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Introduction 
 

We evaluated the Department of Education’s (LDE) 
regulation of Louisiana’s child care providers.1  This function 
was transferred to LDE in October of 2014.  We conducted 
this audit because effective regulation of child care providers 
is important to ensure the overall safety and well-being of 
children in Louisiana.  In addition, a 2013 Child Care Aware 
of America report2 ranked Louisiana 49th in the nation for 
child care regulation and oversight.  An August 2014 audit by the Department of Health and 
Human Services’ Office of Inspector General3 also found that DCFS’s oversight of family and 
in-home providers did not ensure that providers complied with regulations because the state was 
not conducting unannounced inspections of these providers. 

 
LDE oversees the safety and well-being of children in child care through a variety of 

regulatory activities, including: 
 
 Developing Licensing Standards – LDE works with the Board of Elementary 

and Secondary Education (BESE) to develop standards, such as child-to-staff 
ratios, supervision requirements, background check requirements, and incident 
reporting requirements.  LDE then ensures compliance with licensing standards 
prior to issuing a license. 

 Conducting Inspections – LDE inspects child care providers annually to follow 
up on deficiencies, or due to an incident. 

 Investigating Complaints – LDE investigates complaints against providers, 
including allegations that providers are operating without a license. 

 Issuing Enforcement Actions – LDE may issue sanctions, such as corrective 
action plans and license revocations, to providers who have deficiencies. 

                                                 
1 DCFS regulates specialized providers, such as a child-placing agency, maternity home, or residential group home. 
2 http://usa.childcareaware.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/wecandobetter_2013_final_april_11_0.pdf 
3 https://oig.hhs.gov/oas/reports/region6/61300037.pdf 

As a result of Act 868 of the 2014 
regular session, the licensing 
authority over child care providers 
in the state was transferred from 
the Department of Children and 
Family Services (DCFS) to LDE 
on October 1, 2014.  
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LDE regulates three types of child care providers.4  During calendar year 2017, there 
were a total of 1,780 child care providers with the capacity for 44,656 children; 44,032 (98.6%) 
of the capacity was for licensed providers, and the remaining 624 (1.4%) was for certified family 
and in-home providers.  Family and in-home providers are regulated (certified) by LDE only if 
they receive Childcare Assistance Program (CCAP) funds.5  Exhibit 1 describes the different 
provider types, and includes the number of child care providers and their capacity by provider 
type for calendar year 2017.   

 
Exhibit 1: Child Care Provider Statistics 

Calendar Year Ending 2017 

Provider Type Provider Description 
Number of 
Providers* 

Total 
Capacity** 

Licensed 

Early learning center6 that provides care for seven or more 
children daily, not including children related to the caregiver, 
unaccompanied by parent or legal custodian, on a regular basis 
for at least 12.5 hours in a continuous seven-day week.  

1,454 44,032 

Family 

One individual who provides care for fewer than 24 hours per 
day per child, as the sole caregiver, for six or fewer children, in 
a private residence.  Family providers receiving CCAP funds 
must be certified by LDE. 

313 602 

In-home 
An individual who provides child care services in the child or 
children’s home, such as a nanny.  In-home providers receiving 
CCAP funds must be certified by LDE. 

13 22 

     Total 1,780 44,656 
*Number of open providers as of August 2017. 
**The capacity of children is based on numbers submitted by LDE in “Statistics for Child Care Providers – Calendar 
Year Ending 2017.” 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data from LDE. 

 
Since the child care regulatory function was transferred to LDE in October 2014, the 

department has made some improvements to child care in Louisiana.  For example, LDE has 
implemented requirements for comprehensive, fingerprint-based background checks, increased 
training requirements for child care providers and staff, limited the amount of screen time (e.g. 
television, video games) for children, and prohibited the use of corporal punishment.  In addition, 
LDE requires licensing specialists to have a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education or a 
related field.  

 
The objective of this performance audit was: 
 

To evaluate LDE’s regulation of child care providers. 
 

The issues we identified are summarized on the following page and discussed in detail 
throughout the remainder of the report.  Appendix A contains LDE’s response to this report, and 
Appendix B details our scope and methodology.  
                                                 
4 LDE refers to child care providers as early learning centers and categorizes them as Types 1, 2, or 3; however, for 
this report we will refer to them generally as child care providers. 
5 CCAP funds are federal subsidies paid to providers on behalf of children who meet certain income requirements. 
6 Any child day care center, early head start center, head start center, or stand-alone prekindergarten program that is 
not attached to a school.  Early learning centers operated by a recognized religious organization that is tax-exempt 
are exempt from licensure.  
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Objective: To evaluate LDE’s regulation of child care providers 

 
We found that LDE conducted most of its required annual inspections of licensed 

providers.  However, the department needs to strengthen its regulatory processes in the following 
areas:    

 
 Louisiana child care licensing standards do not meet all national best 

practices related to child-to-staff ratios, group sizes, and oversight of family 
and in-home providers.  For example, Louisiana is one of only eight states that 
allows family and in-home providers to care for more than six children without 
requiring a license.  

 During fiscal year 2016 through fiscal year 2017, LDE conducted annual 
inspections on 91.6% (1,145 of 1,250) of licensed providers within 365 days, 
as required by state law.  However, the department needs to strengthen its 
inspection process for family and in-home providers.   

 LDE does not have an effective process to collect, investigate, and monitor 
complaints on licensed child care providers, and family and in-home 
providers.  LDE does not centrally track complaints and does not consistently 
document whether complaints were substantiated.  In addition, from fiscal year 
2016 to fiscal year 2017, LDE did not investigate 251 (31.8%) of 789 complaints 
on licensed providers in accordance with its current priority timeframes.  

 LDE did not effectively investigate complaints on unlicensed providers that 
may be operating illegally and did not issue required fines when it found that 
providers were operating without a license.  During fiscal years 2016 through 
2017, LDE did not investigate 38 (52.8%) of 72 complaints on 69 unlicensed 
providers in a timely manner, and in 16 (22.2%) of 72 cases, LDE did not 
complete all investigation procedures, such as issuing a Cease and Desist letter or 
conducting follow-up visits.    

