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The Honorable John A. Alario, Jr., 
  President of the Senate 
The Honorable Taylor F. Barras 
  Speaker of the House of Representatives 
 
Dear Senator Alario and Representative Barras: 
 

This report provides the results of our performance audit of the Louisiana Workforce 
Commission (LWC) and its processes to detect and prevent worker misclassification. Worker 
misclassification occurs when an employer improperly classifies a worker as an independent 
contractor instead of an employee.  

 
Improperly classifying workers can result in nonpayment of state and federal 

unemployment taxes, income taxes, and payroll taxes; loss of worker protections under 
occupational health and safety laws; less access to workers’ compensation insurance coverage; 
and unfair competitive advantages for companies. 

 
The cost to the state can be significant. For example, from calendar years 2014 through 

2018, LWC conducted 3,042 audits that identified employers that misclassified workers and 
failed to pay the state nearly $3 million in unemployment taxes. Based on the wages associated 
with these unpaid unemployment taxes, we estimated the state potentially did not receive 
approximately $9 million in state income taxes. In addition, because misclassified workers 
typically do not have workers’ compensation insurance, the state ultimately pays for their care if 
they are injured on the job. During fiscal year 2018, the Louisiana Department of Health’s 
(LDH) Medicaid program paid more than $1 billion for uncompensated care, which includes care 
for misclassified workers injured on the job. 
 

Our audit of LWC found that while the agency has met federal criteria requiring it to 
audit 1 percent of employers and 1 percent of total employee wages each year, it could improve 
the way in which it selects employers to review by determining which audits identified the 
highest number of misclassified workers and focusing on industries with the highest risk of 
worker misclassification. 

 
LWC also could strengthen its audit selection process by using data from other state 

agencies to compare to its quarterly wage information from employers. For instance, we 
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analyzed contractor payroll and time sheet data from LDH and the Department of Transportation 
and Development and identified 383 employers that did not report wages to LWC for as many as 
22,850 workers, meaning those employees may have been misclassified.  

 
In addition, Louisiana is the only state that requires warning letters to be sent to 

employers the first time they are found to have misclassified workers. As a result, LWC must 
spend time conducting follow-up audits in order to impose applicable penalties. Other states 
impose penalties for first-time offenses. Louisiana’s penalties also are lower than other states, 
and LWC does not assess penalties on employers that are noncompliant with audits. 

 
We found as well that Louisiana law does not hold contractors liable for the 

misclassification of workers hired by labor brokers. That means contractors have no 
responsibility to ensure these workers are properly classified, increases the risk of worker 
misclassification, and makes it more difficult for LWC to deter the practice. 

 
This report contains our findings, conclusions, and recommendations. Appendix A 

contains LWC’s response to this report. I hope this report will benefit you in your legislative 
decision-making process. 

 
We would like to express our appreciation to the management and staff of LWC for their 

assistance during this audit. 
 
Respectfully submitted, 
 
 
 
Daryl G. Purpera, CPA, CFE 
Legislative Auditor 
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Worker misclassification involves 
the misclassification of employees as 
independent contractors by employers 

in order to gain a competitive 
advantage through reduced labor costs.  

 

Introduction 
 

We evaluated whether the Louisiana Workforce 
Commission (LWC) has developed effective processes to 
detect and prevent worker misclassification.  Worker 
misclassification occurs when an employer improperly 
classifies a worker as an independent contractor instead of 
an employee.  Improperly classifying workers can result in 
the following: 

 
 Nonpayment of state and federal unemployment taxes, income taxes, and payroll 

taxes that employers are required to withhold or pay for employees but not for 
independent contractors;   

 Workers losing the protection of occupational health and safety laws, such as the 
Fair Labor Standards Act, that apply to employees but not independent 
contractors; 

 Reduced access to workers’ compensation insurance coverage for workplace 
injuries that employers are required to provide for employees but not independent 
contractors; and  

 Companies that classify their workers correctly are at a competitive disadvantage 
because of substantially higher labor costs resulting from paying all required taxes 
and providing workers’ compensation coverage.   

Louisiana law1 establishes a three-pronged test for assessing whether services performed 
by an individual are considered to be employment.  Services must be regarded as employment 
unless it can be shown that: 

 
(1) Such individual has been and will continue to be free from any control or 

direction over the performance of such services both under his contract and in 
fact;  

                                                 
1 R.S. 23:1472(E) 
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(2) Such service is either outside the usual course of the business for which such 
service is performed, or that such service is performed outside of all the places of 
business of the enterprise for which such service is performed; and 

(3) Such individual is customarily engaged in an independently established trade, 
occupation, profession, or business. 

Worker misclassification is a longstanding problem affecting numerous industries 
nationwide.  A United States Department of Labor (USDOL) study completed in 2000 found that 
10% to 30% of audited employers misclassified their workers.  Industries typically cited as being 
at high risk of worker misclassification include construction, transportation, and home health 
care.  Worker misclassification also results in a significant loss of tax revenue.  For example, in 
2013, the United States Treasury Department estimated that preventing worker misclassification 
would generate $8.32 billion in federal revenue over 10 years.  

 
Federal law2 requires states to meet certain performance criteria specified in USDOL’s 

Effective Audit Measures3 in the administration of its unemployment insurance tax programs.  
These performance criteria include the requirement to audit at least 1% of all employers4 and 
record the number of misclassified workers identified each year as part of these audits.  In 
addition, Louisiana law5 allows LWC to impose penalties for worker misclassification. Since 
LWC is mandated to perform audits by USDOL that seek, in part, to identify misclassified 
workers and since it has sole authority to impose penalties for worker misclassification, LWC is 
the primary entity responsible for detecting worker misclassification in Louisiana. LWC’s 
activities to prevent and detect misclassification include the following:    

 
 Audits – LWC conducts audits to assess whether employers are in compliance with the 

state’s unemployment insurance tax laws.  Although the focus of the audits is 
compliance, auditors also investigate possible worker misclassification since it impacts 
the amount of unemployment tax that employers owe.  The audits are performed by LWC 
unemployment insurance tax agents who perform on-site visits, conduct interviews of 
employer management and workers, and review employer records.     

 Penalties – LWC imposes fines and interest on employers for non-payment of 
unemployment insurance taxes.  In 2012, Louisiana passed additional legislation that 
fined employers for each instance of worker misclassification in addition to fines and 
interest owed for non-payment of unemployment insurance.   

 Education/Outreach Efforts – LWC employs two staff who are responsible for 
educating employers in the state on their obligations to pay unemployment tax for all 
employees.  LWC accomplishes this through in-person presentations to various employer 
groups and has placed an increased emphasis on worker misclassification in these 
presentations in recent years.  

                                                 
2 42 U.S. Code §503; 20 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R) §602.11 
3 USDOL Unemployment Insurance Program Letter No. 03-11  
4 Employers that are required by USDOL to pay unemployment tax contributions on behalf of employees. 
5 R.S. 23:1711(G)  
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Exhibit 1 
Misclassified Workers Identified through LWC Audits  

Compared to Number of LWC Tax Agents 
Calendar Years 2013 through 2018 

LWC collaborates with several state and federal agencies to combat worker 
misclassification in Louisiana through sharing of audit results, fraud tips, and referrals, including 
the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) and USDOL.  This cooperation was formalized 
through the creation of the GAME ON (Government Against Misclassified Employees 
Operational Network) Task Force6 in 2017.    

