In addition, Louisiana roads are in poorer condition 
than those in surrounding states. 

 
3. If truck permitting fees were indexed to certain economic conditions 

in Louisiana, such as inflation, or were based on the costs resulting 
from heavy vehicles, would they be more comparable to our 
neighboring states? 
 

If overweight and oversize permitting fees were adjusted for certain 
economic conditions such as inflation, or were based on the costs resulting 
from heavy vehicles, Louisiana’s permit fees would become more comparable 
to surrounding states over time.  For example, if the oversize single-trip 

                                                 
9 In Mississippi, only trucks registered in Mississippi pay the $10 single-trip oversize permit fee. 
10 Angoff, Jay. (February 2025). All-Lines, Personal Lines, and Commercial Auto Insurance 
Performance: Louisiana v. Bordering States and Countrywide and Suggestions for Bringing Down 
Rates. https://irp.cdn-website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf  

https://irp.cdn-website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf
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permit fee was increased for inflation next fiscal year, the fee would be 
$10.29 instead of $10.  However, by year five of adjusting for inflation, the 
fee would be $11.56.  The oversize annual permit fee would increase from 
$500 to $578.22 after adjusting for five years.  The overweight annual 
permit fee would increase from $2,500 to $2,891.08 after five years. 
According to the GAO, fee collections should be sufficient to cover the 
intended portion of program costs over time.  Fees that are not reviewed and 
adjusted regularly run the risk of undercharging or overcharging users and 
raising equity, efficiency, and revenue adequacy concerns.  

 
4. How would an increase in truck permitting fees affect truck 

permitting revenues from traffic passing through Louisiana? 
 
Based on our model, we estimate that Louisiana could maximize revenues 
from truck traffic passing through the state11 by increasing overweight 
single-trip permit fees, which are the most-commonly-issued permit type, by 
approximately 127%,holding all other factors, including the cost of 
alternative routes that avoid Louisiana, constant. For example, if the 
overweight single-trip permit fee for a truck weighing 130,000 lbs. and 
traveling between 51-100 miles were increased by 127%, the new fee would 
be $578.85 instead of $255.  However, we estimate that if the overweight 
single-trip permit fees were raised over 183%, the state would start seeing a 
decrease in revenues as a result of traffic shifting to less-costly alternative 
routes.  This gives the state significant flexibility in setting overweight single-
trip permitting fees because of the lack of cheaper alternative routes. 

 
5. Would increasing truck permitting fees help address Louisiana’s 

construction backlog? 
 

Increasing oversize and overweight permit fees could generate additional 
state revenue to help address the state’s estimated $23.9 billion backlog in 
transportation infrastructure needs.  In fiscal year 2024, Louisiana's 
transportation expenditures as a percent of total state expenditures were the 
lowest in the Southeast.  For example, Louisiana spent 5.1% of total state 
spending on transportation, while Mississippi spent 7.3%, Arkansas spent 
6.5%, and Texas spent 13.3%. According to a report, Louisiana Department 
of Transportation & Development-2024 Assessment, issued in October 2024 
by the Boston Consulting Group, Louisiana should increase fees for direct 
road usage, such as truck permitting fees. 
 

 

                                                 
11 Our model includes only permits issued for routes that do not begin or end in Louisiana. If the 
goods originated or ended in the state (for example, goods being imported  or exported through one 
of Louisiana’s ports), we excluded these trips from our analysis. 
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1. What types of truck permits does DOTD issue and 
what are permit fees used for? 

 
DOTD issues 31 different types of truck permits through the LaGeaux 

system.12 These types of permits include permits for overweight and oversized 
trucks. Permit durations can be annual, bi-annual, monthly, or single-trip, and 
permits need to be renewed at the end of this duration.  Permits are issued for 
vehicles traveling on Louisiana’s roads that weigh more or are larger than the 
state’s legal size and weight limitations. In fiscal year 2024, DOTD issued 197,217 
permits and collected $33.8 million in revenue. Exhibit 1 provides information on 
permit types, associated fees and permit fee collections.  

 
Exhibit 1 

Permits Issued in Fiscal Year 2024 

Permit Type Permit Fee 
Permits 
Issued 
(FY 24) 

Permit Fee 
Collections 

(FY 24) 

Permit Fee 
Collections 
(FY 20-24) 

Overweight Single Trip  

Varies based on excess 
weight and distance 
traveled* 84,836 $26,069,813 $119,984,637 

Overweight Annual $2,500/year 1,661 3,690,000 18,375,000 
Oversize Single Trip  $10 day/trip 68,263 1,121,443 5,372,633 

Critical Off-Road 
Equipment Semi-Annual  

Cost Varies - $0.07 per 
ton-mile plus a $25 
administrative fee 402 666,825 3,361,465 

Oversize Annual Permit $500/year 1,038 511,500 2,682,500 
Containerized Cargo 
(Class II) Semi-Annual  $375 Bi-annually 1,362 510,750 1,403,500 
Agronomic/Horticultural  $100/year 3,481 348,100 1,771,100 
Non-Critical Off-Road 
Equipment Annual  $1000/year 265 222,000 1,110,000 
Timber Harvest Annual  $100/year 1,665 166,500 609,500 
Mobile Home or Office 
Single Trip $10 day/trip 25,278 147,890 631,395 

Ready-Mix Concrete 
Truck Annual  

Rear Tandem: 
$800/year 
Rear 
Tridum/Quadrum: 
$400/year 155 81,600 320,800 

Refuse Annual  $1,000/year 67 67,000 298,000 
Harvest Season or 
Natural Forest Products 
Annual  $10/year 4,156 41,560 248,700 
Timber Cutting/Logging 
Equipment Annual  $100/year 406 40,600 188,900 

Oversize Monthly  
$10/day for each day 
the permit is valid 279 38,690 116,450 

Escort Vehicle Annual  $10/year 3,317 33,090 133,580 
Containerized Cargo 
(Class I) Annual  $50/year 292 $14,600 $111,700 

                                                 
12 Permits can also be purchased at DOTD’s truck permit office, by mail, by wire/permit service, and 
using control number or prepaid oversize permit forms. 
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Exhibit 1 
Permits Issued in Fiscal Year 2024 

Permit Type Permit Fee 
Permits 
Issued 
(FY 24) 

Permit Fee 
Collections 

(FY 24) 

Permit Fee 
Collections 
(FY 20-24) 

Containerized Special 
Cargo Annual $750/year 11 $8,250 $237,000 
Solid Waste Annual  $50/year 93 4,650 28,350 
Liquid Bulk Annual  $200/year 21 4,200 345,000 
Cotton Module Annual  $50/year 22 1,100 6,700 
Oilfield Equipment 
Monthly  $15/month 13 855 15,435 
Forest Management 
Equipment Annual  $10/year 64 640 4,800 
Forest Product Annual  $10/year 47 470 2,500 
House Movers Equipment 
Monthly  

$15/month per 
company 3 375 3,015 

Steering Axle Annual  $15/year 15 225 630 
Pleasure Craft Monthly  $10 for 30 days 2 130 260 
Refuse/Waste Annual  $10/year 3 0 200 
     Total   197,217 $33,792,856 $157,363,750 
*See Appendix D for Louisiana’s overweight single-trip permit schedule. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor's staff using unaudited information provided by DOTD. 

 
Primarily, the purpose of permit 

fees is to pay for any road and 
infrastructure damages caused by 
overweight and oversized trucks.  As 
mentioned previously, research shows that 
moving oversize and overweight loads can 
create infrastructure and pavement damage 
on roads and bridges.  One study13 found that 
oversize and/or overweight loads present an 
array of impacts on the transportation agency, 
ranging from operational costs (staff labor for 
permit processing, engineering reviews, trip 
routing, etc.) to infrastructure and safety 
concerns (long-term pavement damage, 
bridge capacity, etc.).  These costs and concerns are generally not captured fully by 
existing permit fees or policies.  For example, a 2012 oversize/overweight vehicle 
permit fee study from Texas found that the total revenue for the number of permits 
sold in 2011 should have been approximately six times more than the actual permit 
revenue in order to reimburse the Texas Department of Transportation for the 
marginal pavement and bridge consumption costs and infrastructure operations and 
safety impacts from the 570,000-plus oversize and overweight permits sold.14 

                                                 
13 Adams, T., et al. (August 2013) Aligning Oversize/Overweight Fees with Agency Costs: Critical 
Issues. https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/26955  
14 Prozzi, Jolanda, et al. (December 2012). Oversize/overweight vehicle permit fee 
study. https://ctr.utexas.edu/wp-content/uploads/pubs/0_6736_2.pdf  

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s 
Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) 
found that heavy trucks underpay for 
their share of the costs imposed on the 
transportation system.  

The study found that 80,000-lb. trucks 
pay 80% of their share of cost 
responsibility, and trucks weighing 
between 80,001 lbs. and 100,000 lbs. pay 
only 50% of their share of cost 
responsibility. 
 
Source: 
https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policy/hcas/ad
dendum.cfm  

https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/26955
https://ctr.utexas.edu/wp-content/uploads/pubs/0_6736_2.pdf
https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policy/hcas/addendum.cfm
https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policy/hcas/addendum.cfm
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2. How do Louisiana’s truck permitting fees compare to 
neighboring states? 