 LDE did not always issue enforcement actions to address deficiencies in 
accordance with state law.  We found that 1,702 (99.1%) of the 1,718 
inspections during fiscal year 2016 and fiscal year 2017 that identified at least one 
deficiency requiring a corrective action plan did not have a formal corrective 
action plan issued after the inspection, as required by law.  

 LDE does not have criteria regarding when to conduct follow-up inspections 
to verify that deficiencies identified during complaint investigations or 
inspections have been corrected.  We found that 40 (21.6%) of 185 inspections 
that cited child-to-staff ratio or supervision deficiencies during fiscal years 2016 
through 2017 did not have a follow-up inspection, and providers with the same 
deficiencies had follow-up inspections, while others did not. 
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 LDE did not ensure that its child care provider website contained all 
information required by law.  Incomplete information on inspections and 
deficiencies prevents parents from making informed decisions when selecting 
child care providers. 

These findings, along with recommendations to help LDE strengthen its regulation of 
child care providers, are explained in more detail on the following pages.  

 
 

Louisiana child care licensing standards do not meet all 
national best practices related to child-to-staff ratios, group 
sizes, and oversight of family and in-home providers.  For 
example, Louisiana is one of only eight states7 that allows 
family providers to care for more than six children without 
requiring a license. 
 
 Since the regulation of child care providers was moved to LDE, the department has 
begun providing training and support for providers by increasing the number of consultants that 
work with providers and offering training modules on the department website.  However, LDE 
still needs to improve its child care standards in other areas to meet national best practices.  
While there are no federal regulations that dictate state licensing standards, the Department of 
Health and Human Services’ Administration for Children and Families (ACF) has guidance 
intended to create a common framework to align basic health and safety efforts across all early 
childhood settings.  In addition, various entities have established best practices that states can 
adopt.  

 
Both Louisiana’s child-to-staff ratios and group sizes are larger than what national 

best practices recommend.  Louisiana is one of only 13 states that do not require the 
recommended child-to-staff ratios for any age, and Louisiana is one of only four states that 
allows a 1:11 or above ratio for two-year-olds.  Research8 indicates that low child-to-staff ratios, 
meaning more staff per child, lead to children having positive interactions with providers 
because children are safer and form stronger emotional bonds with caregivers.  Twenty-two 
states require National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) group size 
standards for at least one age group.  Exhibit 2 compares the child-to-staff ratios and group sizes 
allowed in Louisiana to national NAEYC best practices.  

 
  

                                                 
7 According to the 2012 ranking of states by the National Association of Child Care Resources & Referral Agencies 
(NACCRRA), the eight states are Idaho, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey, Ohio, South Dakota, and 
Virginia. 
8 “We Can Do Better: Child Care Aware of America’s Ranking State Child Care Center Regulations and 
Oversight,” 2013 Update 
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Exhibit 2 
Recommended vs. Louisiana Child-to-Staff Ratios and Group Sizes 

Age Group 
Recommended 

Ratios 
Louisiana 

Ratios 
Recommended 

Group Size 
Louisiana 

Group Size* 
Birth to 1 year 1:4 1:5 6-8 15 

1 year 1:4 1:7 6-8 21 

2 years 1:6 1:11 8-12 22 

3 years 1:9 1:13 12-18 26 

4 years 1:10 1:15 16-20 30 

*Prior to April 2017, Louisiana did not have any group size standards. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using NAEYC standards  

 
 Louisiana does not meet national best practices for oversight of family child care 
providers.  In family child care settings, the National Resource Center for Health and Safety in 
Child Care (NRC) recommends a maximum number of six children before a provider is required 
to obtain a license.  This recommendation9 includes providers’ own children, as well as any other 
children in the home temporarily requiring supervision.  In contrast, Louisiana requires licensure 
for providers caring for seven or more children in their homes, excluding children related to the 
provider.  As a result, a single person with six children of their own could care for a total of 12 
children without any state oversight or monitoring.10  
 

Licensing child care providers is important because licensing standards establish the 
minimum requirements necessary to protect the health and safety of children.  The actual number 
of children in the home is important because insufficient supervision affects the safety of the 
children, as well as the provider’s ability to effectively interact with each child.  Louisiana is one 
of only eight states that allows providers to care for over six children without requiring a license.  
In contrast, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Florida require that child care providers be licensed if 
they care for six or more children. 

 
Louisiana does not require unannounced inspections of family and in-home 

providers as recommended by national best practices.  National best practices recommend11 
that monitoring agencies conduct unannounced inspections of family and in-home providers.  In 
Louisiana, these providers are subject to federal inspection requirements, which mandate only 
one annual inspection.  Unannounced inspections could help prevent providers from covering up 
violations, especially when there is history of violations, sanctions, or complaints.  For example, 
we compared the addresses of registered sex offenders with addresses of family and in-home 
providers and found a convicted rapist residing in a home of a family provider.12  The individual 
had lived in the home for more than five years and likely was not present during annual 
inspections because they are announced beforehand.  Unannounced inspections could help 
increase the likelihood that LDE discovers serious violations.  LDE has since terminated the 
                                                 
9 National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care (NRC), Caring for Our Children: National Health 
and Safety Performance Standards 
10 Family providers that are certified CCAP providers can only care for six children or fewer, including those related 
to the caregiver. 
11 Division of the Department of Health and Human Services: Administration for Children and Family (ACF)  
12 We informed LDE of the sex offender living at the family provider’s address.  LDE removed the provider’s ability 
to participate in CCAP and receive federal funds.  The facility is no longer a child care provider.  
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provider’s access to federal funding and has an ongoing system in place to ensure that new 
providers applying for certification do not provide care in residences of registered sex offenders.  
  