 
According to USDOL data, Louisiana ranked second nationally in the number of 

misclassified workers identified per field audit (average of 8.9 workers) and ninth nationally in 
total misclassified workers identified during field audits (45,853) completed during calendar 
years 2014 through 2018.7  During calendar years 2014 through 2018, LWC conducted 3,042 
audits that identified employers that misclassified workers and failed to pay the state $2,959,865 
in unemployment taxes.  Based on the wages associated with these unpaid unemployment taxes, 
we estimated that the state potentially did not receive approximately $8,948,4978 in state income 
taxes.  In addition, because misclassified workers typically do not have workers’ compensation 
insurance, the state ultimately pays for the care of these injured workers.  During fiscal year 
2018, the Louisiana Department of Health’s (LDH) Medicaid program paid more than $1 billion 
for uncompensated care, which includes care for misclassified workers injured on the job.9  

 
Although Louisiana has been one of the higher performing states in identifying 

misclassified workers, the number of misclassified workers identified by LWC audits has 
declined significantly since 2015 because of staff turnover, as shown in Exhibit 1.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

                                                 
6 The task force includes LWC’s Office of Unemployment Insurance Administration, LWC’s Office of Workers’ 
Compensation Administration, LDR, and USDOL’s Wage and Hour Division.   
7 The study included 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia. 
8 According to R.S. 47:32(A), state income tax rates are 2% for annual income under $12,500, 4% for income over 
$12,500, and 6% for income over $50,000. We applied a 2% income tax rate to the total unreported wages identified 
in LWC audits to obtain a conservative estimate of potential state income taxes that may not have been paid.   
9 Louisiana Medicaid Program, Bureau of Health Services Financing, Year End Financial Report for State Fiscal 
Year 2017/2018. 
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The objective of this performance audit was to: 
 

Evaluate LWC’s processes to detect and prevent worker misclassification by 
employers. 

 
The issues we identified are summarized on the next page and discussed in further detail 

throughout the remainder of the report.  Appendix A contains LWC’s response to this report, and 
Appendix B details our scope and methodology.  Appendix C contains information on other 
states’ penalties for misclassified workers and related legal citations. 
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Objective: To evaluate LWC’s processes to detect and prevent 
worker misclassification by employers. 

 
While LWC’s audit performance during calendar years 2014 through 2018 ranked high 

nationally, we identified some areas where it can improve its detection and prevention of 
misclassified workers.  Specifically, we identified the following issues: 

 
 Since calendar year 2012, LWC has met federal audit criteria that require it 

to audit 1% of employers and 1% of total employee wages each year.  
However, LWC could strengthen how it selects employers to audit by 
determining which audits identified the highest number of misclassified 
workers.  This analysis would enable LWC to focus its audit efforts on industries 
with the highest risk of worker misclassification.  For example, we found that 
audits initiated based on tips and referrals, as well as audits of construction 
companies, generated the highest number of misclassified workers.  

 LWC could further strengthen its audit selection process by using data from 
other state agencies to compare to its quarterly wage data from employers.  
For example, we analyzed LDH’s and the Department of Transportation and 
Development’s (DOTD) contractor payroll and time sheet data and identified 383 
employers that did not report employee wages to LWC for as many as 22,850 
workers as required by law, thus potentially misclassifying workers. 

 LWC’s enforcement process is not effective at deterring employers from 
misclassifying their workers. Louisiana is the only state that mandates LWC 
to send warning letters to employers that misclassify workers on their first 
offense as opposed to assessing penalties. This requires LWC to use its 
limited resources to conduct follow-up audits in order to impose applicable 
penalties.  If LWC could impose penalties for first-time offenses, we estimated it 
could have assessed approximately $3.3 million in penalties for the 13,106 
misclassified workers it identified during calendar years 2016 to 2018.    

 Louisiana law does not impose liability on contractors for misclassification of 
workers hired by labor brokers.  As a result, contractors have no responsibility 
to ensure that workers provided by labor brokers are properly classified, which 
increases the risk of worker misclassification and makes it more difficult for LWC 
to deter worker misclassification. 

These issues are discussed in more detail throughout the remainder of the report, along 
with recommendations to strengthen LWC’s processes to detect and prevent worker 
misclassification. 
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Since calendar year 2012, LWC met federal audit criteria 
that require it to audit 1% percent of employers and 1% of 
total employee wages each year.  However, LWC could 
strengthen how it selects employers to audit by determining 
which audits identified the highest number of misclassified 
workers.  This analysis would enable LWC to focus its audit 
efforts on industries with the highest risk of worker 
misclassification.  For example, we found that audits 
initiated based on tips and referrals, as well as audits of 
construction companies, generated the highest number of 
misclassified workers.     
 

USDOL’s Effective Audit Measures is a performance monitoring system that requires 
state unemployment insurance field audits to meet certain requirements.  These requirements 
include conducting audits that cover 1% of employers and 1% of total employee wages each 
year.  Since calendar year 2012, LWC has consistently met these federal audit measures.  Within 
USDOL’s requirements, LWC has flexibility in selecting the employers it audits; however, 
LWC’s audit selection process is informal and lacks a documented methodology.  According to 
LWC, it selects audits primarily through an analysis of wage data reported by employers10 and 
income data for independent contractors reported on federal 1099 forms.11  This analysis seeks to 
identify unusual patterns in the data that suggest worker misclassification, such as independent 
contractors whose income does not fluctuate from year to year.  LWC also relies on other 
sources for its audits such as fraud tips, referrals from state and federal agencies, and blocked 
unemployment insurance claims.12  
 

Analyzing past audit performance based on the sources LWC used to select each 
audit could help LWC focus on the sources that identified the most misclassified workers.  
To meet USDOL’s mandate that states audit at least 1% of eligible employers annually, LWC 
audits approximately 1,000 employers each year.  LWC tracks these audit assignments using 
Excel spreadsheets that document the employer, selection source used, audit initiation and 
completion dates, and any auditor comments.  LWC then reports audit performance data to 
USDOL that includes the number of misclassified workers and amount of unpaid unemployment 
insurance tax identified by each audit.  However, LWC does not systematically analyze the 
information it tracks to determine which audit selection sources are the most effective in 
identifying misclassified workers.   

 

                                                 
10 LWC uses field audit query software to search wage data reported by employers. The software can also search 
wage data by industry code. According to LWC, its wage data may not be 100% complete as not all employers 
report all required wages.   
11 Form 1099 is used to report income to the Internal Revenue Service for independent contractors.   
12 Blocked claims refer to unemployment insurance claims made by an employee who is blocked from receiving 
unemployment benefits because the employer failed to report wages and pay unemployment insurance taxes for the 
employee. 
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We analyzed LWC’s audit performance data to determine the number of misclassified 
workers identified by each audit selection source.  Exhibit 2 shows the results of our analysis for 
audits completed during calendar years 2016 through 2018, ranked in order of audit results.   

 

Exhibit 2 
LWC Audits and Results by Selection Source 

Calendar Years 2016 through 2018 

Audit Selection Source 

Number of 
Completed 

Audits

Percent 
of Total 
Audits 

Number of 
Misclassified 

Workers Identified 

Misclassified 
Workers 

Identified Per 
Audit

Fraud Tips/Agency Referrals 66 2.3% 2,346 35.6 
Follow-up Audits 10 0.4 127 12.7 
Independent Contractor Form 1099s 1,561 54.0 8,081 5.2 
Employer Reported Wage Data  1,214 42.0 1,306 1.1 
Blocked Claims 0 0 0 0 
Unknown* 38 1.3 502 13.2 
     Total 2,889 100.0% 12,362 4.3 
*No selection source documented by LWC.  
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using unaudited data from LWC and USDOL. 