 
Of the four most common permit 

types we evaluated, two—oversize 
single trip and overweight annual—
were lower than neighboring states, 
while the other two—overweight single 
trip and oversize annual—were 
comparable. According to research, truck 
weight and height allowances in Louisiana 
are among the highest in the nation.15 In 
addition, Louisiana roads are in poorer 
condition than those in surrounding states.  
Of the $33.8 million truck permitting 
revenue collected by DOTD in FY 2024, 
$31.4 million (92.9%) was collected from 
four permit types—oversize single-trip, 
oversize annual, overweight single-trip, and 
overweight annual.  Exhibit 2 provides 
information on the permit fee applicable for specified truck configurations in 
Louisiana and neighboring states for the four permit types mentioned above.  
Appendix E provides comparison information on permit fees for these truck 
configurations and permit types in other Southeastern states.  
  

                                                 
15 Angoff, Jay. (February 2025). All-Lines, Personal Lines, and Commercial Auto Insurance 
Performance: Louisiana v. Bordering States and Countrywide and Suggestions for Bringing Down 
Rates. https://irp.cdn-website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf  

According to a report from April 2023, 
Louisiana ranks below neighboring states 
in terms of pavement quality and 
percentage of structurally-deficient 
bridges.  

• Louisiana ranked forty-third in the 
U.S., with 3.07% of rural Interstate 
pavement in poor condition.  

• Louisiana ranked forty-ninth in the 
U.S., with 11.99% of urban 
Interstate pavement in poor 
condition. 

• Louisiana ranked forty-fifth in the 
U.S., with 12.8% of bridges being 
structurally deficient.  

Source: Reason Foundation 27th Annual 
Highway Report: State Summaries  

https://irp.cdn-website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf
https://a8d50b36.delivery.rocketcdn.me/wp-content/uploads/27th-annual-highway-report-state-by-state-summaries.pdf
https://a8d50b36.delivery.rocketcdn.me/wp-content/uploads/27th-annual-highway-report-state-by-state-summaries.pdf
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Exhibit 2 
Permit Fees in Louisiana and Neighboring States  

Truck Configuration 
and Permit Type Louisiana Arkansas Mississippi* Texas 

Oversize Single-Trip Permit (Legal 
Weight)  
 
Configuration: 
Width: 10' 
Length: 75' 
Height: 13'6" 
GVW: 80,000 lbs. (5-axle) 

$10 $17 $10-$35 $61.61 

Oversize Annual Permit (Legal Weight)  
 
Configuration: 
Width: 10' 
Length: 75' 
Height: 13'6" 
GVW: 80,000 lbs. (5-axle) 

$500 

$500 
 

(Annual 
oversize 
permit 
trailer 
length 

limit: 57') 

$100 

No annual 
oversize-

only 
permit 
type 

Overweight Single-Trip Permit  
 
Configuration: 
Width: 11'6" 
Length: 76' 
Height: 14'6" 
GVW: 130,000 lbs. (7-axle) 
Distance: 51-100 miles 

$255** $234 

In-State 
Registration: 
$137.5-$260 

 
Out-of-State 
Registration: 
$162.5-$285 

$291.67 

Overweight Annual Permit  
 
Configuration: 
Width: 12' 
Length: 90' 
Height: 14'4" 
GVW: 120,000 lbs. 

$2,500 

No annual 
overweight 

permit 
type 

$4,500 
 

(Height limit: 
13’6”) 

$4,090.26 
 

(Height 
limit: 14’) 

*Mississippi requires a $25 single-trip permit for-out of-state registrations in addition to other permits. 
**The Louisiana overweight single-trip permit fee varies based on weight and distance.  The $255 is 
for the weight and distance referenced in the first column for this specific fee.   
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using truck permitting laws and regulations/handbooks 
from each comparison state. 

 
Single-Trip Permits. While Louisiana’s overweight single-trip permit 

fees are comparable to Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi, the oversize 
single-trip permit fees are low.16 Exhibit 3 provides information on the 
overweight single-trip permit fees in Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi. As 
seen in Exhibit 3, these fees are comparable in Louisiana and its three neighboring 
states.  
  

                                                 
16 Based on the fees calculated for the configuration used for comparison. 
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Exhibit 3 
Overweight Single-Trip Permit Fee Comparison 

 
Truck Configuration Used For Comparison** 

Width 
11’6” 

Height 
14’6” 

Length 
76’ 

Weight 
130,000 lbs. 

*The chart represents the overweight single-trip permit cost for a truck not registered in Mississippi.  
**Used distance of 51 miles for fee calculations. The costs include any oversize permit fees required 
by state law for the configuration used.  
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using truck permitting laws and 
regulations/handbooks from each comparison state. 

 
Louisiana’s oversize single-trip permit fees are low compared to neighboring 

states. Oversize single-trip permits accounted for 34.6% of all truck permits issued 
in FY 2024, yet only accounted for 3.3% of the total truck permitting fees collected. 
In FY 2024, DOTD issued 68,263 oversize single-trip permits. Exhibit 4 provides 
information on the cost of an oversize single-trip permit in Louisiana and its 
neighboring states for a common oversize truck configuration. As seen in Exhibit 4, 
oversize single-trip permit fees in Louisiana are lower than the fees in all three 
neighboring states. 
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Exhibit 4 
Oversize Single-Trip Permit Fee Comparison 

 
Truck Configuration Used For Comparison 

Width 
10’ 

Height 
13’6” 

Length 
75’ 

Weight 
Legal Weight 

*The chart represents the oversize single-trip permit cost for a truck not registered in Mississippi. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using truck permitting laws and 
regulations/handbooks from each comparison state. 

 
Annual Permits. While Louisiana’s oversize annual permit fees are 

comparable to neighboring states, the overweight annual permit fees are 
low compared to Texas and Mississippi.   Exhibit 5 provides the comparison 
between Louisiana’s oversize annual permit fees and those in neighboring states. As 
seen in Exhibit 5, the fees in Louisiana are comparable to those in Arkansas, while 
fees are lower in Mississippi.  Texas’ truck permit structure does not include an 
annual oversize-only permit type. The average oversize annual permit fee in 
Louisiana, Arkansas, and Mississippi was found to be $367. 
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Exhibit 5 
Oversize Annual Permit Fee Comparison* 

 
Truck Configuration Used For Comparison 

Width 
10’ 

Height 
13’6” 

Length 
75’ 

Weight 
Legal Weight 

*Texas was not included because its annual envelope permit, which has a fee of $4,090.26, is not 
an oversize-only annual permit. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using truck permitting laws and 
regulations/handbooks from each comparison state. 

 
As shown in Exhibit 6, Louisiana’s overweight annual permit fee is lower than 

the fee in Mississippi and Texas.  Arkansas’ truck permit structure does not include 
an annual overweight permit type.  Louisiana’s overweight annual permit fee was 
established in 2000 by Act 121 of the First Extraordinary Legislative Session and 
has not been updated since.  
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Exhibit 6  
Overweight Annual Permit Fee Cost 

 
Truck Configuration Used For Comparison* 

Width 
12’ 

Height 
14’4” 

Length 
90’ 

Weight 
120,000 lbs 

*The size and weight configuration used in this comparison is based on the dimension and weight 
limits imposed by DOTD for overweight annual permits in Louisiana. The dimension and weight 
limits in Texas and Mississippi are not the same as the limits in Louisiana. Arkansas’ truck permit 
structure does not include an annual overweight permit type. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using truck permitting laws and 
regulations/handbooks from each comparison state. 

 
 
3. If truck permitting fees were indexed to certain 

economic conditions in Louisiana, such as inflation, or 
were based on the costs resulting from heavy 
vehicles, would they be more comparable to our 
neighboring states? 
 
If overweight and oversize permitting fees were adjusted for certain 

economic conditions such as inflation, or were based on the costs resulting 
from heavy vehicles, Louisiana’s permit fees would become more 
comparable to surrounding states over time. According to the GAO,17 fee 
collections should be sufficient to cover the intended portion of program costs over 
time. Fees that are not reviewed and adjusted regularly run the risk of 
undercharging or overcharging users and raising equity, efficiency, and revenue 
adequacy concerns.   

 
As stated previously, the purpose of permit fees is to pay for any road and 

infrastructure damages caused by overweight and oversized trucks. Therefore, 
DOTD should conduct a statewide study on the impact of oversize and overweight 

                                                 
17 GAO. (May 2008). Federal User Fees: A Design Guide. https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-08-
386sp.pdf 
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trucks on Louisiana’s roads and work with the legislature to use its results to make 
decisions on permitting fees. This will ensure that permit fees are at least sufficient 
to cover the cost of maintaining the state’s roads and bridges, and any indirect 
costs such as the administration of the truck permit program. 

 
In addition, Louisiana’s overweight and oversize permit fees are currently not 

annually adjusted for inflation in state law, and most of Louisiana’s truck permit 
fees have remained unchanged for several decades.  Exhibit 7 provides information 
on when each of the four permit types compared in the previous section – oversize 
annual and single-trip, and overweight annual and single-trip - originated and was 
last updated, as well as the number of years since each permit type was last 
updated. Appendix F provides this information for all permit types in Louisiana.    