Recommendation 1:  LDE should ensure requirements for child-to-staff ratios and 
group sizes to comply with national best practices.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that it has worked diligently to bring the licensing regulations closer to national 
best practices.  For example, in 2018 a Licensing Task Force, established to review 
licensing regulations, recommended that child-to-staff ratios for Type II and III centers 
be aligned with Type 1 centers.  This recommendation will become effective in 
November 2018 with a timeframe for compliance for Type 1 centers.  See Appendix A 
for management’s full response.  
 
Recommendation 2:  LDE should conduct unannounced inspections of family and 
in-home providers, as recommended by national best practices. 

 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that effective July 1, 2018, it instituted new tracking procedures to ensure that 
each family and in-home provider receiving CCAP funds receives one announced and 
one unannounced inspection per year.  See Appendix A for management’s full response. 

 
Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The legislature may wish to consider 
revising Louisiana Revised Statute (La. R.S.) 407.33 so that children related to a provider 
are included for licensure determination.   
 
 

During fiscal years 2016 through 2017, LDE conducted 
annual inspections on 91.6% (1,145 of 1,250) of licensed 
providers within 365 days, as required by state law; 
however, it needs to strengthen its inspection process for 
family and in-home providers. 

 
The purpose of annual inspections is to ensure that child care providers are meeting child 

care standards set by federal law, state law, and state regulations.  Licensing specialists use a 
checklist during their inspections and cite providers for deficiencies when providers do not meet 
standards.  La. R.S. 17:407.43 requires LDE to inspect licensed child care providers at regular 
intervals not to exceed one year.  We found that during fiscal years 2016 through 2017, LDE 
conducted annual inspections on 1,145 (91.6%) of 1,25013  licensed providers within 365 days, 
as required by state law.  The licensed providers that we identified with inspections exceeding 
one year often had annual inspections conducted early, which resulted in the next annual 
inspection exceeding 365 days.  Of the 105 inspections that exceeded 365 days, 93 (88.6%) 
exceeded a year by less than two months, 11 (10.5%) exceeded a year by two to six months, and 

                                                 
13 We tested licensed child care providers that were open the entire two years of our scope. 
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one (<1%) exceeded a year by more than six months.  While these late inspections did not 
specifically meet state law, allowing specialists to inspect providers up to three months early 
decreases the predictability of inspections.  

 
LDE needs to strengthen its process of inspecting family and in-home providers.  

Federal law14 requires LDE to annually inspect family and in-home providers who receive CCAP 
funds.15  It is important that LDE have an effective process to inspect these providers because 
they receive federal funding.  In addition, a 2014 audit by the Department of Health and Human 
Services’ Office of Inspector General found that family and in-home providers did not always 
comply with state and federal requirements.  LDE used a contractor to conduct these inspections 
in fiscal year 2016 but did not maintain any data on these inspections.  According to LDE, 
contracting out inspections was not effective, so it began conducting its own inspections in fiscal 
year 2017.  However, we identified 14 (7.3%) of 193 family and in-home providers who received 
$167,870 in CCAP funds but did not have any inspections in fiscal year 2017.  According to 
LDE staff, this occurred because employees were cancelling inspection requests in the system in 
order to remove duplicate entries; however, due to system errors, it also removed providers that 
still required an inspection.   

 
Recommendation 3:  LDE should ensure that it conducts required inspections of 
family and in-home providers.   

 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that effective July 1, 2018, it instituted new tracking procedures to ensure that 
each family and in-home provider receiving CCAP funds receives one announced and 
one unannounced inspection per year.  See Appendix A for management’s full response.  

 
Recommendation 4:  LDE should develop policies and procedures regarding if and 
when employees can cancel inspection requests. 
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that it has since refined its procedures for duplicate entries.  See Appendix A 
for management’s full response.  

 
  

                                                 
14 45 CFR Part 98 
15 Family and in-home providers that do not receive CCAP funds are not required to be licensed or certified; 
therefore, the state does not require LDE to regulate them. 
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LDE does not have an effective process to collect, 
investigate, and monitor complaints on licensed child care 
providers, and family and in-home providers.  LDE does 
not centrally track complaints, does not consistently 
document whether complaints were substantiated, and does 
not always investigate complaints timely. 

 
According to the National State Auditors Association (NSAA16), complaints are an 

important source of information for determining whether entities are operating in compliance 
with standards.  NSAA recommends that regulatory agencies have a systematic process for 
handling complaints.  This process should include setting guidelines for which complaints need 
action, and the timeframes in which they should be handled.  In addition, the NSAA states that 
agencies should track and oversee complaints to ensure they are being addressed appropriately 
and that none fall through the cracks.  

 
LDE does not use a centralized system to track and monitor complaints.  LDE 

receives complaints regarding child care providers from several sources, including a hot line, 
email, and referrals from other agencies.  Instead of centrally tracking these complaints, the 
department tracks certain complaint details, such as the specific steps taken in the investigation 
process in its data system, BLAS, and uses three separate Excel spreadsheets to track complaints 
on licensed providers, unlicensed providers, and family and in-home providers.  According to 
LDE, it uses these spreadsheets because BLAS is not user-friendly and does not create reliable 
reports to help the department oversee and monitor complaints.  It is important to centrally track 
complaints so that management can effectively monitor the process and ensure that complaints 
are addressed in a timely manner.  According to LDE, it is developing a new data system that 
should address these issues and is scheduled to be implemented in the summer of 2019. 

 
LDE does not consistently document whether complaints were substantiated.  

Federal law requires states to maintain a record of substantiated parent complaints for facilities 
that receive CCAP assistance, and best practices17 recommend this for all child care facilities.  
We found that the department does not consistently document its overall determination of 
whether a complaint was substantiated in BLAS or in the monitoring spreadsheet.  According to 
BLAS data, 8.2% of complaints were substantiated during fiscal years 2016 through 2017; 
however, according to LDE’s monitoring spreadsheet, 19% of complaints were substantiated 
during this same timeframe.  In addition, we found that the finding code in 1,145 (55.2%) of 
2,072 complaints in BLAS and 76 (3.6%) of 2,095 complaints in the monitoring spreadsheet 
were blank.  As a result, the department is unable to reliably determine how many complaints 
were substantiated.  