 

As shown in Exhibit 2, audits based on fraud tips and agency referrals are LWC’s most 
effective selection source, having found an average of 35.6 misclassified workers per audit 
despite this source accounting for only 2.3% of all audits.13  The success of these audits 
highlights the importance of this selection source and the need for LWC to continue to prioritize 
audits based on tips and referrals.  Follow-up audits, LWC’s next most effective selection source, 
refer to audits of employers previously found to have misclassified workers.  These audits found 
an average of 12.7 misclassified workers per audit, yet this source only accounted for 0.4% of all 
audits.  By contrast, audits selected through an analysis of employer reported wage data, which 
accounted for 42.0% of all audits, found an average of only one misclassified worker per audit.  
According to LWC management, audits selected using wage data are based less on worker 
misclassification risk than on the need to meet federal mandates on the number of employers 
audited.   

 

Using industry classification data could help LWC target audits on industries with 
the highest risk of worker misclassification.  USDOL’s Employment Security Manual 
encourages states to maintain audit selection criteria that include type of industry.14  
Additionally, best practices for state unemployment insurance audits15 recommend selecting a 
significant percentage of employers to audit based on North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS)16 codes that identify employers with the highest probability for noncompliance 
with state unemployment insurance program requirements.  While LWC’s wage database 
contains employers’ NAICS codes, it does not use these codes to analyze past audit performance 
                                                 
13 According to LWC, it conducts a preliminary review of all tips/referrals and audits those that it deems have a high 
probability of worker misclassification. 
14 USDOL Employment Security Manual, Appendix E, Field Audits, Section 3679 R-1/99  
15 USDOL Office of Inspector General Final Report, Adopting Best Practices Can Improve Identification of 
Noncompliant Employers for State UI Field Audits, March 1999, page 2.   
16 NAICS is a widely-used standard that allows for comparability of businesses among North American countries by 
assigning standard numeric codes to different industries. 
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data to determine worker misclassification risk in different industries.  As a result, LWC is not 
able to focus its audits on industries where it has historically found the highest number of 
misclassified workers.    
  

We analyzed LWC’s audit performance data by NAICS code for the 2,948 audits 
completed during calendar years 2016 through 2018 and found that these audits corresponded 
with NAICS codes for 20 industries.  Exhibit 3 shows the number of audits that LWC conducted 
according to the industry code and the results of those audits during calendar years 2016 through 
2018, ranked in order of audit results.  

 
Exhibit 3 

LWC Audits and Results by Industry 
Calendar Years 2016 through 2018

NAICS 
Code Industry 

Number of 
Completed 

Audits 

Percentage 
Completed 

Audits 

Number of 
Misclassified 

Workers 
Identified 

Misclassified 
Workers 

Identified Per 
Audit 

23 Construction 453 15.4% 5,493 12.1 
71 Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation 35 1.2% 403 11.5 

21 
Mining, Quarrying, and Oil and Gas 
Extraction 26 0.9% 275 10.6 

56 
Administrative and Support and Waste 
Management and Remediation Services 207 7.1% 1,945 9.4 

61 Education Services 22 0.7% 128 5.8 
51 Information 18 0.6% 99 5.5 
11 Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting 29 1.0% 145 5.0 
81 Other Services 268 9.1% 1012 3.8 
72 Accommodation and Food Services 137 4.7% 500 3.6 

48-49 Transportation and Warehousing 53 1.8% 191 3.6 
53 Real Estate, Rental and Leasing 99 3.4% 350 3.5 
55 Management of Companies and Enterprises 12 0.4% 29 2.4 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 339 11.6% 679 2.0 

44-45 Retail Trade 425 14.5% 841 2.0 
31-33 Manufacturing 198 6.7% 305 1.5 

42 Wholesale Trade 228 7.8% 310 1.4 

54 
Professional, Scientific, and Technical 
Services 235 8.0% 279 1.2 

52 Finance and Insurance 134 4.6% 81 0.6 
22 Utilities 11 0.4% 3 0.3 
92 Public Administration 5 0.2% 0 0.0 
  Unknown 14 0.5% 38 2.7 
      Total 2,948 100.0% 13,106 4.4 

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data from LWC and NAICS. 
 

As shown in Exhibit 3, since LWC identified a significantly higher number of 
misclassified workers in audits of certain industry sectors, it should focus its future audit efforts 
accordingly. For example, audits in the construction sector identified an average of more than 12 
misclassified workers per audit, while audits in the finance/insurance sector identified an average 
of less than one misclassified worker per audit.  Additionally, 425 audits were performed in the 
retail trade sector during this period, even though audits in this sector only identified an average 
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of two misclassified workers. If LWC were to use NAICS codes to analyze its audit results, it 
could focus future audits on industries shown to have a higher risk of misclassified workers.  

 
Recommendation 1:  LWC should require staff to track the number of misclassified 
workers identified during each audit by the audit selection source and the employer’s 
NAICS code, and use this data as part of its audit selection process. 
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that its current automated audit selection tools already allow for choosing 
audits using NAICS codes as a determining factor. However, it is critical for LWC’s 
unemployment insurance tax audit program to pass the national “Effective Audit 
Measure” each year as prescribed by the USDOL. See Appendix A for LWC’s full 
response. 
 
 

LWC could further strengthen its audit selection process by 
using data from other state agencies to compare to its 
quarterly wage data from employers.  For example, we 
analyzed LDH and DOTD contractor payroll and time sheet 
data and identified 383 employers that did not report 
employee wages to LWC for as many as 22,850 workers as 
required by law, thus potentially misclassifying workers.   
 

Employers in Louisiana are required by law to report wage data quarterly to LWC for all 
employees.17  Failure to report employee wages is a possible indicator of worker 
misclassification because employers misclassify workers as independent contractors in an effort 
to avoid paying mandated unemployment insurance tax and other taxes for employees.  
Therefore, audits of employers that did not report wage data to LWC may identify more 
instances of worker misclassification and unpaid unemployment insurance tax.  LWC could use 
data maintained by other state agencies to match against this wage data to identify employers 
that fail to report wages for employees as required by state law.  For example, LWC could obtain 
data from DOTD and LDH since these agencies contract with construction and home healthcare 
companies, industries cited by a USDOL-contracted study as being at high risk of worker 
misclassification.18  
 

LWC could use certified payroll data from DOTD to identify potential instances of 
worker misclassification.  DOTD contracts with companies that work on road projects in the 
state that are financed with federal funds and are, therefore, subject to the Davis-Bacon Act.19  
The Davis-Bacon Act requires that contractors and subcontractors working on federally funded 
or assisted contracts in excess of $2,000 must maintain payroll records for all covered workers, 

                                                 
17 R.S. 23:1531(A) requires quarterly wage reporting to LWC, and LWC policy requires the wage data to include 
employee name, Social Security number (SSN), and wages paid. 
18 Independent Contractors: Prevalence and Implications for Unemployment Insurance Programs, February 2000 
by Planmatics, Inc. for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, p.41- 44 
19 29 C.F.R. §5.5 
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report these records to the contracting agency weekly, and certify the accuracy of these records.20  
Construction workers typically work under the supervision of a contractor or subcontractor and 
should normally be classified as employees; however, they are frequently misclassified as 
independent contractors.  In January 2017, DOTD began collecting certified time sheets from 
contractors subject to the Davis-Bacon Act in an electronic format that includes worker name, 
hourly wage rate, gross pay, and deductions.21   

 
We obtained certified payroll records from DOTD for calendar year 2017 and found that 

DOTD contracted with 45 employers that paid a total of 1,623 workers. We compared this data 
to LWC’s wage data to identify workers that were not reported to LWC and potentially 
misclassified, as shown in Exhibit 4.22 

 
Exhibit 4 

Analysis of DOTD Certified Payroll Data 
Calendar Year 2017

  
Number of 

Contractors 

Number 
of Total 
Workers 

Number of 
Workers Not 
Reported to 

LWC 

Percent of Total 
Workers not 
Reported to 

LWC 
Contractors that Reported All Workers to LWC  27 814 0 

 Contractors that Failed to Report Any Workers to LWC  7 321 321 
Contractors that Failed to Report Some but Not All 
Workers to LWC* 11 488 237  
     Total 45 1623 558 34.4% 
*Contractors classified as not having reported wages to LWC include contractors that failed to report wages for one or 
more employees in at least one quarter during calendar year 2017. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using DOTD’s certified payroll data and LWC’s quarterly labor data.