 
Exhibit 7 

Oversize and Overweight Permits – Year of Origination, Last Update, and 
Years since Last Update 

As of April 2025 

Permit Type Year of 
Origination 

Year Last 
Updated 

Years Since Last 
Update 

Oversize Annual Permit 1997 Never Updated 28 
Oversize Single-Trip Permit 1977 1990 35 
Overweight Annual Permit 2000 Never Updated 25 
Overweight Single-Trip Permit 1977 2019 6 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from state law, the state 
legislature website, and the HathiTrust Digital Library. 

 
Exhibit 8 provides information on what the fees and revenues would be if 

adjusted for inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for a period of one year 
and in five years using the 2024 CPI rate.  As can be seen in the Exhibit, when the 
permitting fees are adjusted for inflation over a period of five years, Louisiana 
starts to close the gap and be more comparable to neighboring states for the 
oversize single trip and overweight annual permit types. In addition, had the 
legislature started adjusting permitting fees since their origination, the state would 
have collected, assuming the same number of permits were issued, $111.2 million 
instead of $31.4 million in FY 2024.  
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Exhibit 8 
Overweight and Oversize Permit Fees  

Actually Collected vs. Adjusted for Inflation 

Permit Type 
Current 

Fee 
Amount 

Fee 
Amount if 
Adjusted 

for 
Inflation 
One Year 

Fee 
Amount if 
Adjusted 

for 
Inflation 
for Five 
Years 

Actual FY 2024 
Fee Collection 

Estimated 
Annual 

Revenues if 
Adjusted for 
Inflation for 
One Year * 

Estimated 
Annual 

Revenues if 
Adjusted for 
Inflation for 
Five Years* 

Overweight Single Trip $296** $304.73 $342.30  $26,069,812.50  $26,838,725.75  $30,147,953.18  
Overweight Annual 2,500 2,573.74 2,891.08  3,690,000.00      3,798,834.30  4,267,232.35  
Oversize Single Trip 10 10.29 11.56  1,121,442.50  1,154,518.76  1,296,871.47  
Oversize Annual 500 514.75 578.22  511,500.00  526,586.38  591,514.73  

Total $31,392,755.00 $32,318,665.19  $36,303,571.73  
Percent Increase 2.95% 15.64% 

*Based on 2024 CPI rate. 
**This is the weighted average of permits issued in FY 2024 because permit amount varies with weight and 
distance. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from the CPI and DOTD. 

 
As can be seen in the Exhibit, in five years of adjusting for inflation, the 

oversize single trip permit fee would be $11.56, which is still significantly lower 
than the current average of $31 (as shown in Exhibit 4) for neighboring states.  The 
overweight annual permit fee would be $2,891.08 in five years, which is still 
significantly lower than the current average $3,697 (as shown in Exhibit 6) in 
neighboring states.  However, adjusting for inflation does gradually make Louisiana 
more comparable.  

 
According to best practices,18 it is important to review and update 

fees periodically based on factors, such as the impact of inflation, because 
inflation erodes the real value of money.  Historically, the U.S. has relied upon 
the “user-pays principle” – the idea that beneficiaries of a particular service should 
also shoulder the burden of paying for the service. User fees, like truck permit fees, 
tie benefits to payments that can help defray the public cost of providing them.19  
Indexing permit fees to inflation would enable the state to maintain the purchasing 
power of the revenue generated by these fees over time.20 For example, $1 in 2023 
has the same purchases power of $0.20 in 1977.  
  

                                                 
18 Government Finance Officers Association. Establishing Government Charges and Fees. 
https://www.gfoa.org/materials/establishing-government-charges-and-fees  
19 Congressional Research Service. (January 2019). Economics of User Fees. 
https://www.congress.gov/crs_external_products/R/PDF/R45463/R45463.1.pdf  
20 While other states do not specifically index truck permit fees to inflation, many do index other 
transportation fees and taxes to inflation.  For example, as of July 2021, 22 states had variable-rate 
gas taxes that automatically adjust with economic measures such as the price of gas or the general 
inflation rate.    

https://www.gfoa.org/materials/establishing-government-charges-and-fees
https://www.congress.gov/crs_external_products/R/PDF/R45463/R45463.1.pdf
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4. How would an increase in truck permitting fees affect 
truck permitting revenues from traffic passing 
through Louisiana? 

 
Based on our model, we estimate that Louisiana could maximize 

revenues from truck traffic passing through the state21 by increasing 
overweight single-trip permit fees, which are the most-commonly-issued 
permit type, by approximately 127%, holding all other factors, including 
the cost of alternative routes that avoid Louisiana, constant. However, we 
estimate that if the overweight single-trip permit fees were raised over 183%, the 
state would start seeing a decrease in revenues as a result of traffic shifting to less-
costly alternative routes.  Appendix I summarizes how much we estimate each fee 
amount for single-trip overweight permitting fees would be if they were increased 
by 127% and what they would be at 183%. This gives the state significant 
flexibility in setting overweight single-trip permitting fees because of the lack of 
cheaper alternative routes.  We found that, even if fee increases of less than 183% 
resulted in less through-traffic, the decreased traffic would not offset the additional 
revenue from higher fees.  In fact, less traffic would decrease the damage to 
Louisiana’s roads and decrease traffic congestion for in-state users. 

  
To determine the impact 

of increasing permitting fees, 
we performed an economic 
analysis comparing the cost22 
of transporting goods through 
Louisiana to the cost of using 
alternative routes that avoid 
Louisiana, using the U.S. 
Bureau of Transportation 
Statistic’s (BTS) Freight 
Analysis Framework (FAF).  
Trucks that transport goods 
through Louisiana typically use I-10/12 and I-20, but we included routes that also 
incorporate I-49, I-59, and I-55. Exhibit 9 shows the routes and tons of freight 
travelling under single-trip overweight permits in FY 2024. In FY 2024, 11,739 
overweight single-trip permits were issued for trips that passed through Louisiana 
using one of these interstate highways.  These overweight single-trip permits 
brought in approximately $5.6 million in revenue, with an average of $474 each.   

 

                                                 
21 Our model includes only permits issued for routes that do not begin or end in Louisiana. If the 
goods originated or ended in the state (for example, goods being imported or exported through one of 
Louisiana’s ports), we excluded these trips from our analysis. 
22 We considered both permit costs and fuel cost by state based on distance traveled.  We did not 
include monetary costs associated with congestion and delays, employee wages, or tolls. 

What we Evaluated in Our Economic Model 
Our economic model evaluates the most convenient routes through 
Louisiana and the next-best alternative routes that avoid Louisiana. 
Our model considers permit fees for each state and fuel costs (diesel 
costs for miles driven). We did not consider monetary costs 
associated with congestion and delays, employee wages, or tolls.  
We calculated the route cost using the following general model: 
 

𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇𝑇 𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 = 

� ��
𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸ℎ 𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆

𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸 𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀𝑀 ∗ 𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷𝐷 𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸ℎ 𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆� +  𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃𝑃 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸𝐸ℎ 𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆�
𝐴𝐴𝐴𝐴𝐴𝐴 𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆𝑆
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Exhibit 9 
Interstate Through Routes and Associated Freight Statistics  

from Single Trip Overweight Truck Permits 
FY 2024 

 

 
Exhibit 10 shows the percentage increase where the state can maximize 

revenues for the overweight single-trip permit and the point where an increase will 
start to fall below current levels.  As shown in Appendix I, if the overweight single-
trip permit fee for a truck weighing 130,000 lbs. and traveling between 51-100 
miles were increased by 127%, the new fee would be $578.85 instead of $255.  
  

Interstate Route Number of Permits Average Tons Per Trip 
I-20 5,078 58.6 
I-10/12 3,613 57.4 
I-49 1,200 74.1* 
I-59 1,222 58.3 
I-55 626 56.4 
     Total 11,739 59.7 
* Average weight for overweight permits along this route are higher than other routes due to a 
disproportionate number of extremely heavy goods (such as spacecraft rockets and windmill parts) 
that travel along this route. 
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from DOTD and Google Maps. 
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Exhibit 10 
Estimated Change in Volume of Freight and Revenue from Changes in 

Single-Trip Overweight Permit Fees  
Based on FY 2024 Tonnage and Revenue Data 

 

 
 
 

 
 

Price differences between routes going through Louisiana and 
alternative routes that bypass Louisiana result from geographic and 
infrastructure features, as well as other states’ permit and diesel costs. For 
example, the nearest interstate Mississippi River crossing not in Louisiana is in 
Memphis, Tennessee.23 This means that all trucks moving through Louisiana would 
have to go to at least Memphis in order to avoid Louisiana and remain on the 
interstate. As an example, Exhibit 11 shows the Louisiana route and alternate route 
for goods moving from Laredo, Texas to Atlanta, Georgia, as well as our estimated 
costs associated with each.  In 2023, approximately 196,000 tons of motor vehicles 
and machinery, two categories which comprise most of Louisiana’s overweight 
transported goods24, were shipped between these two cities, and much of it likely 
passed through Louisiana.  Our model estimates that Louisiana collects 
approximately $152,000 from single-trip overweight permit fees from trucks 
travelling between these cities under the current pricing structure. 
                                                 
23 There are two bridges between Arkansas and Mississippi, south of Memphis, but both are in 
relatively rural areas and are not interstate bridges. 
24 Based on LLA sampling of DOTD permit data, 65.7% of all permits issued in FY2024 for through-
traffic were for machinery, 16.8% were for motor vehicles, and the remaining 17.5% were for a 
variety of other types of heavy loads. 
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At a 127% increase, 
revenue collections would 
be maximized.   