 
LDE’s timeframes for investigating complaints are longer than what best practices 

recommend.  However, in practice, LDE’s timeframes for investigating complaints are even 
longer, because it does not follow its own procedures.  In January 2016, LDE began assigning 
each complaint a priority level to ensure that complaints are investigated timely based on risk 
                                                 
16 “Carrying Out a State Regulatory Program,” 2004 
17 “Best Practices for Human Care Regulation,” NARA and U.S. Office of Child Care, 2017 
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level.  The National Association for Regulatory Administration (NARA) recommends that 
agencies have written guidelines regarding complaints that include timeframes, ranging from 
immediately to five days, for conducting inspections based the severity of the complaint.  LDE 
procedure requires priority 1 complaints to be investigated within five calendar days, priority 2 
complaints to be investigated within 10 calendar days, and priority 3 complaints to be 
investigated within 30 calendar days.  However, in practice, licensing specialists calculate 
priority timeframe requirements based on business days, not calendar days as outlined in 
department procedures,18 which only extends the amount of time agency staff investigate 
complaints.     

 
From fiscal year 2016 through fiscal year 2017,19 LDE did not investigate 251 

(31.8%) of 789 of complaints on licensed providers in accordance with its current priority 
timeframes.  Once LDE receives a complaint and reviews it to determine risk level, the 
complaint is assigned to a licensing specialist who conducts an on-site visit of the provider to 
investigate the complaint within the required number of days based on the complaint’s priority 
level.  We analyzed complaints on licensed providers and found that for both priority 1 and 2 
complaints, LDE did not investigate 226 (39.6%) of 571 complaints within the required 
timeframe.  For priority 3 complaints, LDE didn’t investigate 25 (11.5%) of 218 complaints 
within the required timeframe.  Exhibit 3 shows examples of complaints by priority level and the 
timeliness of complaint inspections for licensed providers based on priority level for fiscal years 
2016 through 2017. 
 

Exhibit 3 
Timeliness of Complaints on Licensed Providers by Priority Levels 

Fiscal Years 2016 through 2017* 

Priority 
Level 

Example 
Number of 
Complaints 

Not 
Inspected 

Timely 

Percent Not 
Inspected 

Timely 

Priority 1 
(5 days) 

Death, severed finger or limbs, broken bones, medical 
attention, children being found by others inside or outside 
the center, children left in van, children left unsupervised 
in heat for any amount of time, and teacher yelling, hitting, 
or being rough with children and still employed. 

100 39 39.0% 

Priority 2 
(10 days) 

Child having bruises and no one knows what happened, 
children left unsupervised for 2-5 minutes, children being 
forced to clean toileting accidents, and teacher yelling, 
hitting, or being rough with children and terminated.  

471 187 39.7% 

Priority 3 
(30 days) 

Children being left unsupervised for a minute or less, 
child-to-staff ratio, underage employee, children on the 
floor to eat, staff sleep at nap time, center dirty, center hot 
or cold, verification of operation for unlicensed centers. 

218 25 11.5% 

     Total  789 251 31.8% 
*LDE began prioritizing complaints in January 2016.  Our analysis only includes complaints that had a priority assigned. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data from LDE. 

                                                 
18 LDE refers to internal policy as procedures because it refers to Bulletin 137 as policy.  Therefore, we will refer to 
internal policies as procedures in this report. 
19 LDE began prioritizing complaints in January 2016.  Our analysis only includes complaints that had a priority 
assigned. 
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From July 2016 through February 2017, LDE did not have a formal process to 
investigate complaints on family and in-home and family providers.  As a result, it did not 
track, assign a priority level, or investigate complaints on these providers.  According to 
LDE, it only received five complaints during this timeframe.  Of these complaints, only one 
received a timely inspection because Provider Certification, the section responsible for 
complaints against in-home and family providers, did not implement a formal process for this 
function until March 2017.  According to LDE, in March 2017, Provider Certification created 
formal procedures, started documenting and tracking complaints in a spreadsheet, and began 
inspecting all complaints.  Exhibit 4 summarizes the only five complaints on family and in-home 
providers received in fiscal years 2016 and 2017. 
 

Exhibit 4 
In-home and Family Provider Complaints 

Fiscal Years 2016 through 2017 

Number 
Type of 

Provider 
Description of Complaint 

Priority 
Ranking 

Date 
Complaint 

was 
Received 

Date of 
Inspection 

1 Family 

An older sibling of a 10-month-old reported that 
the provider was picking up and holding the baby 
by the neck.  The parent took the baby to the 
doctor, who informed them that the baby was 
having seizures. 

Not 
Ranked 

9/29/2016 
None 

Conducted 

2 Family 
Provider unable to care for children and overly 
rough with them due to advancing dementia/ 
Alzheimer’s. 

Not 
Ranked 

10/24/2016 
None 

Conducted 

3 Family 

Child sustained unexplained bruising on her 
shoulder, chest, arm, and thigh, and could not 
pick up her arm.  The child was treated at a 
hospital. 

Not 
Ranked 

2/21/2017 
2/23/2017 
(Annual 

inspection) 

4 Family 

Child left unsupervised in room with an open 
flame heater.  Child sustained second degree 
burns to his left hand and had to be treated at 
LSU Burn Center.* 

Not 
Ranked 

2/23/2017 
None 

Conducted 

5 Family 

Child had a near-drowning experience after 
falling head-first into a 5-gallon bucket of water.  
CPR was performed at the facility, and the child 
was treated at a hospital. 

1 4/27/2017 
5/15/2017 
(Untimely) 

*DCFS CPI’s investigation of this specific complaint is still ongoing as of August 2018. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data provided by LDE complaint files and complaint summaries. 