 
According to our analysis, 18 DOTD contractors potentially failed to report wages for 

one or more of their workers in calendar year 2017.  According to DOTD’s certified payroll 
records, contractors withheld the mandated employee portion of FICA taxes23 from these 
paychecks, indicating an employer-employee relationship that requires wages to be reported to 
LWC. We estimated that the wages not reported to LWC for these workers resulted in the state 
not receiving approximately $14,09524 in unemployment insurance taxes and $72,216 in state 

                                                 
20 USDOL created an optional standard time sheet that contractors can use to report this data (Form WH 347). 
21 DOTD collected certified time sheets from contractors subject to the Davis-Bacon Act prior to January 2017; 
however, these time sheets were in paper format.  
22 The Davis-Bacon Act does not require contractors to submit full SSNs in their weekly transmittals; instead, it 
requires a unique identifying number for each employee.  The certified payroll maintained by DOTD uses the last 
four digits of the employee’s SSN as the identifying number.  We utilized both the employee’s last name and partial 
SSN to ensure that employees are not counted more than once.  However, we could not account for those records 
with incorrect or partial SSNs or misspelled last names that may exist in the data.  Therefore, records noted as not 
reported to LWC could be overstated due to data entry errors by the contractors.  
23 The Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), 26 U.S. Code §3101, mandates a payroll tax on the paychecks 
of employees, as well as contributions from employers, to fund the Social Security and Medicare programs. 
24 The Employment and Training Administration with the USDOL maintains comparative data on state 
unemployment insurance rates.  Based on this data, Louisiana had an average rate of 0.33% of total wages in 2017 
(the latest data for which data was available).  We applied this rate to the total wages not reported to LWC by these 
employers to estimate the amount of unpaid unemployment insurance taxes. See 
https://oui.doleta.gov/unemploy/avg_employ.asp.  
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income taxes in calendar year 2017.  In addition to this fiscal impact, employers typically fail to 
provide workers’ compensation coverage for employees that are misclassified as independent 
contractors. Without workers’ compensation coverage, the health and safety of employees is at 
risk and Louisiana’s insurance rates could be affected by the cost of medical care for uninsured 
worker injuries. 
 

LWC could also use time sheet data on Medicaid providers that contract with LDH 
to perform home and community based services.  LDH collects time sheet data from 
healthcare providers that employ direct service workers (DSWs) and are paid by Medicaid.  
DSWs are unlicensed workers that provide personal care, daily living, and other services to 
persons with disabilities or the elderly through direct contact with the person receiving services.  
DSWs typically work under the supervision of provider management and should normally be 
classified as employees; however, according to a USDOL-contracted study,25 they are frequently 
misclassified as independent contractors. 
 

We obtained LDH time sheet data from fiscal year 2017 and found that LDH contracted 
with 369 healthcare providers that paid a total of 54,663 DSWs.26 We compared this data to 
LWC’s wage data to identify workers that were not reported to LWC, indicating they may be 
misclassified, as shown in Exhibit 5.27  
 

Exhibit 5 
Analysis of LDH’s Contract Provider Time Sheet Data 

Fiscal Year 2017

 
Number of 
Providers 

Number 
of Total 
Workers 

Number of 
Workers 

Not 
Reported to 

LWC 

Percent of 
Workers Not 
Reported to 

LWC 
Providers that Reported All Employees to LWC  4 105 0 

 

Providers that Failed to Report Any Employees to 
LWC  64 7,988 7,988 
Providers that Reported Some but Not All 
Employees to LWC* 301 46,570 14,304 
     Total 369 54,663 22,292 40.8%

*Providers classified as not having reported wages to LWC include providers that failed to report wages for one or 
more employees in at least one quarter during fiscal year 2017. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using LDH’s DSW payroll data and LWC’s quarterly labor data. 

  

                                                 
25 Independent Contractors: Prevalence and Implications for Unemployment Insurance Programs, February 2000 
by Planmatics, Inc. for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, p.44-47 
26 The time sheet data did not include wages so we could not estimate the unemployment and income taxes that were 
not paid.  
27 Although both LWC’s quarterly wage data and LDH’s DSW payroll data contain full SSNs of workers, there may 
be incorrect SSNs in the data. Therefore, records noted as not reported to LWC may be overstated if the SSN is 
incorrect. 
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According to our analysis, 365 LDH-contracted healthcare providers failed to report 
wages to LWC for one or more DSWs in fiscal year 2017.  Because LDH regulations require its 
contracted Medicaid providers to supervise DSWs through in-person supervisory visits, annual 
performance evaluations, and the provision of formal training, for example, the DSWs should be 
considered employees instead of independent contractors.28  
 

Louisiana’s New Hires data could also help LWC identify employees whose wages 
have not been reported to LWC as required by law.  Employers in Louisiana are required to 
report information concerning their newly hired employees to the Louisiana Directory of New 
Hires maintained by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS).  DCFS 
then forwards this data to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Child 
Support Enforcement’s National Directory of New Hires, where it is used to assist states in 
locating noncustodial parents and enforcing child support orders. Federal policy allows other 
uses for the data including verifying program eligibility and preventing fraud.   
 

LWC entered into yearly agreements with the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Office of Child Support Enforcement starting in 2011 to utilize the New Hires data.  
Currently, LWC has limited its use of the New Hires data to ensuring that claimants are eligible 
for unemployment compensation.  However, LWC could also use this data to match against its 
quarterly wage data for these same employers to identify employees whose wages have not been 
reported to LWC as required by law.  These instances indicate a higher risk of misclassification 
and would allow LWC to better target its selection of audits. 

 
Recommendation 2:  LWC should identify and incorporate payroll and time sheet 
data from state agencies into its audit selection process so that this data may be matched 
against LWC’s quarterly wage data to identify employers that fail to report wages and 
thus may be misclassifying employees.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that it will endeavor to expand its scope of inclusive agencies and seek to 
establish similar data sharing agreements with LDH and DOTD, as well as utilize 
contractor payroll data in its audit selection process. See Appendix A for LWC’s full 
response. 
 
Recommendation 3:  LWC should incorporate New Hires data into its audit 
selection process so that it may be matched against LWC’s quarterly wage data to 
identify employers that fail to report new hires to LWC and thus may be misclassifying 
workers. 

 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that it will study the efficacy of using New Hire data as an audit selection tool.  
LWC recently polled 20 other states to determine if they were using this data in their tax 
audit selection process, and 18 of the 20 states responded that they do not use New Hire 
data in their audit selection process. See Appendix A for LWC’s full response. 