At a 183% increase, 
revenue collected from 
increased fees will start 
to fall below current 
levels. 
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Exhibit 11 
Example of Costs  

Associated with Alternative Route and Louisiana Route 
Constructed Using FY 2024 DOTD Data 

 
Laredo, TX to Atlanta, GA 

Expense Louisiana Route Alternate Route 
Mileage 1,149 1,274 
Diesel Cost $763  $840  
Permit Cost (All States along Route) 894  1,496  
     Total Costs $1,657  $2,336  
          Difference -$679  

Louisiana Route 

 
Most Likely Alternate Route 

 
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from DOTD, BTS FAF, AAA, and 
Google maps. 
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5. Would increasing truck permitting fees help address 
Louisiana’s construction backlog? 

 
Increasing oversize and 

overweight permit fees could 
generate additional state revenue to 
help address the state’s estimated 
$23.9 billion backlog in transportation 
infrastructure needs.25  As stated 
earlier, truck permitting fees and penalties 
are transferred into the TTF.  The TTF is 
the main funding source used to meet the 
state’s transportation needs; it provides 
funding for the costs associated with 
construction and maintenance of roads 
and bridges of the state and federal 
highway systems.  We identified in our 
September 2022 report26 that the TTF is not sufficient to meet the state’s 
transportation needs because the motor fuels taxes, which are the TTF’s largest 
revenue source, have not increased since 1990 and are not indexed to inflation. We 
recommended to the legislature to consider raising Louisiana’s gas tax and/or 
indexing it to certain economic conditions, such as inflation, changes in population, 
change in fuel efficiency standards, etc.  Louisiana’s gas tax is lower than most of 
its neighboring states, so less revenue is being generated than in states where the 
gas tax rate is higher than in Louisiana. 

 

                                                 
25 Boston Consulting Group. (June-September 2024). Louisiana Department of Transportation & 
Development 2024 Assessment. Retrieved from https://dotd.la.gov/media/2zrlsamc/2024-10-07-
dotd-2024-assessment-bcg-report-vfinal.pdf    
26 Louisiana Legislative Auditor. (September 2022). Sufficiency of the Transportation Trust Fund in 
Meeting the State’s Transportation Needs. Retrieved from 
https://app2.lla.state.la.us/publicreports.nsf/0/9bb512d80ca9db31862588b0007af368/$file/000ttfa.p
df?openelement&.7773098  

For FY 2024 (estimated), Louisiana relied 
on state funds for 44.7% of its 
transportation funding.  This is the 
second-lowest of the 12 (Alabama, 
Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, 
Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, 
South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, 
West Virginia) Southeastern states and 
Texas. On average, these states used 
state funds for 69.0% of their 
transportation funding. 
 
Source:  NASBO’s 2024 State 
Expenditure Report (estimated) 
transportation expenditure table.   

https://dotd.la.gov/media/2zrlsamc/2024-10-07-dotd-2024-assessment-bcg-report-vfinal.pdf
https://dotd.la.gov/media/2zrlsamc/2024-10-07-dotd-2024-assessment-bcg-report-vfinal.pdf
https://app2.lla.state.la.us/publicreports.nsf/0/9bb512d80ca9db31862588b0007af368/$file/000ttfa.pdf?openelement&.7773098
https://app2.lla.state.la.us/publicreports.nsf/0/9bb512d80ca9db31862588b0007af368/$file/000ttfa.pdf?openelement&.7773098
https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASBO/9d2d2db1-c943-4f1b-b750-0fca152d64c2/UploadedImages/SER%20Archive/2024_SER/2024_State_Expenditure_Report_S.pdf
https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASBO/9d2d2db1-c943-4f1b-b750-0fca152d64c2/UploadedImages/SER%20Archive/2024_SER/2024_State_Expenditure_Report_S.pdf
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According to the 
report, Louisiana 
Department of 
Transportation & 
Development-2024 
Assessment, issued in 
October 2024 by the 
Boston Consulting Group, 
Louisiana should increase 
fees for direct road usage, 
such as truck permitting 
fees. The report also 
recommended that the state 
consider raising revenues 
through taxes.27  In FY 2024, 
Louisiana's transportation 
expenditures as a percent of total state expenditures were the lowest in the 
Southeast. For example, Louisiana spent 5.1% of total state spending on 
transportation, while Mississippi spent 7.3%, Arkansas spent 6.5%, and Texas 
spent 13.3%, as seen in Exhibit 12.28   Previous assessments of DOTD have found 
that state revenue sources that are dedicated to DOTD are insufficient, have not 
kept pace with cost growth, are not sufficiently diversified, and often lack flexibility.  
Creating a truck permit fee structure that is based on the costs imposed by heavy 
vehicles and is indexed to the general inflation rate or specific indices tracking 
highway construction costs would help Louisiana develop a self-sustaining revenue 
source to pay for any road and infrastructure damages caused by overweight and 
oversized trucks.   
 

Increasing permit fees would contribute additional state revenues for 
improving the state’s roads and bridges, which could bring down insurance 
rates. According to a report presented to the Louisiana legislature in February 
2025,29 improving Louisiana roads could reduce truck-related injuries and, 
therefore, the cost of insurance. Insurance costs were identified by stakeholders as 
the top concern for the trucking industry in Louisiana.30 Increasing permit fees 
would contribute additional state revenues for the maintenance of roads and 

                                                 
27 The report recommended increasing the fuel tax and/or indexing it to inflation. The report found that 
raising the fuel tax to the peer state average of 27.1 cents would result in $212 million in additional 
annual revenue. Additionally, increasing DOTD’s share of motor vehicle sales tax revenue from 60% to 
100% could yield an additional $227 million per year.  
28 National Association of State Budget Officers (NASBO). 2024 State Expenditure Report. Retrieved 
from https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASBO/9d2d2db1-c943-4f1b-b750-
0fca152d64c2/UploadedImages/SER%20Archive/2024_SER/2024_State_Expenditure_Report_S.pdf  
29 Angoff, Jay. (February 2025). All-Lines, Personal Lines, and Commercial Auto Insurance 
Performance: Louisiana v. Bordering States and Countrywide and Suggestions for Bringing Down 
Rates. Retrieved from https://irp.cdn-
website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf  
30 https://members.lmta.la/lmtaupdates/Details/insurance-costs-again-ranked-as-top-concern-for-
louisiana-s-trucking-industry-238260  

13.3% 

6.5% 

7.3% 

5.1% 

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff 
using information provided by NASBO. 

Exhibit 12 
Percentage of State Spending on 

Transportation, FY 2024 
  

https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASBO/9d2d2db1-c943-4f1b-b750-0fca152d64c2/UploadedImages/SER%20Archive/2024_SER/2024_State_Expenditure_Report_S.pdf
https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASBO/9d2d2db1-c943-4f1b-b750-0fca152d64c2/UploadedImages/SER%20Archive/2024_SER/2024_State_Expenditure_Report_S.pdf
https://irp.cdn-website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf
https://irp.cdn-website.com/cd73a221/files/uploaded/FINAL_Angoff_Report_2.5.25.pdf
https://members.lmta.la/lmtaupdates/Details/insurance-costs-again-ranked-as-top-concern-for-louisiana-s-trucking-industry-238260
https://members.lmta.la/lmtaupdates/Details/insurance-costs-again-ranked-as-top-concern-for-louisiana-s-trucking-industry-238260
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bridges, which could bring down insurance rates and make trucking companies in 
Louisiana competitive with those in neighboring states.  

Matter for Legislative Consideration 1: The legislature may wish to 
consider requiring DOTD to conduct a highway cost allocation study to 
determine the damage caused by overweight and oversize trucks on 
Louisiana’s roads and bridges.  
 
Matter for Legislative Consideration 2: The legislature may wish to 
consider indexing truck permitting fees to certain economic conditions going 
forward, such as inflation. This could include reevaluating and incrementally 
adjusting truck permitting fees periodically and could include floors and 
ceilings to limit major changes at one time. Periodic adjustments may result 
in reducing administrative burdens and impact to consumers.   
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APPENDIX A: Scope and Methodology 

This report provides information on Louisiana’s oversize and overweight truck 
permits fees and revenues, and compares Louisiana’s fees to select neighboring 
states. This report also provides the results of our analysis estimating the impact of 
increasing truck permitting fees on the demand for permits and the impact on state 
revenues from these fees. Our analysis covers fiscal years (FY) 2020-2024. Our 
objective for this report was:  

To evaluate Louisiana’s truck permitting fees, how these fees compare to 
neighboring states, and how changes to fees can impact state 

transportation revenues. 

Informational reports are intended to provide more timely information than 
standards-based performance audits. While these informational reports do not 
follow Government Auditing Standards, we conduct quality assurance activities to 
ensure the information presented is accurate. We incorporated the Department and 
Transportation and Development’s (DOTD) feedback throughout this informational 
report. 

To answer our objectives, we performed the following: 

• Researched and reviewed applicable federal and state laws and
regulations.