 
Effective documenting and tracking of complaints on family and in-home providers is 

important to ensure the safety of children cared for in these settings.  For example, one complaint 
involved an unsupervised child who sustained second degree burns from an open flame heater 
that had to be treated at a burn center; however, LDE never conducted an inspection of this 
facility, which could have put other children in danger.20 
  

                                                 
20 DCFS CPI’s investigation of this specific complaint is still ongoing as of August 2018. 
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Recommendation 5:  LDE should ensure that each complaint is investigated within 
the timeframe for its assigned priority level.   
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that because the initial timeframes set forth in its priority levels were 
ambitious, it has updated the timeframes and will ensure that it is following the revised 
procedure.  See Appendix A for management’s full response.  
 
Recommendation 6:  LDE should follow its policy and investigate complaints using 
calendar days instead of business days.   
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE disagrees with this 
recommendation and states that, as a majority of early learning centers are open only 
during weekdays, using business days for investigation is more appropriate.  LDE has 
revised its procedure to reflect business days.  See Appendix A for management’s full 
response. 

 
LLA Additional Comments:  Because using business days may extend the required 
timeframe for an onsite visit from five to seven days, calendar days are more in line with 
best practices which recommend up to five days. 
 
Recommendation 7:  LDE should ensure that all complaints are documented and 
tracked, including when the complaint was received, the timeframe for investigating the 
complaint and outcome of the investigation.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that effective July 11, 2018, it began tracking complaints, the timeframe for 
investigating the complaint, and the outcomes of the investigation in its Licensing 
system.  Effective July 1, 2018, it began tracking complaints concerning family home and 
in-home providers in the Claims, Fraud and Referral System.  See Appendix A for 
management’s full response.  

 
 

LDE did not effectively investigate complaints on unlicensed 
providers that may be operating illegally and did not issue 
required fines when it found providers fine providers 
operating without a license.   
 

LDE investigates complaints on potentially unlicensed 
providers to determine whether they are actually providing care 
for seven or more children and are in violation of the law.  If a 
provider continues to operate after warnings from LDE, they can 
face criminal penalties such as a fines, prison time, or license 
ineligibility.  Because these providers are unregulated and not 
inspected, they pose a greater risk of harm to children.   

An unlicensed child care 
provider is any place or facility 
that provides care to six or fewer 
children that are not related to 
the provider.  Providers caring 
for seven or more children must 
be licensed. 
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When LDE receives a complaint regarding an 
unlicensed facility, staff must inspect the facility and 
determine whether they should be licensed.  If the facility is 
operating illegally, LDE issues a Cease and Desist letter to 
the provider and then conducts a follow-up visit within 14 
calendar days to determine if it is still operating illegally.  
After the follow-up visit, LDE alerts its legal section, who 
initiates legal proceedings on the provider if they are still 
operating illegally.  Exhibit 5 outlines the unlicensed 
inspection process and time requirements to complete the 
initial visit, review/determination, Cease and Desist letter, 
and follow up visit steps in the investigation according to 
procedures.  This process should take no more than 51 days 
to complete, according to LDE’s internal procedures. 

 
LDE did not investigate 38 (52.8%) of 72 

complaints21 on unlicensed providers in a timely manner, 
and 16 (22.2%) of 72 were not fully investigated from 
fiscal years 2016 through 2017.  We reviewed 72 
complaints on unlicensed facilities during fiscal years 2016 
through 2017 and found that LDE conducted initial site visits in a timely manner for 64 (88.9%) 
complaints, and sent Cease and Desist letters in a timely manner for 67 (93.1%) complaints.  
However, 26 (36.1%) of 72 determinations and 23 (31.9%) of 72 follow up visits were untimely.  
In addition, 7 (9.7%) of 72 complaints never had a Cease and Desist letter sent22 and 9 (12.5%) 
of 72 complaints never had a follow-up visit even though records indicate that the complaint was 
substantiated.  Exhibit 6 summarizes the results of our analysis on complaint investigations 
regarding unlicensed providers. 

 
Exhibit 6 

Investigation Compliance for Targeted Selection of 72 Complaints on Unlicensed Providers 
Fiscal Years 2016 through 2017 

Step in Investigation 
Investigation Step 

Completed Untimely 
Percent of 
Selection 

Investigation 
Step Never 
Completed 

Percent of 
Selection 

Initial Inspection 8 11.1% 0 0% 

Final Determination 26 36.1% 6 8.3% 

Cease and Desist Letter Issued 5 6.9% 7 9.7% 

Follow Up Inspection 23 31.9% 9 12.5% 

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data provided by LDE. 

   

                                                 
21 We reviewed a targeted selection of 72 of a total of 330 complaints regarding unlicensed providers who were 
potentially operating illegally.  We selected complaints that resulted in a Cease and Desist order, because those 
providers are high risk for operating illegally.  See Appendix B for our methodology.  
22 Two of the seven providers signed a Statement of Understanding that they could only care for six or fewer 
children; however, LDE did not conduct a follow-up visit. 

Cease and Desist Letter

Initial Visit, Review, and Determination

Follow Up Visit

Complaint Received

30 calendar days

7 calendar days

14 calendar days

Exhibit 5 
Inspection Process for Complaints 

on Unlicensed Providers 
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 We also found that 15 (20.8%) of 72 of unlicensed complaint investigations were not 
investigated in accordance with procedures.  For two of the complaints, staff had unlicensed 
facilities sign a Statement of Understanding that said they would change certain policies instead 
of sending them a Cease and Desist letter and conducting a follow-up visit as required by 
procedures.  For eight other complaints, staff conducted the initial site visit but could not make a 
determination because the provider would not answer the door.  A follow-up visit was never 
scheduled to make a final determination.  For the final five complaints, staff did not follow the 
correct order of steps in the investigation.       
 