                                                 
28 Louisiana Administrative Code. Title 48, Part I, §5055 
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LWC’s enforcement process is not effective at deterring 
employers from misclassifying their workers. Louisiana is 
the only state that mandates LWC to send warning letters 
to employers that misclassify workers on their first offense 
as opposed to assessing penalties. This requires LWC to use 
its limited resources to conduct follow-up audits in order to 
impose applicable penalties.  If LWC could impose penalties 
for first-time offenses, we estimated it could have assessed 
approximately $3.3 million in penalties for the 13,106 
misclassified workers it identified during calendar years 
2016 to 2018.  
 

Prior to 2012, Louisiana law did not include specific penalties for worker 
misclassification; however, it allowed LWC to assess penalties and interest on employers that 
failed to pay unemployment insurance taxes.  During the 2012 Regular Session, the Louisiana 
Legislature established penalties for employers that misclassify workers.29 These penalties are 
outlined below. 

 
 First offense – Employer shall be issued a warning letter. 

 Second offense – Employer may be assessed a penalty of up to $250 per 
individual found to be misclassified.   

 Third and all subsequent offenses – Employer may be subject to a penalty up to 
$500 per individual found to be misclassified.   

 After third offense – Employer may be subject to additional fines of between 
$100 and $1,000, or imprisoned for 30-90 days, or both.  

 Employers determined to have willfully misclassified workers are prohibited from 
contracting, directly or indirectly, with any state agency or political subdivision of 
the state for a period of three years.   

In addition, Louisiana passed legislation during the 2014 Regular Legislative Session 
imposing a penalty of $5,000 on employers that refuse to allow an audit of their records or make 
the necessary records available for audit.30  However, we found that state law and LWC’s 
enforcement process are not effective at deterring businesses from misclassifying their 
employees, as discussed in the following sections.   
  

                                                 
29 R.S. 23:1711(G) 
30 R.S. 23:1660(C) 
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Louisiana is the only state that mandates warning letters as opposed to penalizing 
on the first offense of worker misclassification.31 As stated previously, state law does not 
allow LWC to impose penalties until it sends a warning letter to an employer for their first 
offense of worker misclassification.  Louisiana is the only state out of 24 states with statutory 
worker misclassification penalties that mandates warning letters to be sent on the first offense.  
The mandate of a warning letter means that LWC must conduct follow-up audits of the same 
employer before being able to impose penalties.   

 
LWC’s follow-up process starts with conducting a preliminary “desk audit” one year 

after the completion of the initial audit that identified worker misclassification.  If the desk audit 
determines that the employer has not yet reported wages to LWC for the misclassified workers 
identified in the initial audit, staff are required to conduct a more comprehensive follow-up audit 
of the employer.  Although LWC is authorized by law to penalize the employer up to $250 for 
each instance of worker misclassification identified in the follow-up audit, records indicate that 
as of January 2019 LWC has only conducted 10 follow-up audits that identified six employers 
that misclassified 127 workers, resulting in penalties totaling $21,250. 

 
Having to spend limited audit resources on multiple audits of the same employer is 

inefficient and reduces overall audit coverage, especially considering LWC has gone from 23 
auditors in 2015 to 17 in 2018, a decrease of 26%.  In addition, the requirement to send a 
warning letter weakens the deterrent effect of penalties for misclassifying workers.  If LWC was 
not required to send warning letters for a first offense, we calculated that it could have imposed 
penalties up to $250 for each of the 13,106 misclassified workers identified during calendar 
years 2016 through 2018, for a total of approximately $3,276,500.  During the 2016 Regular 
Legislative Session, LWC proposed legislation that would have amended state law to eliminate 
the warning letter requirement and increase initial worker misclassification penalties up to 
$5,000.32 However, this legislation failed to pass. 

 
When state law does allow Louisiana to impose penalties for worker 

misclassification, these penalties are significantly lower than 22 of the other 23 states.  
Texas is the only state with a lower maximum initial penalty than Louisiana; however, Texas is 
authorized to penalize employers on first offenses instead of sending a warning letter.  In 
addition, Louisiana has the lowest maximum penalty amount in the nation for subsequent worker 
misclassifications at $1,500 per individual; other states range between $1,500 and $50,000.  
Exhibit 6 shows the number of states categorized by maximum first offense penalty amount and 
maximum subsequent offense penalty, and Appendix C contains the specific states and related 
legal citations.  
  

                                                 
31 The original draft of Senate Bill 472 did not require LWC to send warning letters and imposed penalties up to 
$10,000 per misclassified worker and $25,000 per audit [Act 786 of the 2012 Legislative Session, R.S. 23:1711(G)]. 
32 House Bill 665 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session 
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Exhibit 6 
Maximum First Offense and Subsequent Penalties for Misclassified Workers  

Maximum First Offense 
Penalty 

Number of 
States 

Maximum Subsequent 
Offense Penalty 

Number of 
States 

$500 or Under* 4 $2,500 or Under 3 
$501 - $1,000 2 $2,501 - $5,000 4 
$1,001 - $2,500 2 $5,001 – $15,000 0 
$2,501 - $5,000 7 $15,001 - $20,000 2 
$5,001 - $10,000 2 $20,001 - $25,000 2 
Over $10,001 2 Over $25,001 1 
Variable** 5 Variable 2 

  N/A*** 10 
     Total 24  24 
*Louisiana’s penalties fall within this penalty range with a warning letter for first offense 
and a maximum of $1,500 for subsequent penalties (see green highlights). 
**Some states do not have set penalties but penalize worker misclassification through 
variable penalties, such as a multiple of the workers compensation insurance that should 
have been paid if the worker was properly classified. 
***Ten states do not specify additional penalties for subsequent offenses. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Westlaw. 

 
We found that LWC has also not assessed penalties on employers that did not 

comply with audit-related requirements and requests.  Louisiana law also allows LWC to 
impose a penalty of $5,000 on employers that do not allow an audit of their records or make 
necessary records available for audit.  According to LWC records, it has only imposed this 
penalty on one employer since the authority was granted in law in 2014.  Although LWC does 
not specifically track employers that fail to comply with audit requests, it tracks audit 
assignments, including the beginning and ending dates of audits.  According to this data, LWC 
selected 3,593 employers for audit between calendar years 2016 and 2018; however, 531 
(14.8%) of these 3,593 selected audits were not completed for various reasons including 
companies moving out of state or going out of business.  Based on information provided by 
LWC, we determined that 69 of these audits were not completed due to employers not 
cooperating with LWC.  Had LWC assessed the $5,000 penalty on these 69 employers, it could 
have potentially collected $345,000.  
 

Recommendation 4:  LWC should continue to work with the legislature to determine 
whether the mandatory warning letter for first offense worker misclassification is an 
effective deterrent to worker misclassification and whether it contributes to an inefficient 
audit process.    
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that it will continue to work with the legislature regarding consideration of 
more punitive measures to deter worker misclassification beyond a warning letter for first 
offense.  See Appendix A for LWC’s full response. 
 
Recommendation 5:  LWC should develop policies and procedures to ensure that it 
consistently conducts follow-up audits as needed and penalizes employers that are found 
to have misclassified workers on subsequent audits, as required by law.   
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Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that policies and procedures are already in place regarding follow-up audits 
and associated penalties. However, LWC agrees that improving consistency regarding 
follow-up audits and imposing employer penalties where warranted would improve its 
efficiencies. To this end, innovative processes have been developed within new LWC 
audit software. See Appendix A for LWC’s full response. 
 