• Obtained and analyzed unaudited data from DOTD on the number of
permits issued and permit fees collected between FY 2020 and 2024 to
provide statistics on the number of permits issued and fees collected,
by permit type.

• Analyzed DOTD’s fiscal year 2024 expenditures on the truck permitting
and enforcement section using unaudited LaGov reports.

• Downloaded and analyzed vehicle miles traveled data from the Federal
Highway Administration to determine how road usage in general and
the share of road usage by heavy trucks has changed in Louisiana
between fiscal years 2020 and 2024.

• Researched and reviewed best practices and other state audits to:

• Determine the impact of heavy vehicles on roads and bridges.

• Determine how infrastructure expenditures are funded in
Louisiana and other states, and potential solutions to address
funding shortfalls.

• Identify issues affecting state departments of transportation.
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• Determine future projections for freight transportation in 
Louisiana. 

• Interviewed stakeholders to gain an understanding of their top 
concerns with respect to the trucking industry in Louisiana and 
neighboring states. 

• Compared truck permit fees in Louisiana to select neighboring states 
for (1) oversize single-trip, (2) oversize annual, (3) overweight single-
trip, and (4) overweight annual permit types.  

• Created four truck configurations based on an analysis of the 
permits issued by DOTD between fiscal years 2020 and 2024 in 
order to compare permit fees applicable for the four permit 
types listed above. 

 One oversize, legal weight configuration using common 
oversize dimensions for trucks traveling on Louisiana 
roads; 

 One extra-long oversize, legal weight configuration; 

 One common overweight and oversize configuration; 

 One configuration matching the dimensions and weight 
limits imposed by Louisiana’s overweight annual permit 
type.  

• Researched laws, regulations, and permit information for select 
neighboring states (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, 
Mississippi, South Carolina, and Texas)   

• Used this information to determine the truck permit fees 
applicable in each of the truck configuration and permit type 
scenarios to compare truck permit fees in Louisiana to select 
neighboring states. 

• Evaluated the impact of indexing truck permit fees to the Consumer 
Price Index (CPI). 

• Acquired the CPI for All Urban Consumers, which covers more 
than 90% of the total U.S. population and goes back to 1977. 
We used the CPI series "All items in U.S. city average, all urban 
consumers, not seasonally adjusted," including annual averages 
going back to 1977, as this is the earliest year the truck 
permitting fees were set. 
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• Analyzed past state legislation to identify when each trucking 
permit fee was created, the original fee amount, and whether 
the fee has been updated since it was created.  

• Inflated the original fee for each truck permit type using 2023 
inflation, the year with the most complete data available at the 
time of the calculation.  The inflation formula used was to 
multiply the past fee amount by the ratio of the current-year’s 
CPI to the past year’s CPI.  

• For the four common permit types - oversize single-trip, 
oversize annual, overweight single-trip, and overweight annual - 
we also calculated the inflated amount of the permit fee for each 
year since the fees were set. In this yearly calculation, we used 
the CPI for the specific year of calculation, rather than the most 
current CPI. 

• Using these inflation calculations, we determined the difference 
and percentage change between the inflated and the current fee 
amounts. 

• Due to the complexity of the overweight single-trip fee, it was 
broken out separately. We calculated the average percentage 
change between the inflation-adjusted fees and the current 
fees. These projected fee amounts were then used, along with 
counts of each permit type issued in FY2024, to produce a 
revenue estimation. 

• In addition to the inflation projection with the entire fee chart, 
we calculated a weighted average overweight single-trip permit 
fee. This representative value was then inflated according to the 
same inflation formula used previously. 

• Created a model to predict the impact of raising fees for single-trip 
overweight permits 

• Downloaded single-trip overweight permits for FY 2024 from 
DOTD’s LaGeaux permitting system.  We eliminated duplicate 
records that resulted from permit revisions, and used origin and 
destination fields to determine which permits were for trips that 
pass through Louisiana using one of five interstate corridors:  
I-10/12, I-20, I-55, I-49, and I-59. We used this data to find 
the number of trips, average weight, total freight, and total 
revenues for overweight trips by interstate corridor and overall.  
We sampled 10% of the list of overweight permits for single 
trips passing through Louisiana and categorized the freight by 
type, using the U.S. Department of Transportation’s (US DOT) 
Commodity Flow Survey Standard Classification of Transported 
Goods (SCTG).  We used this to estimate how much of 
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Louisiana’s single-trip overweight passthrough traffic fell into 
each SCTG categories.  Approximately 82% of traffic fell into the 
machinery or motorized and other vehicles (including parts) 
categories. 

• Downloaded 2023 data about truck freight flows in the United 
States from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics’ (BTS) 
Freight Analysis Framework (FAF).  Informed by the results from 
sampling DOTD’s LaGeaux data, we downloaded flows between 
all FAF zones for freight transported by truck for the following 
categories: Non-Metallic Mineral Products; Articles of Base 
Metal; Machinery; Electronic and Other Electrical Equipment and 
Components, and Office Equipment; Motorized and Other 
Vehicles (includes parts); Transportation Equipment, not 
elsewhere classified; Miscellaneous Manufactured Products; 
Waste and Scrap; and Mixed Freight. For all combinations of 
origins and destinations (16,637), we determined whether the 
route between them could potentially pass through Louisiana.  
For example, a route between FAF zone 012 – Mobile, Alabama 
and zone 451 – Charleston, South Carolina would clearly not 
pass through Louisiana, while a route between Mobile and zone 
483 – Corpus Christi, Texas likely would. Then, for all 
combinations of zones that likely pass through Louisiana, we 
weighted the amount of each category of goods travelling 
between each origin and destination combination by our 
sampling results of DOTD’s LaGeaux data. The goal of weighting 
routes this way was to allow us to select routes that were 
representative of the types of overweight freight that flow 
through Louisiana and to estimate proportionally how much 
overweight traffic could be attributed to each route. We selected 
160 routes that accounted for 80% of the total volume of the 
weighted freight that could potentially travel through Louisiana. 
These routes formed the base of analysis for our model. 

• For each route selected from the FAF model, we used Google 
Maps to determine the best route that passes through Louisiana 
and the best route that avoided Louisiana.  We then broke each 
route into interstate segments, where an interstate intersected 
with another interstate or a state line. For each route, we 
sequentially coded the interstate segments necessary to travel 
between the origin and destination, both through Louisiana and 
around Louisiana. We determined the mileage associated with 
each interstate segment and calculated the mileage in each 
state for each route.  We then used AAA’s average diesel prices 
by state to determine the cost of diesel for the total mileage in 
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each state.31 We also determined the cost of overweight permits 
in each state.  When the permit cost was dependent on the 
weight of the load, we used the average weight for the 
interstate corridor that the route used, which we found from our 
sample of LaGeaux data. We then combined total diesel prices 
and total permit prices to get total cost of each route. If the 
total cost of the route that passes through Louisiana was less 
than the total cost of the route that avoided Louisiana, we 
assumed that traffic between those two locations would choose 
the route passing through Louisiana. We then weighted each 
route by the results of our analysis of that FAF data to 
determine, using LaGeaux data, how much annual overweight 
traffic, how many trips and how much revenue can be attributed 
to travel between each origin/destination combination.  For 
example, the weighted average of the volumes of traffic, taken 
from the FAF data, between Atlanta, Georgia and Houston, 
Texas in the categories identified by sampling the LaGeaux data 
was 20.4 thousand tons per year.  Traffic between these two 
cities likely passes through Louisiana using the I-10/12 corridor. 
20.4 thousand tons represents 2.2% of the total weighted traffic 
from the FAF along this interstate corridor.  Using the total 
volume of overweight pass-through traffic in  
FY 2024 from LaGeaux along the I-10/12 corridor, we can 
estimate that about 9.1 million lbs. of overweight freight 
travelled between these two cities.  Since each trip along this 
corridor averaged about 115,000 lbs., we estimate that about 
79 overweight trips travelling from Atlanta to Houston occur 
each year, which equates to annual revenue of about $36,900, 
using the current pricing model for overweight single-trip 
permits.  This created an initial allocation designed to replicate 
current conditions.  We were then able to vary the price for 
Louisiana permits and create estimates of the revenues and 
traffic volumes that would result at various price points. We 
highlighted this specific information for Laredo, Texas and 
Atlanta (both freight shipped from Laredo to Atlanta and from 
Atlanta to Laredo) as an example to use in the body of the 
report. 

 

                                                 
31 We assumed that overweight trucks would average five miles to a gallon of diesel, based on 
estimates from the US DOT’s Comprehensive Truck Size and Weight Study. 
https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/4746  

https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/4746
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APPENDIX B: History of Truck Permitting and 
Federal Size and Weight Standards 

 

History of Truck Permitting. The federal government began regulating 
truck size and weight in 1956, when Congress passed the National Interstate and 
Defense Highways Act, establishing the Interstate Highway System.32 In 1982, 
Congress passed the Surface Transportation Assistance Act (STAA), which imposed 
the federal 80,000-lb. limit as a mandate across the entire Interstate Highway 
System. The STAA also contained significant provisions related to vehicle length. 
States developed vehicle size and weight requirements to be enforced in their state, 
which have to fall within the STAA standards, review permit applications and issue 
oversize and overweight permits, and enforce the federal and state vehicle size and 
weight regulations.33 According to best practices,34 states set varying vehicle size 
and weight laws, and issue permits with different permit requirements. Maximum 
vehicle width and weight requirements are generally set at the federal standard  
[8 feet, 6 inches wide and 80,000 pounds for gross vehicle weight (GVW)]. 
However, states have varying size requirements for vehicle length and height.   