State regulations require that LDE fine providers not less than $1,000 per day and 
file a suit in district court for knowingly operating without a license; however, LDE did not 
assess any fines in fiscal years 2016 through 2017.  LAC tit. 28, pt. 161, § 305 (Bulletin 137) 
states that whoever operates any early learning center23 without a valid license shall be fined by 
the Licensing Division not less than $1,000 per day for each day of such offense.  It further states 
that LDE shall file suit for a court order mandating that the provider cease operations.  During 
this time, nine (12.5%) of the 72 complaints we reviewed were substantiated and found to still be 
operating illegally even after an initial visit, a Cease and Desist letter, and a follow-up visit were 
conducted.  According to procedures, once a center is determined to be still operating illegally 
after a follow-up visit, staff refer the case to its legal section so it can initiate legal proceedings 
and either file a Petition for Injunctive Relief, file a Rule for Contempt, or report to the sheriff’s 
office.  While LDE did initiate legal proceedings for these nine cases, it did not assess any fines 
on these centers as required by state regulations.   
 

Recommendation 8:  LDE should ensure that all complaints concerning potentially 
unlicensed providers are investigated timely and in accordance with agency procedures.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that it has revised its procedures.  See Appendix A for management’s full 
response.  

 
 

LDE did not always issue enforcement actions to address 
deficiencies in accordance with state law.  We found that 
1,702 (99.1%) of the 1,718 inspections with at least one 
deficiency requiring a corrective action plan, did not have a 
formal corrective action plan issued after the inspection. 

 
The NSAA24 states that regulatory agencies should develop a systematic, fair, and 

progressively stringent enforcement process to ensure that the public is protected.  For example, 
the NSAA recommends that agencies should set graduated sanctions, specify the number and 
severity of violations that trigger each sanction and timeframes, and follow up as needed to 
determine whether the problem is corrected.  In addition, NARA recommends that states develop 
procedures and protocols to achieve consistent enforcement.   
                                                 
23 Early learning center are providers caring for seven or more children, excluding those related to the provider. 
24 “Carrying Out a State Regulatory Program,” 2004 
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State law and LDE regulations outline sanctions that LDE can impose when it identifies 
certain deficiencies, including deficiencies related to child-to-staff ratios and failure to report 
critical incidents.  Specifically, 

 
 La. R.S. 17:407.46 states that for violations related to supervision, criminal 

history records check, state central registry disclosure, child-to-staff ratios, motor 
vehicle passenger checks, and failure to report critical incidents, the department 
may issue a written warning that includes a corrective action plan in lieu of 
revocation if the violation does not pose an imminent threat to the health, safety, 
rights or welfare of a child.  Failure to implement a corrective action plan may 
result in either the assessment of a civil fine not to exceed $250 per day up to 
$2,000, or license revocation or may result in both actions.   

 LAC tit. 28, pt. 161, § 1105 outlines the same requirements as La. R.S. 17:407.46 
but states that if the corrective action plan is not timely implemented or if a 
second violation related to the same standard occurs within a 24 month period and 
does not result in the revocation or refusal to renew a license, the department must 
issue a written notice of violation that may include additional corrective action 
and may include the assessment of a civil fine not to exceed $250 per day up to 
$2,000 as well as the factors to be used in determining the type of sanction 
imposed. 

LDE did not issue formal corrective action plans, as required by the above laws and 
regulations, for 1,702 (99.1%) of the 1,718 inspections that identified at least one deficiency 
requiring a corrective action plan25 during fiscal years 2016 through 2017.  Issuing 
enforcement actions, such as formal corrective action plans, are important to help ensure that 
providers correct deficiencies and continually maintain healthy environments for children.  
During fiscal years 2016 through 2017, LDE revoked 16 licenses and issued formal written 
corrective action plans to 38 providers.26  LDE gives providers a statement of deficiencies after 
an inspection, which includes a cover sheet signed by both the provider and licensing specialist 
indicating that they discussed each violation and how to correct them.  While LDE considers this 
an informal corrective action plan, the document does not include specific actions providers 
should take to correct deficiencies or completion dates.  

 
LDE’s practice of issuing informal corrective action plans is not always effective.  

We identified 182 (20.5%) of 886 providers27 who had a repeat deficiency at the next 
inspection or had three of the same deficiencies in a 24-month period.  However, none of 
these providers received a formal corrective action plan or were issued fines as allowed by state 
regulations.  Requiring formal corrective action plans would help LDE hold providers 
accountable for correcting deficiencies and help ensure that licensing specialists are providing 
consistent guidance to providers.  
  
                                                 
25 As defined in La. R.S. 17:407.46 
26 Formal corrective action plans may be issued to providers with repeated non-compliance according to LDE 
procedures.  
27 886 providers in our scope were cited for deficiencies requiring a corrective action plan as defined in  
La. R.S. 17:407.46 
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Recommendation 9:  LDE should ensure deficiencies are addressed in accordance 
with state law and regulations.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE disagrees with this finding and 
recommendation and states that, at the completion of a monitoring visit, licensing staff 
consults with the provider on the cited deficiencies, and corrective action required.  The 
provider is given a list of deficiencies, and the provider signs the document attesting that 
the provider understands the deficiencies and corrective action required.  See Appendix A 
for management’s full response. 

 
LLA Additional Comments:  While licensing staff discuss needed corrective action 
at the completion of a monitoring visit, written corrective action plans that include 
specific steps and deadlines for compliance are important for holding providers 
accountable and ensuring that systemic deficiencies are corrected.  
 
Recommendation 10:  LDE should develop more specific corrective action plans for 
providers with the deficiencies outlined in law that include specific steps providers 
should take to correct deficiencies.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE disagrees with this finding and 
recommendation and states that LDE provides a corrective action plan with a list of 
deficiencies at the completion of each monitoring visit.  See Appendix A for 
management’s full response. 

 
LLA Additional Comments:  A list of deficiencies does not constitute a corrective 
action plan, as it does not include written, specific steps that providers need to take and 
deadlines for compliance.  In addition, a list of deficiencies does not address the root 
cause of provider issues; therefore, providers may not be adequately addressing systemic 
problems.  