Recommendation 6:  LWC should continue to work with the legislature to determine 
whether the penalties established in Louisiana law for worker misclassification should be 
strengthened. Stronger fines may increase the deterrent effect of the penalties. 
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that it will continue to work with the legislature to determine an appropriate 
degree in regard to penalties for worker misclassification violations. In addition, LWC’s 
Office of Unemployment Insurance Administration (OUIA) partners with LWC’s Office 
of Workers’ Compensation Administration (OWCA) as part of its GAME ON Initiative 
to discover and penalize worker misclassification violators. OWCA has statutory 
authority to impose both civil and criminal penalties for failure to properly classify 
workers. As a result of OUIA collaborating with OWCA through GAME ON audits, 
LWC has the potential to impose significant penalties against misclassification violators. 
See Appendix A for LWC’s full response. 
 
Recommendation 7:  LWC should develop policies and procedures to ensure that it 
consistently penalizes employers that do not comply with audit requests.   
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LWC agrees with this recommendation 
and stated that this issue has already been identified and is expected to be rectified 
through new LWC audit software. LWC will continue its efforts to ensure that all legal 
and statutory methods are utilized upon discovering employee misclassification. See 
Appendix A for LWC’s full response. 
 
Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The legislature may wish to consider 
amending R.S. 23:1711(G) to remove the mandate that LWC must send a warning letter 
to employers for first offense worker misclassifications, and instead allow LWC to 
impose penalties for first-time offenses.  
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Louisiana law does not impose liability on contractors for 
misclassification of workers hired by labor brokers. As a 
result, contractors have no responsibility to ensure that 
workers provided by labor brokers are properly classified, 
which increases the risk of worker misclassification and 
makes it more difficult for LWC to deter worker 
misclassification.  
 

Contractors in the construction industry often rely on “labor brokers” that hire workers 
and then subcontract or “assign” the workers to employers in construction and other sectors. 
Contractors typically exercise supervision over these workers.  According to the three-pronged 
test outlined earlier on pages 1-2 of this report, these workers should be classified as employees 
because they are subject to the control and direction of the contractor that employs them.  
However, they are often improperly classified as independent contractors. 
 

LWC audits contractors through interviews, examination of records, and site visits and 
determines whether workers were properly classified through the application of Louisiana’s 
three-pronged test for independent contractor status.  During the audit, if LWC determines that 
misclassified workers were hired through labor brokers, LWC must schedule a subsequent audit 
of the labor broker itself in order to send a warning letter or impose any penalties for 
misclassified workers provided to the contractor.  However, according to LWC, labor brokers 
often dissolve their companies and incorporate under new names after being audited to avoid 
being penalized by LWC for any subsequent worker misclassification offenses.  Because 
Louisiana law does not impose liability on the contractors that use labor brokers that misclassify 
workers, LWC is unable to hold anyone accountable for these instances of worker 
misclassification.   
 

If LWC had the legal authority to 
impose liability on contractors for their 
labor brokers that misclassify workers, it 
could better ensure accountability for 
worker misclassification, ensure the state 
receives all related unemployment and 
income tax payments, and ensure that 
workers’ compensation coverage is 
provided for all employees.  California, for 
example, adopted a law in January 2015 where 
employers that contract with labor brokers 
assume liability for payment of wages and the 
failure to obtain valid workers’ compensation 
coverage for workers hired by labor brokers.33 Since contractors that acquire workers from labor 
brokers benefit from reduced labor costs, it may be appropriate for those contractors to assume 
some of the liability when a determination has been made that these workers have been 

                                                 
33 Section 2810.3 of the California Labor Code 

Contractors that acquire workers from labor brokers 
that misclassify employees are able to significantly 
reduce their labor costs.  For example, a contractor 
that hires an employee at a wage of $20 per hour may 
incur a total payroll burden of over $25 per hour 
when including employment taxes and workers’ 
compensation insurance.  That same contractor 
would only pay the $20 per hour for a worker 
obtained from a labor broker that misclassifies the 
employee as an independent contractor.  
 
Source: Based on data from Informing the Debate, The Social and 
Economic Costs of Employee Misclassification in Michigan, The 
Institute for Public Policy and Social Research, Michigan State 
University, 2009. 
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misclassified by the labor broker and LWC is unable to locate the labor broker to remedy the 
misclassification.  Contractors that do not acquire workers through labor brokers that misclassify 
are at a disadvantage because they have to include labor costs when bidding on projects, and thus 
may not be as successful at winning bids.   
 
 Another option would be to extend LWC’s current penalty structure for employers 
that are found to have misclassified employees to contractors.  As previously mentioned on 
page 13 of this report, R.S. 23:1711(G) states that employers determined to have willfully 
misclassified workers are prohibited from contracting, directly or indirectly, with any state 
agency or political subdivision of the state for a period of three years.  If LWC were able to 
apply this same prohibition to contractors that use labor brokers that misclassify employees, 
contractors may have more incentive to ensure that labor brokers properly classify any 
employees that are supplied to the contractor. 
 
 According to the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC), the 
misclassification of workers is a problem at the federal and state level.  In 2018, after LSLBC 
met with LWC and the GAME ON Task Force, LSLBC posted a LWC press release regarding 
the efforts of the Task Force and the impact and penalties for worker misclassification on its 
website for approximately five months.  In addition, LSLBC emailed this press release to the 
approximately 24,000 licensed contractors in Louisiana, as well as to Associated Builders and 
Contractors, Associated General Contractors, and the Louisiana Home Builders Association 
encouraging them to forward the press release to all of their members. LSLBC stated that it 
would be willing to participate in a legislative study resolution and gather all key stakeholders to 
determine the most effective method for combatting the issue of worker misclassification. 

 
Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The legislature may wish to consider 
requesting a study be conducted to determine the most effective method for combatting 
the issue of worker misclassification.  
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June 13, 2019 

Mr. Daryl G. Purpera, CPA, CFE 
Louisiana Legislative Auditor 
1600 North Third Street 
Post Office Box 94397 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9397 
 
Dear Mr. Purpera: 
 
Thank you for conducting the Louisiana Legislative Auditor’s Performance Audit of Louisiana Workforce 
Commission’s (LWC) Detection and Prevention of Worker Misclassification processes.  The response 
from Louisiana Workforce Commission is attached.   
 
As indicated in the responses that follow, LWC is committed to the aggressive pursuit of worker 
misclassification.  Unfortunately, the Unemployment Insurance base grant that funds these operations 
has been reduced by over 10% over the last few years.  As a result, filling vacancies has become 
increasingly difficult due to constraints on the rate of pay we can offer for corresponding qualifications 
necessary for the position.  However, in spite of these and other challenges, the LWC UI Tax program 
has been very successful.    
 
As stated in your audit report, LWC is ranked #2 in the country for its audit program.  At times, we have 
been ranked #1 as well, and we are considered the go-to state for best practices in the UI tax audit 
program.   Through employer tax audits, we actively seek violators and impose penalties within the 
parameters permitted by law.  Additionally, we work with other LWC units, such as the Office of 
Workers’ Compensation, and partner with other state and federal agencies, such as the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue and the Internal Revenue Service, to aid in this mission. 
 
Again, we appreciate the efforts of you and your staff and the opportunity to submit LWC’s response.  
Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at your convenience. 
 
Best regards, 
 
 
Ava M. Dejoie 
Secretary 
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Recommendation 1: LWC should require staff to track the number of misclassified workers 
identified during each audit by the audit selection source and the employer’s NAICS code, and 
use this data as part of its audit selection process. 
 