 
National Network Vehicle Size and Weight Standards 

Vehicle  
Length 

The federal length standards differ from the width and weight standards in that 
they do not establish a maximum overall length for a vehicle. The length standard 
is a minimum standard set to ensure interstate commerce is not impeded by a 
state’s requirements.  
 
No state shall impose: 

• A length limitation of less than 48 feet on a semitrailer operating in a truck 
tractor-semitrailer combination, 

• A length limitation of less than 28 feet on any semitrailer or trailer 
operating in a truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer combination, 

• An overall length limitation on commercial vehicles operating in truck 
tractor-semitrailer or truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer combinations, or 

• A limit of less than 45 feet on the length of any bus; and 
 
No state shall prohibit: 

• Commercial motor vehicles operating in truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer 
combinations, 

• The operation of semitrailers or trailers which are 28 ½ feet long when 
operating in a truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer combination if such a trailer 
or semitrailer was in actual and lawful operation on December 1, 1982, and 
the combination has an overall length not exceeding 65 feet, 

• The use of trailers or semitrailers of such dimensions as those that were in 
actual and lawful use in the state on December 1, 1982, or 

• If semi-trailer length was determined on that date by the distance from the 
kingpin to rearmost axle, or end of semitrailer, the operation of any 
semitrailer that complies with that limitation must be allowed. 

                                                 
32 The Federal limits established in 1956 also came with an exception: Any state that had allowed axle 
loads or GVW limits in excess of the 1956 Federal limits could continue to allow the higher State limits 
on Interstate Highways. This provision became known as the first “grandfather clause.”  
33 https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-236.pdf  
34 https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-236.pdf  

https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-236.pdf
https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-236.pdf
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National Network Vehicle Size and Weight Standards 
Vehicle Width On the National Network, no State may impose a width limit of more than or less 

than 102 inches, except for the state of Hawaii, which is allowed to keep the 
State’s 108-inch width.  

Vehicle Height No Federal vehicle height limit exists. State standards range from 13.6 feet to  
14.6 feet. 

Vehicle 
Weight 

Federal weight standards apply to commercial vehicle operations only on the 
Interstate Highway System. Off the Interstate Highway System, states may set 
their own commercial vehicle weight standards.  
 
Federal standards for commercial vehicle maximum weights on the Interstate 
Highway System are as follows:  

• Single Axle – 20,000 lbs.  
• Tandem Axle – 34,000 lbs.  
• GVW – 80,000 lbs. 

 
The Federal Bridge Formula may require a lower GVW depending on the number 
and spacing of the axles in the combination vehicle. 

Note: Some exceptions to Federal size and weight limits, known as "grandfather rights," were 
granted to states that allowed higher limits before imposing the Surface Transportation Assistance 
Act standards. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from federal regulations, the GAO, 
and the Federal Highway Administration, US DOT. 
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APPENDIX C: Exemptions from Truck Permitting 
Laws in Louisiana 

 
 
In accordance with state law,35 certain farm vehicles and equipment are 

exempt from truck permit requirements. These exemptions include farm vehicles 
and equipment (except draglines and bulldozers) used for agricultural purposes or 
transporting farm equipment within 50 miles of origin; trailers and semi-trailers (up 
to 12,000 pounds) used by retail businesses in the state for delivering or picking up 
farm equipment within 50 miles; and vehicles transporting timber cutting or logging 
equipment, where the trailer and equipment are owned or leased by the same 
person. In addition, farm vehicles and logging equipment can use public highways 
(excluding interstate highways) from sunrise to sunset without a special permit, as 
long as the equipment is properly equipped with reflective lights and hazard lights, 
and trucks transporting cotton or cotton-related products are exempt from vehicle 
size restrictions if they obtain an annual permit from the secretary for a $10 fee. 

 
Certain recreational vehicles and truck campers may exceed the maximum 

width if such excess width extends no more than six inches beyond the body of the 
vehicle.36 In accordance with state and federal law,37 certain vehicles carrying 
certain commodities shall be exempt from application of the federal bridge formula. 
The exemptions include vehicles with certain axle configurations carrying forest 
products in their natural state, lumber, sand, gravel, agricultural products in their 
natural state, loose or mixed concrete (including asphaltic or Portland cement), or 
bulk liquid commodities. 

 
In addition, in accordance with state regulations,38 federal, state, and local 

government agencies are required to obtain oversize and overweight permits but 
are not charged the fee for oversize vehicles if they have federal or public license 
plates and identification numbers which are being used for official business.39 

 
Apart from these exemptions, state law specifies several commodity specific 

special permits40 such as: 
 
• Annual Agronomic and Horticultural  

• Annual Containerized Cargo (Class I) 

• Annual Cotton Module 

• Annual Forest Management 

                                                 
35 R.S. 32:385 
36 R.S. 32:385.1 
37 R.S. 32:386 and 23 U.S.C.A. 127 
38 LAC T.73 Pt. I §301 
39 Government-owned utility companies cannot get the oversize permit fee exemption. 
40 R.S. 32:387 – 32:387.23 
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• Annual Forest products

• Annual Harvest Season/Natural Forest Products

• Monthly House Movers Equipment

• Annual Liquid Bulk

• Monthly Oilfield Special Equipment

• Monthly Pleasure Craft

• Annual Refuse

• Annual Refuse/Waste

• Annual Solid Waste

• Annual Steering Axle

• Annual Timber Cutting/Logging Equipment

• Annual Timber Harvest Season
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APPENDIX D: Louisiana’s Overweight Single Trip 
Permits Fee Schedule 

Overweight Permit Fee Schedule No. 1 
This schedule is for three types of vehicles: 

• Vehicles and vehicle combinations not exceeding their legal gross weight, but over the legal
axle weight on one to three axles/axle groups (tandem, tridum, or quadrum), including
steering axles

• Vehicles/vehicle combinations having two or three total axles and exceeding both their legal
gross and axle weight.

• All two to four axle (each individual axle counted separately) off-road equipment

Excess Weight 
(in lbs.) 

Distance (in miles) 
0-50 51-100 101-150 151-200 Over 200 

0-10,000 $30.00 $45.00 $52.50 $67.50 $82.50 
10,001-20,000 $52.50 $97.50 $135.00 $172.50 $210.00 

20,001-30,000 $82.50 $150.00 $210.00 $277.50 $345.00 
30,001-40,000 $105.00 $202.50 $292.50 $382.50 $472.50 
40,001-50,000 $135.00 $255.00 $367.50 $487.50 $607.50 
50,001-60,000 $157.50 $307.50 $450.00 $592.50 $735.00 
Over 60,000 $15.00 permit fee plus $0.10 per ton-mile will be charged 

Overweight Permit Fee Schedule No. 2 
This schedule is for combinations of vehicles with four axles, including the steering axle, where each 
individual axle is counted separately. 

Excess Weight 
(in lbs.) 

Distance (in miles) 
0-50 51-100 101-150 151-200 Over 200 

66,001-80,000 $30.00 $52.50 $67.50 $90.00 $105.00 
80,001-90,000 $67.50 $112.50 $165.00 $217.50 $262.50 
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Overweight Permit Fee Schedule No. 3 
This schedule is for combinations of vehicles with five or more axles, including the steering axle, 
when the gross weight exceeds 80,000 pounds. 

Excess Weight (in 
lbs.) 

Distance (in miles) 

0-50 51-100 101-150 151-200 Over 200 
80,001-100,000 $45.00 $67.50 $97.50 $120.00 $150.00 
100,001-108,000 $75.00 $142.50 $202.50 $270.00 $330.00 
108,001-120,000 $105.00 $195.00 $285.00 $375.00 $465.00 
120,001-132,000 $135.00 $255.00 $375.00 $495.00 $622.50 
132,001-152,000 $180.00 $337.50 $502.50 $667.50 $832.50 
152,001-172,000 $232.50 $442.50 $660.00 $877.50 $1,095.00 
172,001-192,000 $285.00 $547.50 $817.50 $1,087.50 $1,357.50 
192,001-212,000 $337.50 $652.50 $975.00 $1,297.50 $1,620.00 
212,001-232,000 $390.00 $757.50 $1,132.50 $1,507.50 $1,875.00 
232,001-254,000 $442.50 $862.50 $1,290.00 $1,717.50 $2,130.00 
Over 254,000 $15 - $0.75 per ton-mile in excess of 80,000 pounds, plus a fee for structural 

evaluation based on the following schedule: 

• $187.50 - for evaluation of treated timber, concrete slab, and 
precast concrete slab bridges 

• $1,275.00 - for evaluation of truss, continuous span and movable 
bridges, and for all Mississippi River structures 

• $750.00 - for all other structures 

Note: Unless there are any other provisions of law to the contrary, vehicle combinations with a 
gross weight over 120,000 pounds and not more than 254,000 pounds may have tandem axle 
weights up to 45,000 pounds and a steering axle weight up to 13,000 pounds, provided the axle 
group spreads are at least 12’ and the spreads between tires in a group is at least 4’. Loads over 
232,000 and not more than 254,000 pounds may travel statewide via permit on DOTD selected and 
approved routes, most of which are Interstate. However, any proposed travel off of the National 
Highway System (“NHS”) will be subject to structural evaluation as provided for in this schedule. 