 
 

LDE does not have criteria regarding when to conduct 
follow-up inspections to verify that deficiencies identified 
during complaint investigations or inspections have been 
corrected.  As a result, some providers with the same 
deficiencies had follow-up inspections, while others did not. 
 

According to the NSAA,28 regulatory agencies should develop criteria indicating the 
types of corrective actions needed for each type of violation and the timeframes in which those 
corrective actions must be taken.  In addition, agencies should track the inspections conducted, 
violations found, and actions taken to ensure violations are handled appropriately.  The NSAA 
also states that on-site re-inspections may be necessary depending on the severity of the 
violations. 

                                                 
28 “Carrying Out a State Regulatory Program,” 2004 
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LDE does not have procedures that outline what kinds of deficiencies warrant a 
follow-up inspection.  LAC tit. 28, pt. 161, § 1101 states that licensing specialists may allow 
providers to immediately remedy non-critical violations that are identified on an on-site 
inspection.  In practice, licensing specialists may also require providers to submit documentation 
to LDE as evidence of correcting deficiencies, or may conduct follow-up inspections to 
determine if deficiencies have been corrected.  However, LDE procedures do not specify what 
types of deficiencies require a follow-up inspection.  Exhibit 7 shows the top ten most common 
deficiencies LDE identified at child care providers during fiscal years 2016 through 2017. 
 

Exhibit 7 
Top Ten Types of Deficiencies 

Fiscal Years 2016 through 2017 

Deficiency Number of Deficiencies* 

Missing state central registry form  587 

Incomplete daily attendance records – children  586 

Missing criminal background check  563 

Missing public health or fire marshal inspection 492 

Lack of medication management training   446 

Observed health services issues  437 

Not free of hazards  375 

Incomplete daily attendance records – staff and owners  372 

Child-to-staff ratio above average  372 
Missing behavior management policy or inappropriate 
behavior management by staff  

355 

*This is the total number of deficiencies identified on all inspections conducted in fiscal 
years 2016 through 2017. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data from LDE. 

  
Because LDE does not have formalized 

procedures outlining when to conduct follow-up 
inspections, licensing specialists determine 
follow-up on a case-by-case basis.  As a result, 
we found variation across parishes regarding the 
frequency of follow up inspections.  This 
indicates that licensing specialists may be 
conducting follow-up inspections inconsistently.  
For example, for fiscal years 2016 and 2017, the 
average number of follow-up inspections per 
provider per parish ranges from 4.5 per provider 
in one parish to some parishes having zero 
follow-up inspections.  Exhibit 8 shows the 
average number of follow-up inspections per 
provider per parish for fiscal year 2017.    
  

Exhibit 8 
Average Number of Follow-Up Inspections 

per Provider per Parish 
Fiscal Year 2017 
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We also found that 40 (21.6%) of 185 annual inspections that cited child-to-staff 
ratio or supervision deficiencies during fiscal years 2016 through 2017 did not have a 
follow-up inspection.29  We reviewed child-to-staff ratio and supervision deficiencies because 
these deficiencies would likely require a follow-up inspection to physically observe whether 
providers are in compliance with these standards.  As a result, providers with the same 
deficiencies identified during annual inspections, with some receiving follow-up visits while 
others did not.  While there are instances of non-compliance which likely do not merit an on-site 
follow-up visit, such as missing policies or paper work, LDE should develop procedures to 
consistently follow up on more serious deficiencies.     
 

Recommendation 11:  LDE should develop procedures that outline what kinds of 
deficiencies warrant a follow-up inspection. 

  
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE disagrees with the finding but 
agrees with recommendation.  According to LDE, at the time of the audit monitoring, the 
department did not have written criteria regarding when to conduct follow-up inspections.  
For a number of findings, providers have the opportunity to make corrections at the time 
of the visit, so often, follow-up visits were not necessary.  Also, after many complaint 
investigations and inspections were completed, telephone follow-up discussions were 
conducted by licensing staff.  LDE has developed a procedure to address follow-up 
inspections.  See Appendix A for management’s full response. 

 
 

LDE did not ensure that its child care provider website 
contained all information required by law.  Incomplete 
information on inspections and deficiencies prevents 
parents from making informed decisions when selecting 
child care providers. 

 
State law30 requires that LDE include information on each licensed facility for the last 

fifteen inspections, and beginning on November 19, 2017, federal law requires31 states to post 
three years of detailed inspection information on each provider.  States must include program 
statistics related to CCAP payments, provider-specific information, as well as information 
regarding injuries and deaths at providers state-wide.  In November 2017, LDE launched an 
interactive website called the Louisiana School Finder32 that publishes child care provider 
deficiencies resulting from inspections and complaints.  This website allows the public to make 
more informed decisions about what child care providers to enroll their children in. 
  

                                                 
29 Of the 21.6% without a follow-up inspection, 22 (11.9%) had a subsequent inspection, but it was not a follow-up 
inspection.  For example, the subsequent inspection may have been due to a complaint or incident. 
30 La. R.S. 17:407.38 
31 45 CFR Section 98.33 
32 http://www.louisianaschools.com 
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We reviewed inspection information for family and in-home providers and licensed 
providers with the most deficiencies during inspections conducted during fiscal years 2016 
through 201733 and found that 22 (46.8%) of 47 inspections were not easily accessible 
online.  Seventeen (36.2%) inspections were only available for users via a request through LDE 
and a fee of $0.25 per page, and five (10.6%) resulted in a website error.  LDE deficiency data 
shows an instance of a staff member licking a child and other instances such as a staff member 
hitting multiple one-year old children on the arm, in the face, on the leg, and slamming a child’s 
face down in a bean bag.  However, none of these deficiencies were available online. 

 
In addition, LLA staff anonymously requested a deficiency report from LDE for a family 

provider whose report, according to LDE’s website, was only available via request.  Despite 
following the directions listed on the website and speaking with several LDE staff, LLA audit 
staff was never able to obtain the deficiency report.  Without access to deficiency reports, parents 
are not able to make informed decisions regarding where to enroll their children in child care.  
Exhibit 9 shows the availability of inspection data on LDE’s child care website. 
 