We agree with this recommendation.  Our current automated audit selection tools already 
allow for choosing audits using NAICS codes as a determining factor.  However, we will 
continue to focus our attention on industries that potentially have the greatest number of 
misclassified workers.  In addition to this data, we utilize tips, the LWC fraud website, and 
the IRS 1099 extract in our audit selection process.  In reference to observations made in 
the Legislative Audit report, the LWC is aware that the construction industry (NAICS 
23xxxx) typically generates the highest number of misclassified worker discoveries.  This is 
consistent nationwide.  However, it is critical for the LWC UI tax audit program to pass the 
national “Effective Audit Measure” each year as prescribed by the United States 
Department of Labor (USDOL). 1    
   
 
Recommendation 2: LWC should identify and incorporate payroll and timesheet data from state 
agencies into its audit selection process so that it may be matched against LWC’s quarterly wage 
data to identify employers that fail to report wages and thus may be misclassifying employees. 
 
The LWC will endeavor to expand our scope of inclusive agencies and seek to establish 
similar data sharing agreements with LDH and DOTD, as well as utilize contractor payroll 
data in its audit selection process. 
 
 
Recommendation 3: LWC should incorporate New Hire data into its audit selection process so 
that it may be matched against LWC’s quarterly wage data to identify employers that fail to 
report new hires to LWC and thus may be misclassifying workers. 
 
The LWC will study the efficacy of using NDNH data as an audit selection tool. The LWC 
recently polled 20 other states to determine if they were using this data in their tax audit 
selection process.2  18 of the 20 states responded that they do not use NDNH data in their 
audit selection process.   
 

                                                           
1 2019 Effective Audit Measure Factors: 
     1. Audit 1% of all contributory employers 
     2. Change 2% of total wages audited (rolling amount) 
     3. Audit 1% of total wages reported 
     4. Detect average of 1 misclassified worker per audit 
2 Questions asked in the poll were: 

1. Does your state utilize New Hire data in your UI tax audit selection process?   
2. If so, what level of efficacy has your state experienced in choosing audits leading to misclassified worker 

discoveries?  We would appreciate any details on this efficacy including data and/or anecdotal 
information. 

3. If your state uses this process and has found it to be effective, we would be interested in your processes if 
you would be willing to share them. 
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Recommendation 4: LWC should continue to work with the legislature to determine whether the 
mandatory warning letter for first offense worker misclassifications is an effective deterrent to 
worker misclassification and whether it contributes to an inefficient audit process.  
 
The LWC will continue to work with the legislature regarding consideration of more 
punitive measures to deter worker misclassification beyond a warning letter for first 
offense.  As recently as in the 2016 legislative session, the LWC monitored a bill to remove 
the letter of warning and increase the punitive penalties for subsequent offenses.3  The bill 
made it out of committee, however, it did not survive the House floor.4   
 
Recommendation 5: LWC should develop policies and procedures to ensure that it consistently 
conducts follow-up audits as needed and penalizes employers that are found to have 
misclassified workers on subsequent audits, as required by law. 
 
We agree with this recommendation.  Policies and procedures are already in place 
regarding follow-up audits and associated penalties; however, we agree that improving 
consistency regarding follow-up audits and imposing employer penalties where warranted 
would improve our efficiencies.   To this end, innovative processes have been developed 
within new LWC audit software.  
 
Recommendation 6: LWC should continue to work with the legislature to determine whether the 
penalties established in Louisiana law for worker misclassification should be strengthened. 
Stronger fines may increase the deterrent effect of the penalties. 
 
As stated in our response to Recommendation 4, the LWC will continue to work with the 
legislature to determine an appropriate degree of in regard to penalties for worker 
misclassification violations.  As recently as in the 2016 legislative session, the LWC 
monitored a bill to remove the letter of warning and increase the punitive penalties for 
subsequent offenses.3  The bill made it out of committee, however, it did not survive the 
House floor.4   
 
It bears noting that LWC’s Office of Unemployment Insurance partners with the LWC’S 
Office of Workers’ Compensation Administration (OWCA) as part of its GAME ON 
Initiative to discover and penalize worker misclassification violators (see Response to 
Recommendation 2).  LWC’s OWCA has statutory authority under La. R.S. 23:1169-1172 
to impose both civil and criminal penalties for failure to properly classify workers.  Civil 
penalties consist of $250 per employee for first offense (up to $10,000), and $500 per 
employee for subsequent offenses, and may include injunctive action to cease business 
operations.  Criminal penalties include a fine of $250 per day for willful employer 
misconduct in not providing security, or up to 10 years imprisonment, or both.  In May 
2019, OWCA secured an agreement with the East Baton Rouge Parish District Attorney’s 
Office to criminally prosecute those individuals and companies that commit Worker 
Compensation Fraud. Companies that perpetrate Worker’s Compensation Fraud may also 

                                                           
3 House Bill No. 665, Representative Smith, HLS 16RS-1180 
4 failed House final passage with vote of 33 yeas and 59 nays 
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commit Worker Misclassification and such companies will be prosecuted criminally. As a 
result of OUIA collaborating with OWCA through GAME ON audits, the LWC has the 
potential to impose significant penalties against misclassification violators.   
 
 
Recommendation 7: LWC should develop policies and procedures to ensure that it consistently 
penalizes employers that do not comply with audit requests.  
 
This issue has already been identified and is expected to be rectified through new LWC 
audit software.  The LWC will continue its efforts to ensure that all legal and statutory 
methods are utilized upon discovering employee misclassification. 
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APPENDIX B:  SCOPE AND METHODOLOGY 
 

 
This report provides the results of our performance audit on the Louisiana Workforce 

Commission (LWC).  We conducted this performance audit under the provisions of Title 24 of 
the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended.  The audit generally covered the period of 
January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2018.  Our audit objective was to: 
 

Evaluate LWC’s processes to detect and prevent worker misclassification. 
  

We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally-accepted Government 
Auditing Standards issued by the Comptroller General of the United States.  Those standards 
require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide 
reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objective.  We believe the 
evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our 
audit objective.  To answer our objective, we reviewed internal controls relevant to the audit 
objective and performed the following audit steps: 
 

 Researched and reviewed relevant Louisiana statutes and regulations relating to 
LWC’s authority to audit employers and assess penalties for worker 
misclassification. 

 Researched and reviewed federal law and United States Department of Labor 
(USDOL) regulations to identify relevant laws and policies governing how states 
manage their audit process and audit data they are required to compile and report. 

 Assessed the strength of Louisiana’s worker misclassification penalties by 
comparing them to worker misclassification penalties established by other states. 

 Obtained audit outcome data reported to the USDOL’s Wage and Labor Division 
by all states for calendar years 2014 through 2018.  This data is generated from 
the effective audit measures and states are required to report this data yearly.  We 
analyzed this data to determine how effective LWC’s audits were at identifying 
misclassified workers compared to audits by other states.     

 Obtained LWC data used to track audit outcomes and audit selection sources.  We 
used this data to assess LWC’s audit performance by audit selection source and 
by the employer industry. 

 We compared LWC’s audit selection source data to audit outcome data 
generated by the Louisiana Office of Technological Services for calendar 
years 2016 through 2018.  Using ACL software, we joined the data 
through the Employer ID data field common to both data sets.  Since the 
outcome data includes misclassified workers identified in each audit, the 
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join enabled us to determine the average number of misclassified workers 
per audit completed.  

 We compared the audit outcome data to North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) industry codes for the calendar years 2016 
through 2018.  The employer NAICS code is not included in LWC’s 
outcome data but is included in LWC’s employer reported wages.  Using 
ACL software, we joined the audit outcome data to the employer reported 
wages through the Employer ID data field common to both data sets. 
Since the outcome data includes misclassified workers identified in each 
audit, the join enabled us to determine the average number of misclassified 
workers per audit completed in each of the different NAICS codes.  