Source: Louisiana Regulations for Trucks, Vehicles, and Loads (Updated 2025) 
 
 

http://www.dotd.la.gov/Business/LaGeaux_Docs/Rules%20and%20Regulations.pdf
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APPENDIX E: Comparison of Oversize and Overweight Permit Fees  
 

Permit Type and 
Truck 
Configuration Louisiana Alabama Arkansas Florida Georgia Mississippi 

South 
Carolina Texas 

Oversize Single-Trip 
Permit Configuration 
(Legal Weight)  

 
Width: 10' 
Length: 75' 
Height: 13'6" 
GVW: 80,000 lbs.  
(5-axle) 

$10 $20 $17 $5 $30 

$10-$35 
 

(Mississippi 
requires a $25 
permit for out-

of-state 
registrations in 
addition to any 
other permit.) 

$30 $61.61 

Oversize Single-Trip 
Permit Configuration 
(Extra-Long Load 
Length, Legal 
Weight) 

 
Width: 12'6" 
Length: 185'6" 
Height: 14' 
GVW: 80,000 lbs.  
(5-axle) 

$10 $20 $17 $25 $30 

$10-$35 
 

(Mississippi 
requires a $25 

permit for out of 
state 

registrations in 
addition to any 
other permit.) 

$30 $61.61 

Oversize Annual 
Permit Configuration 
(Legal Weight)  

 
Width: 10' 
Length: 75' 
Height: 13'6" 
GVW: 80,000 lbs.  
(5-axle) 

$500 $100 

$500 
 

(Annual 
oversize 

permit allows 
a trailer to be 
a maximum 

of 57' in 
length) 

$20 

Standard 
oversize 
annual 
permit: 
$150  

 
Annual 
oversize 

permit for 
NHS: 
$500 

$100 $100 

No annual 
oversize-

only 
permit 
type 
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Permit Type and 
Truck 
Configuration Louisiana Alabama Arkansas Florida Georgia Mississippi 

South 
Carolina Texas 

Overweight Single-
Trip Permit 
Configuration 

Width: 11'6" 
Length: 76' 
Height: 14'6" 
GVW: 130,000 lbs.  
(7-axle) 
Distance: 51-100 miles 

$255 $70 $234 

$43 - $62 

(Based on 51-
mile and 100-
mile distance. 

Includes 
administration 

and 
transmission 

fees) 

$30 

In-State: 
$137.5-$260 

Out-of-State: 
$162.5-$285 

(Mississippi 
requires a $25 
permit for out-

of-state 
registrations. 

Range of 51 and 
100 miles) 

$30 $291.67 

Overweight Annual 
Permit Configuration 

Width: 12' 
Length: 90' 
Height: 14'4" 
GVW: 120,000 lbs. 

$2,500 

$100 

(Length limit 
is 75’, and 
height limit 

is 14’) 

No annual 
overweight 
permit type 

$464 

(Sum of 
annual 

oversize and 
annual 

overweight 
permits and 

administration 
fees) 

Annual 
Permit: 
$100 

Annual 
Permit 

Plus: $500 

(Weight 
limit is 

100,000 
lbs.) 

$4,500 

(Height limit is 
13’6”) 

$100 

$4,090.26 

(includes 
service 

charge of 
$90.26) 

(Height 
limit is 14’) 

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information on state laws and regulations from Westlaw and state regulations from 
truck permit office websites. 
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APPENDIX F: Louisiana Truck Permit Types - Year 
of Origination and Last Update 

 

Louisiana Truck Permit Types: Year of Origination, Most Recent Update, and 
Years Since Most Recent Update 

Permit Type 
Fee Origination 

Date 
Most Recent 

Update 
Years Since Most 
Recent Update 

Agronomic/Horticultural Annual Permit 1997 Never Updated 28 
Containerized Cargo (Class I) Annual 
Permit 1992 Never Updated 33 

Containerized Cargo (Class II) Semi-
Annual Permit 1993 2019 6 

Containerized Special Cargo Annual 
Permit 2003 Never Updated 22 

Cotton Module Annual Permit 1989 1995 30 

Escort Vehicle Annual Permit 1986 Never Updated 39 
Forest Management Equipment Annual 
Permit 1979 1997 28 

Forest Product Annual Permit 1997 Never Updated 28 
Harvest Season or Natural Forest 
Products Annual Permit 1977 1995 30 

House Movers Equipment Monthly 
Permit 1990 Never Updated 35 

Liquid Bulk Annual Permit 1992 Never Updated 33 
Mobile Home or Office Single Trip 
Permit 1990 Never Updated 35 

Non-Critical Off-Road Equipment Annual 
Permit 1999 Never Updated 26 

Critical Off-Road Equipment Semi-
Annual Permit 1999 Never Updated 26 

Oilfield Equipment Monthly Permit 1979 Never Updated 46 

Oversize Annual Permit 1997 Never Updated 28 

Oversize Monthly Permit 1990 Never Updated 35 

Oversize Single-Trip Permit 1977 1990 35 

Overweight Annual Permit 2000 Never Updated 25 

Overweight Single-Trip Permit 1977 2019 6 

Pleasure Craft Monthly Permit 1997 Never Updated 28 
Ready-Mix Concrete Truck Annual 
Permit 2018 Never Updated 7 

Refuse Annual Permit 1991 Never Updated 34 

Refuse/Waste Annual Permit 1991 1997 28 

Solid Waste Annual Permit 1995 Never Updated 30 

Steering Axle Annual Permit 1979 Never Updated 46 
Timber Cutting/Logging Equipment 
Annual Permit 1997 Never Updated 28 

Timber Harvest Annual Permit 2019 Never Updated 6 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from Westlaw, the state legislature 
website, and the HathiTrust Digital Library. 
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APPENDIX G: FHWA Vehicle Classification 
 

Source: Federal Highway Administration 

https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policyinformation/tmguide/tmg_2013/vehicle-types.cfm




 

H.1 

APPENDIX H: Permits Issued and Fees Collected  
FY2020 – FY2024  

 
 

Permit 
Type 

FY2020 FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Overweight 
Single-Trip 
Permit 103,162 $20,206,260 82,962 $23,262,142 88,119 $24,054,055 92,609 $26,392,368 84,836 $26,069,813 
Overweight 
Annual Permit  1,631 3,727,500 1,574 3,580,000 1,588 3,585,000 1,680 3,792,500 1,661 3,690,000 
Oversize 
Single-Trip 
Permit 70,840 1,139,040 61,087 966,853 66,337 1,033,920 69,100 1,111,378 68,263 1,121,443 
Critical Off-
Road 
Equipment 
Semi-Annual 
Permit 354 703,770 366 564,905 387 737,345 385 688,620 402 666,825 
Oversize Annual 
Permit 1,108 544,500 1,031 509,500 1,129 557,500 1,130 559,500 1,038 511,500 
Containerized 
Cargo (Class II) 
Semi-Annual 
Permit 42 20,500 826 309,375 703 263,625 799 299,250 1,362 510,750 
Agronomic/ 
Horticultural 
Annual Permit 3,466 346,500 3,482 348,100 3,547 354,300 3,741 374,100 3,481 348,100 
Non-Critical 
Off-Road 
Equipment 
Annual Permit 253 233,000 231 210,000 275 217,000 288 228,000 265 222,000 
Timber Harvest 
Annual Permit 550 54,900 1,103 110,100 1,306 130,600 1,475 147,400 1,665 166,500 
Mobile Home or 
Office Single 
Trip Permit 23,545 78,310 26,933 98,420 30,498 165,500 23,737 141,275 25,278 147,890 
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Permit 
Type 

FY2020 FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Ready-Mix 
Concrete Truck 
Annual Permit 49 $32,000 68 $46,000 140 $84,800 157 $76,400 155 $81,600 
Refuse Annual 
Permit 65 65,000 62 62,000 54 54,000 50 50,000 67 67,000 
Harvest Season 
or Natural 
Forest Products 
Annual Permit 6,519 65,130 5,025 50,250 4,757 47,570 4,420 44,190 4,156 41,560 
Timber Cutting/ 
Logging 
Equipment 
Annual Permit 382 38,100 355 35,500 363 36,300 384 38,400 406 40,600 
Oversize 
Monthly Permit 113 14,600 97 14,030 129 20,180 227 28,950 279 38,690 
Escort Vehicle 
Annual Permit 3,373 33,690 2,326 23,220 2,028 20,160 2,352 23,420 3,317 33,090 
Containerized 
Cargo (Class I) 
Annual Permit 658 32,900 531 26,550 385 19,250 368 18,400 292 14,600 
Containerized 
Special Cargo 
Annual Permit 542 203,250 9 6,750 18 13,500 7 5,250 11 8,250 
Solid Waste 
Annual Permit 139 6,950 133 6,550 99 4,950 105 5,250 93 4,650 
Liquid Bulk 
Annual Permit 403 80,600 383 76,600 421 84,200 497 99,400 21 4,200 
Cotton Module 
Annual Permit 30 1,500 33 1,650 26 1,300 23 1,150 22 1,100 
Oilfield 
Equipment 
Monthly Permit 25 2,985 90 4,785 41 3,120 37 3,690 13 855 
Forest 
Management 
Equipment 
Annual Permit 138 1,380 116 1,160 87 870 75 750 64 640 
Forest Product 
Annual Permit 55 550 74 740 51 510 23 230 47 470 
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Permit 
Type 

FY2020 FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

Permit 
Count 

Total 
Sales 

House Movers 
Equipment 
Monthly Permit 6 $630 3 $540 12 $510 7 $960 3 $375 
Steering Axle 
Annual Permit 11 165 8 120 3 45 5 75 15 225 
Pleasure Craft 
Monthly Permit 1 10 3 30 3 30 7 60 2 130 
Refuse/Waste 
Annual Permit 3 - 19 170 5 30 5 - 3 - 

Total 217,463 $27,633,720 188,930 $30,316,040 202,511 $31,490,170 203,693 $34,130,966 197,217 $33,792,856 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor's staff using unaudited information provided by DOTD. 