Exhibit 9 
Child Care Website Inspection Availability 

Fiscal Years 2016 through 2017 

Website Results 
Family/In-Home Providers* Licensed Providers** Total Providers 

Number  Percent Number  Percent Number  Percent 
Available online 7 28.0% 18 81.8% 25 53.2% 

Available upon 
request ($0.25 per 
page) 

14 56.0% 3 13.6% 17 36.2% 

Website error 4 16.0% 1 4.6% 5 10.6% 

     Total 25 100.0% 22 100.0% 47 100.0% 
*Family/In-home providers with three or more deficiencies. 
**Licensed providers with 20 or more deficiencies. 
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor's staff using LDE’s child care website and data from LDE. 
 

LDE’s website does not always include complete and accurate data on instances of 
serious injury, as required by federal law.  Licensing regulations34 require that licensed 
childcare providers must report all serious injuries to the state within 24 hours.  When a provider 
is cited during an inspection for not notifying the state in a timely manner, the finding is cited in 
the inspection deficiency report and entered into the LDE system.  However, we found that LDE 
staff does not consistently list the injuries when entering information from complaints into its 
data system.  As a result, LDE cannot track serious injuries by provider and therefore cannot 
provide this information for parents on their website.  Federal law35 requires states to include on 
its website any health and safety violations, including any fatalities and serious injuries occurring 
at the provider, and prominently displaying such on the inspection report or summary.  Informing 
the public about serious incidents is important for parents to make child care decisions.  For 

                                                 
33 We reviewed family and in-home providers with three or more deficiencies and licensed providers with 20 or 
more deficiencies.  
34 Bulletin 137 (LAC tit. 28, pt. 161) 
35 45 CFR 98.33 
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example, we found one instance where a child was left unsupervised, choked during mealtime, 
and died.  The deficiency report does not indicate that there was a fatality and only cites the 
provider for leaving children unsupervised, serving prohibited food, and not reporting a critical 
incident.  That a death occurred as a result of these deficiencies is not clearly indicated on LDE’s 
website as required by federal law.  LDE has begun working on this issue. 

 
Recommendation 12:  LDE should ensure that information all inspections with 
deficiencies are easily accessible for parents.  
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that it identified a system issue that caused the monitoring site to charge a fee 
per page rather than displaying the monitoring forms.  This system has been resolved and 
all monitoring inspections are easily available online for free.  See Appendix A for 
management’s full response.  
 
Recommendation 13:  LDE should ensure that instances of serious injury, death, 
and substantiated child abuse are clearly indicated on its website and are linked to the 
associated providers, as required by federal law.   
 
Summary of Management’s Response:  LDE agrees with this recommendation 
and states that aggregate data is available online and instances of serious injury and death 
are noted as required by federal law.  See Appendix A for management’s full response.  
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APPENDIX B:  SCOPE AND METHODOLOGY 
 

 
This report provides the results of our performance audit of the Louisiana Department of 

Education (LDE).  We conducted this performance audit under the provisions of Title 24 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended.  This audit primarily covered the time period of 
July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2017.  Our audit objective was: 
 

To evaluate LDE’s regulation of child care providers. 
 

 We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally-accepted Government 
Auditing Standards issued by the Comptroller General of the United States.  Those standards 
require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide 
reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives.  We believe the 
evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our 
audit objectives.  To answer our objectives, we reviewed internal controls relevant to the audit 
objectives and performed the following audit steps: 
 

 Researched and reviewed relevant state and federal statutes and regulations 
related to child care providers, including requirements regarding eligibility 
certification for licensed and certified family and in-home providers, inspections, 
and complaints. 

 Researched child care related audits and best practices in other states and studies 
conducted by local and national organizations.  

 Interviewed LDE staff and child care stakeholders, such as the House Committee 
on Education and the Senate Education Committee. 

 Shadowed LDE licensing specialists during child care provider inspections.  

 Obtained and reviewed LDE’s internal procedures regarding child care providers. 

 Obtained and analyzed BLAS data for child care licensing, inspections, 
complaints, and CCAP payments for fiscal years 2016 through 2017 using Excel 
and Audit Command Language (ACL). 

o Tested BLAS data for reliability.  

o To test inspection compliance, we only included in our analysis child care 
providers that were open the entirety of our two-year scope, for a total of 
1,250 providers. 

o Using GIS, we created a map to show the average number of follow-up 
inspections per provider per parish.   
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o Obtained sex offender addresses from Louisiana State Police and 
compared them to family and in-home provider addresses.  

 Obtained and analyzed complaint data maintained in multiple spreadsheets.  

o To test compliance with complaint priority timeframes, we analyzed only 
complaints that were assigned a priority level during or after January 
2016, when LDE implemented priorities.  

o Reviewed files for all five family and in-home complaints LDE received 
during our two-year scope, including reviewing DCFS’s intake forms for 
complaint details. 

o Conducted a targeted selection of 72 complaints out of 330 complaints 
regarding unlicensed providers that were potentially operating illegally. 
We analyzed the spreadsheet LDE uses to track cease and desist orders 
(indicating high risk providers), which included a total of 50 providers.  
We also pulled 22 records from the BLAS dataset that included the term 
“cease and desist” in the description that were not included in LDE’s 
spreadsheet.  We then reviewed the case file details for each complaint to 
test compliance with LDE internal procedures.  

 To determine whether inspection reports were available on LDE’s Louisiana 
School Finder website, we selected providers with the highest number of 
deficiencies to look up on the website.  Specifically, open licensed providers with 
20 or more deficiencies, totaling 21 providers, and open family and in-home 
providers with three or more deficiencies, totaling 23 providers.  

o Audit team staff anonymously requested from LDE a deficiency report for 
a provider whose report was not on the LDE website and only available 
upon request for $0.25 per page.  

 Discussed the results of our analyses with LDE management and provided LDE 
with the results of our data analyses.  
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