 Researched data sources that LWC could potentially use to improve its audit 
selection process, including Department of Transportation and Development’s 
(DOTD) certified payroll data, Louisiana Department of Health’s (LDH) time 
sheet data, and federal “New Hire” data.  We analyzed LDH time sheet data and 
DOTD contractor payroll data to assess their utility in assisting LWC to better 
select its audits.  (The federal New Hire data is governed by the terms of a data 
sharing agreement with the state and was not readily available for our analysis.) 

 Compared DOTD certified payroll data to LWC’s employer reported wage 
data for the calendar year 2017.  The payroll data provided the employer 
name, worker name, and worker Social Security number (last four digits) 
for each pay period.  Using ACL software, we matched these data fields to 
the corresponding data fields in LWC’s employer reported wage data.  
This match enabled us to identify workers recorded in the payroll data that 
were not reported to LWC.   

 Compared LDH time sheet data for direct service workers of LDH 
contract providers to LWC’s employer reported wage data for fiscal year 
2017.  The time sheets provided the employer name, worker name, and 
full worker Social Security number for each pay period.  Using ACL 
software, we matched these data fields to the corresponding data fields in 
LWC’s employer reported wage data.  This match enabled us to identify 
workers recorded on the time sheets that were not reported to LWC. 

 Reviewed audit penalty data to determine how many administrative and 
noncompliance penalties LWC imposed since these penalties were established in 
Louisiana law in 2012 and 2014 respectively.  Estimated the amount of 
administrative and noncompliance penalties not imposed on employers that were 
potentially subject to these penalties. 
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 Interviewed LWC staff and other stakeholders about possible measures to 
encourage employers to properly classify workers.  Determined that requiring 
contractors to share liability for worker misclassification with subcontractors may 
encourage them to ensure that these workers are properly classified.    

 Provided our results to LWC staff to review for accuracy and reasonableness. 
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APPENDIX C:  OTHER STATES’ PENALTIES FOR MISCLASSIFIED WORKERS 
 

 

State First Offense Subsequent Offenses Legal Citation Comments 

1 Alaska Variable N/A AK Statutes §23.30.250 

Alaska treats misclassification as theft by 
deception.  Civil penalties may include a 
penalty of up to three times the workers' 
compensation premium that would have been 
originally paid if the employee was properly 
classified. 

2 California $5,000 - $15,000 $10,000 - $25,000 
CA Labor Code 

§226.8 For each violation 

3 Colorado Up to $5,000 Up to $25,000 
CO Revised Statutes (R.S.) 

§8-72-114 For each misclassified employee 

4 Connecticut Variable N/A 
CT General Statues (G.S.) 

§31-69a 

Connecticut has a penalty of $300 per day per 
individual for each violation and employers 
that knowingly misclassify are guilty of a 
felony. 

5 Delaware $1,000 - $5,000 $20,000 
DE Code  
19 §3505 

For each misclassified employee. Subsequent 
offense fine applies if employer misclassifies 
twice in a two-year period. 

6 Florida $2,500 or $5,000 N/A 
FL Administrative Code  

Rule 69L-6.018 

$2,500 per misclassified employee for the first 
two misclassified employees per site; and 
$5,000 per misclassified employee after the 
first two misclassified employees per site. 

7 Illinois Up to $1,000 Up to $2,000 
IL Compiled Statutes  

820 §185/40 
Subsequent offense penalties apply to repeat 
violations found within a five year period. 

8 Kansas Variable Variable KS Statutes 44-766; 79-3228

First violations result in civil penalties 
contingent on income tax owed, and 
subsequent violations result in civil penalties 
and misdemeanor criminal conviction. 
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State First Offense Subsequent Offenses Legal Citation Comments 

9 Louisiana Warning Letter Up to $1,500 LA R.S. 23:1711 

Penalty for second offense is up to $250 per 
individual found to be misclassified; third and 
all subsequent offense is up to $500 per 
individual found to be misclassified.  After 
the third offense, the employer may be subject 
to additional fines of between $100 and 
$1,000, or imprisoned for 30-90 days, or both. 

10 Maine $2,000 - $10,000  N/A ME R.S. 26 § 591-A For each violation 

11 Maryland Up to $5,000  Up to $20,000 
MD Labor and Employment Code 

§3-909 

For each employee who was knowingly not 
properly classified.  Penalty with prior 
violation is double the first offense penalty 
and penalty for three or more violations is up 
to $20,000 for each employee. 

12 Massachusetts Up to $25,000  Up to $50,000 
MA General Laws  

149 §27C 

Massachusetts has different penalties, 
including criminal, for willful and unwillful 
violators.  First offenses punished with fine up 
to $25,000 or up to one year in prison for 
willful violators; up to $10,000 or up to six 
months in prison for unwillful violators.  
Subsequent offenses are punished at a 
maximum of $50,000 for willful violations 
and/or up to two years in prison; up to 
$25,000 and/or up to one year in prison for 
willful violations.  

13 Missouri Variable N/A 
MO Statutes 

285.515 

Missouri allows a court to determine that an 
employer has knowingly misclassified a 
worker.  If a court determines that 
misclassification is knowingly, it shall enter a 
judgment in favor of the state and award 
penalties in the amount of $50 per day per 
misclassified worker up to a maximum of 
$50,000. 

14 Nebraska $500  $5,000 NE R.S. §48-2907 Per each misclassified individual 

15 New Jersey Up to $2,500  Up to $5,000 NJ Statutes 34:20-5 Per violation 

16 New Mexico Up to $5,000 N/A 
NM Statutes  
§60-13-3.1 

New Mexico’s penalty statute is specific to 
the construction industry and only applies to 
misclassification by contractors. 
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State First Offense Subsequent Offenses Legal Citation Comments 

17 New York 
Up to $2,500 (civil) 

Up to $25,000 (criminal) 
Up to $5,000 (civil) 

Up to $50,000 (criminal) 
NY Labor Law 

§861-e 

New York has both civil and criminal 
penalties.  Upon conviction, criminal penalties 
for first offense are prison for no more than 30 
days or a maximum fine of $25,000 and 
prison for no more than 60 days or a 
maximum fine of $50,000 for subsequent 
offenses. 

18 North Carolina Variable NC G.S. §143-788

North Carolina passed the Employee Fair 
Classification Act to organize reporting and 
information sharing of misclassification issues 
between state agencies.  While the Act does 
not impose any classification penalties, the 
various independent agencies have their own 
individual penalty structures. 

19 Pennsylvania Up to $1,000  Up to $2,500 PA Statutes §933.6 Per violation 

20 Rhode Island $1,500 - $3,000  Up to $5,000 
RI General Laws  

§28-14-19.1 For each misclassified employee 

21 Texas $200  N/A 
TX Labor Code  

§213.008 For each misclassified individual 

22 Utah Up to $10,000 N/A 

UT Labor Code 
§34A-2-110; 

UT Criminal Code 
§76-3-203, 204, 301 

Utah’s degrees of criminal offenses are 
dependent on the number of misclassified 
individuals.  Criminal penalties range from 
fines up to $2,500 and up to one year 
imprisonment for misdemeanors and fines up 
to $10,000 and up to 15 years imprisonment 
for felonies. 

23 Vermont Up to $5,000  N/A VT Statutes §1314a For each misclassified employee 

24 Wisconsin $500 N/A WI Statutes 108.221 

Wisconsin’s penalties for employers engaged 
in the painting or drywall finishing of 
buildings or other structures that intentionally 
misclassify employees is $500 for each 
employee who is misclassified, but not to 
exceed $7,500 per incident. 

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using Westlaw. 
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