 

I.1 

APPENDIX I: Overweight Single Trip Pricing –  
Current and With Various Increases 

 

The price of overweight single-trip permits (on vehicles exceeding 80,000 lbs.) in Louisiana varies based on 
the weight of the vehicle and the number of miles travelled. The chart below shows the current pricing levels for all 
combinations of weight ranges and distances, along with the price at various levels and the price at the maximum 
estimated price before revenues begin to fall below the current level.  

 
Weight Range Mileage Range Permit Price Points 

Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum 
Current 
Permit 
Price 

127% Increase 
(Revenue 

Maximizing Price)  

183% Increase 
(Maximum Estimated Price 
Before Revenue Falls Below 

Current Levels) 
80,001 100,000 0 50 $45.00  $102.15                           $127.35  
80,001 100,000 51 100 $67.50  $153.23                           $191.03  
80,001 100,000 101 150 $97.50  $221.33                           $275.93  
80,001 100,000 151 200 $120.00  $272.40                           $339.60  
80,001 100,000 201+ - $150.00  $340.50                           $424.50  

100,001 108,000 0 50 $75.00  $170.25                           $212.25  
100,001 108,000 51 100 $142.50  $323.48                           $403.28  
100,001 108,000 101 150 $202.50  $459.68                           $573.08  
100,001 108,000 151 200 $270.00  $612.90                           $764.10  
100,001 108,000 201+ - $330.00  $749.10                           $933.90  
108,001 120,000 0 50 $105.00  $238.35                           $297.15  
108,001 120,000 51 100 $195.00  $442.65                           $551.85  
108,001 120,000 101 150 $285.00  $646.95                           $806.55  
108,001 120,000 151 200 $375.00  $851.25                        $1,061.25  
108,001 120,000 201+ - $465.00  $1,055.55                        $1,315.95  
120,001 132,000 0 50 $135.00  $306.45                           $382.05  
120,001 132,000 51 100 $255.00  $578.85                           $721.65  
120,001 132,000 101 150 $375.00  $851.25                        $1,061.25  
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Weight Range Mileage Range Permit Price Points 

Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum 
Current 
Permit 
Price 

127% Increase 
(Revenue 

Maximizing Price)  

183% Increase 
(Maximum Estimated Price 
Before Revenue Falls Below 

Current Levels) 
120,001 132,000 151 200 $495.00  $1,123.65                        $1,400.85  
120,001 132,000 201+ - $622.50  $1,413.08                        $1,761.68  
132,001 152,000 0 50 $180.00  $408.60                           $509.40  
132,001 152,000 51 100 $337.50  $766.13                           $955.13  
132,001 152,000 101 150 $502.50  $1,140.68                        $1,422.08  
132,001 152,000 151 200 $667.50  $1,515.23                        $1,889.03  
132,001 152,000 201+ - $832.50  $1,889.78                        $2,355.98  
152,001 172,000 0 50 $232.50  $527.78                           $657.98  
152,001 172,000 51 100 $442.50  $1,004.48                        $1,252.28  
152,001 172,000 101 150 $660.00  $1,498.20                        $1,867.80  
152,001 172,000 151 200 $887.50  $2,014.63                        $2,511.63  
152,001 172,000 201+ - $1,095.00  $2,485.65                        $3,098.85  
172,001 192,000 0 50 $285.00  $646.95                           $806.55  
172,001 192,000 51 100 $547.50  $1,242.83                        $1,549.43  
172,001 192,000 101 150 $817.50  $1,855.73                        $2,313.53  
172,001 192,000 151 200 $1,087.00  $2,467.49                       $3,076.21  
172,001 192,000 201+ - $1,357.50  $3,081.53                        $3,841.73  
192,001 212,000 0 50 $337.50  $766.13                           $955.13  
192,001 212,000 51 100 $652.50  $1,481.18                        $1,846.58  
192,001 212,000 101 150 $975.00  $2,213.25                        $2,759.25  
192,001 212,000 151 200 $1,297.50  $2,945.33                        $3,671.93  
192,001 212,000 201+ - $1,620.00  $3,677.40                       $4,584.60  
212,001 232,000 0 50 $390.00  $885.30                        $1,103.70  
212,001 232,000 51 100 $757.50  $1,719.53                        $2,143.73  
212,001 232,000 101 150 $1,132.50  $2,570.78                        $3,204.98  
212,001 232,000 151 200 $1,507.50  $3,422.03                        $4,266.23  
212,001 232,000 201+ - $1,875.00  $4,256.25                        $5,306.25  
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Weight Range Mileage Range Permit Price Points 

Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum 
Current 
Permit 
Price 

127% Increase 
(Revenue 

Maximizing Price)  

183% Increase 
(Maximum Estimated Price 
Before Revenue Falls Below 

Current Levels) 
232,001 254,000 0 50 $442.50  $1,004.48                        $1,252.28  
232,001 254,000 51 100 $862.50  $1,957.88                        $2,440.88  
232,001 254,000 101 150 $1,290.00  $2,928.30                        $3,650.70  
232,001 254,000 151 200 $1,717.50  $3,898.73                        $4,860.53  
232,001 254,000 201+ - $2,130.00  $4,835.10                        $6,027.90  

Source: Prepared by LLA staff using unaudited information from DOTD.   
 





 

J.1 

APPENDIX J: Estimated Price Differences between Louisiana Routes  
vs. Next Best Non-Louisiana Alternative Routes, By Interstate Corridor 

 

Percent Increase in 
Permit Fees 

Average Estimated Per Trip Price Difference for Overweight Trucks Between Louisiana Routes 
and Non-Louisiana Alternative Routes  

All Routes* I-10/12 I-59 I-20 I-49 I-55 
0% 

(Current Permit Fee) $772.33  $840.63  $333.39  $908.79  $503.58  $783.30  

25% $654.02  $724.40  $217.09  $815.09  $295.54  $667.18  
50% $535.67  $608.15  $100.84  $721.34  $87.41  $550.93  
75% $417.31  $491.90  ($15.41) $627.59  ($120.71) $434.68  

100% $298.96  $375.65  ($131.66) $533.84  ($328.84) $318.43  
125% $180.60  $259.40  ($247.91) $440.09  ($536.96) $202.18  
127% 

(Approximate Price at which 
Revenues for Overweight, 

Single-Trip Through Traffic 
are Maximized) 

$171.13  $250.10  ($257.21) $432.59  ($553.61) $192.88  

150% $62.25  $143.15  ($364.16) $346.34  ($745.09) $85.93  

175% ($56.11) $26.90  ($480.41) $252.59  ($953.21) ($30.32) 
183% 

(Approximate Price at Which 
Revenues for Overweight, 

Single-Trip Through Traffic 
Begin to Fall Below Current 

Levels) 

($94.93) ($11.23) ($518.54) $221.84  ($1,021.48) ($68.45) 

200% ($174.46) ($89.35) ($596.66) $158.84  ($1,161.34) ($146.57) 
225% ($292.81) ($205.60) ($712.91) $65.09  ($1,369.46) ($262.82) 
250% ($411.17) ($321.85) ($829.16) ($28.66) ($1,577.59) ($379.07) 
275% ($529.52) ($438.10) ($945.41) ($122.41) ($1,785.71) ($495.32) 
300% ($647.88) ($554.35) ($1,061.66) ($216.16) ($1,993.84) ($611.57) 
325% ($766.23) ($670.60) ($1,177.91) ($309.91) ($2,201.96) ($727.82) 
350% ($884.59) ($786.85) ($1,294.16) ($403.66) ($2,410.09) ($844.07) 
375% ($1,002.94) ($903.10) ($1,410.41) ($497.41) ($2,618.21) ($960.32) 
400% ($1,121.29) ($1,019.35) ($1,526.66) ($591.16) ($2,826.34) ($1,076.57) 
425% ($1,239.65) ($1,135.60) ($1,642.91) ($684.91) ($3,034.46) ($1,192.82) 

*These columns represent the weighted average difference in costs between Louisiana routes and non-Louisiana alternative routes.  
For the numbers in green, this means that Louisiana remains cheaper, on average, than the alternative routes even when fees are 
increased. See Appendix B for a more detailed methodology.   
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from DOTD, BTS FAF, AAA, and Google maps. 
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